We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Road Lodge East London

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Road Lodge East London
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

34 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 34: English reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2016

Out of town so you need a car to get around.Breakfast was good.the staff were very friendly and helpful .If you need to heat up food the staff allow you to use microwave in kitchen as they only serve breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandra p
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge East London, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us, and we are so glad that you had a great stay! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
Reviewed 20 October 2016

The hotel room is average fro two people and the staff very friendly, although do not give your clothing for laundry it is very expensive cause it is not done by the hotel. The hotel area is nice and quiet but a bit far away for walking to different places and the taxis are very expensive to hire every time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 960credit
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge East London, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us, and we are so glad that you had a great stay! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Ballito, South Africa
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Rooms are dated and not exceptionally clean. Everything gives you the idea that road lodge has gone into the motel type industry here. Although the staff were friendly and helpful I cannot say much more for this one. Breakfast has very limited choice with cereal, juice etc. If you like eggs - scrambled egg is what you get, no other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rijan K
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge East London, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for leaving us your review and for staying with us. We are so glad that you found our staff members friendly. Road Lodge is our budget brand which we do believe offers good value for money - we will certainly take your comments into consideration for future planning purposes.

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 16 May 2016 via mobile

I had a two night stay at East London road lodge. It is a very average place and only had a smoking room available. The room was very smelly even though im a smoker myself i would not recommend a smoking room. Service were average and the tv in the room are very small. The wifi is great and very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pette007
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge East London, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We constantly strive for service excellence and we apologise for falling short of your and our own expectations on this particular stay. We would like to sincerely apologise for the lack of care in allocating your room and do hope you will give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves. We are concerned and disappointed...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 13 May 2016

Clean neat, well setup and managed, excellent buffet breakfast... More business or short small family stay over - if you're in a hurry and you need a place i recommend it Typical compartmentalized setup, modern amenities and reasonably centralized

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Quinnten C
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge East London, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us Quinnten and we are so glad that you had a great stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Saint Francis Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 29 March 2016

The East London Road Lodge was a good choice when we were attending a schools sports weekend at Selbourne High School, less than a kilometer away. For less than R600 per room for 3, value was the main decision. Room is small but very clean and bathroom in good working order. Did not have breakfast, but enjoyed a complementary cuppachino...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bruce9992014
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge East London, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad that you had a great time with us! We are glad that you enjoyed our hotel's convenient location. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

cape town
Reviewed 5 February 2016

Easy to get to from airport. Room was clean and neat. Perfect for a short stay. Parking secure. The service and helfulness from SADISIWE from booking enquiry to checking out was fantastic. She is a real gem.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hermann21
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge East London, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and we are so happy to hear that you found our staff so efficient and friendly; and enjoyed the hotel facilities - one of our key components that we pride ourselves in! We look forward to having you stay with us again soon

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 21 January 2016 via mobile

I always stay here when in East London. Staff are always friendly and willing to go the extra mile. Rooms size is a bit small but perfect for a single person. Hotel is always clean and great value for money

 Report
Helpful?
Thank B K
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge East London, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad that you had a great stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 14 January 2016

The place is cheap. That is its saving grace. The rooms are small but serviceable, the TV is about the size of a laptop screen (really !). The shower cubicle is also too tiny, and the shower head is fixed, so you keep bumping the tap while showering. Anyway, it's fairly clean (though showing signs of wear, tiles on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pramodius
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge East London, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad that you had a great stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Salmiyah, Kuwait
Reviewed 11 January 2016

It is a well secured property with a huge gated car park. Staff is prompt and friendly. The rooms are very small but that is expected from a 1-star property but they are air-conditioned, which is a must if you spend the summer around Christmas/New Year here. It is close to Vincent (2 mins drive), where one can shop/eat/bank/refuel etc....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sachin26582
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge East London, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad that you had a great stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

6 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these East London hotels
2.4 mi away
Premier Hotel EL ICC
Premier Hotel EL ICC
#2 of 13 in East London
425 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Hotel King David
Premier Hotel King David
#11 of 13 in East London
137 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Hotel Regent
Premier Hotel Regent
#6 of 13 in East London
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Cozy Nest Guest House
Cozy Nest Guest House
#9 of 13 in East London
5 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quarry Lake Inn
Quarry Lake Inn
#1 of 13 in East London
173 reviews
3.4 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Conveniently located between Cheltenham Road and Union Avenue, Road Lodge East London offers business and leisure travellers 90 value for money rooms close to all of East London’s major facilities. It provides a variety of features synonymous with Road Lodges around the country and is an ideal accommodation option for visitors to the city and those venturing elsewhere into the Eastern Cape. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Road Lodge East London

Address: Cheltenham Road | Selbourne, East London 5201, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > East London
Price Range: £31 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Road Lodge East London 1*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Road Lodge East London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in East London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Road Lodge East London staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Road Lodge East London staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Actually all rooms are ok cause there is no see view at all”
 of 5 bubbles 960credit, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“ask for a room away from the road, but traffic noise was not an issue”
 of 5 bubbles bruce9992014, 29 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor is better as there is no lift.”
 of 5 bubbles Pramodius, 13 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Ask for an air-conditioned room just to be sure especially during summer as such small rooms can be claustro!”
 of 5 bubbles Sachin26582, 11 Jan 2016 | Read review
“rooms on the east (entrance side) have less afternoon sun and are cooler.”
 of 5 bubbles Garwil, 29 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay