We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
09/07/2017 10/07/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Amakhala Game Reserve

    R342 Karel Landman, Port Elizabeth, South Africa
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    09/07/2017 10/07/2017
    1 room
    • 1 room
      2 adults
      • 2 adults
        0 children
        • 0 children
          Traveller (104)
          Room & Suite (6)
          Pool & Beach (1)
          Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
          1,062 reviews
          #1 of 4 Speciality lodging in Shamwari Game Reserve
           
          Amakhala Safari Lodge
          234 reviews
          #6 of 7 Speciality lodging in Amakhala Game Reserve
           
          Hlosi Game Lodge
          311 reviews
          #4 of 7 Speciality lodging in Amakhala Game Reserve
           
          HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve
          357 reviews
          #1 of 7 Speciality lodging in Amakhala Game Reserve
           
          Overview
          • Excellent78%
          • Very good15%
          • Average1%
          • Poor2%
          • Terrible4%
          Travellers talk about
          Internet
          Free Parking
          Breakfast included
          Pool
          Non-Smoking Rooms
          Restaurant
          Bar/Lounge
          4.0 Star Hotel
          All hotel details
          Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
          1,062 reviews
          #1 of 4 Speciality lodging in Shamwari Game Reserve
           
          Amakhala Safari Lodge
          234 reviews
          #6 of 7 Speciality lodging in Amakhala Game Reserve
           
          Hlosi Game Lodge
          311 reviews
          #4 of 7 Speciality lodging in Amakhala Game Reserve
           
          HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve
          357 reviews
          #1 of 7 Speciality lodging in Amakhala Game Reserve
           
          {"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
          Write a Review
          Reviews (90)
          Traveller rating
          Traveller type
          Time of year
          Language

          1 - 5 of 69 reviews

          Reviewed 1 week ago

          an amazing experience!!!! Great old world charm and hospitality.We stayed in the main house in leeuwenbosch. Family owned reserve.Big thank you to Nomonde who manages the guests.Super food and real attention to guest needs.One can opt for a fully inclusive package or just the basic...More

          Thank kevin s
          Reviewed 3 weeks ago

          When we arrived at Amakhala, I stayed in a big hut with my family. The service was great, they were always asking if we wanted any drinks or if we needed anything. The hut (house) was very spacious and comfortable. All-round a great place to...More

          Thank oscarklynagh
          Response from 100roaringlions, Public Relations Manager at Amakhala Game ReserveResponded 3 weeks ago

          Hi there, thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay here and we will pass on your kind words to the team. We hope to see you again soon! Until then, take care....More

          Reviewed 19 May 2017 via mobile

          We booked it based on Trip Advisor reviews. When none of the travel guides heard of this place, we were a bit apprehensive. What an awesome place this turned out to be! Extremely quiet zone. Even though thinly-staffed with reference to the size of the...More

          Thank 743sunitaj
          Response from 100roaringlions, Guest Relations Manager at Amakhala Game ReserveResponded 4 weeks ago

          Hi there, thank you for taking the time to write us this lovely review! We really appreciate all the feedback we receive and only helps us ensure that the Amakhala Game Reserve is always up to scratch. We are very happy to hear you found...More

          Reviewed 19 April 2017

          Great accommodation,big room,big bed,good showers and jacuzzi! Food was good but limited ,we were all inclusive but I was very disappointed with the limited wine and beer . A couple of cans of beer and one bottle of wine in your fridge. We spent 3...More

          1  Thank Dermot J
          Response from 100roaringlions, Public Relations Manager at Amakhala Game ReserveResponded 4 May 2017

          Thanks for taking the time to give us balanced feedback. We appreciate your compliments about the reserve and your safari experience, and have passed this on to your guide and the rest of the team. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at...More

          Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

          Four of us stayed here for 3 nights . The food , staff and accommodation were all excellent. The drives into the park , the river trip, the elephant park & the sundowners were enjoyed by all. The ranger who accompanied throughout the trip- Martin...More

          Thank Karen H
          Response from 100roaringlions, Public Relations Manager at Amakhala Game ReserveResponded 4 May 2017

          Hi Karen, thank you so much for your kind review! It sounds like you had a great safari experience! We'll pass on your compliments to Martin and the rest of the team. We're glad to hear that you were able to really take in all...More

          Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
          1,062 reviews
          #1 of 4 Speciality lodging in Shamwari Game Reserve
           
          Amakhala Safari Lodge
          234 reviews
          #6 of 7 Speciality lodging in Amakhala Game Reserve
           
          Hlosi Game Lodge
          311 reviews
          #4 of 7 Speciality lodging in Amakhala Game Reserve
           
          HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve
          357 reviews
          #1 of 7 Speciality lodging in Amakhala Game Reserve
           
          About
          Amenities
          • Top amenities
          • Pool
          • Free Parking
          • Restaurant
          • Bar/Lounge
          • Breakfast included
          • Hotel Amenities
          • Free Parking
          • Breakfast included
          • Things to do
          • Pool
          • Restaurant
          • Bar/Lounge
          Details
          • Price range
          • US$425 - US$767 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
          • Hotel class
          • Room types
          • Non-Smoking Rooms
          • Number of rooms
          • 20
          • Location
          • South Africa >
          • Eastern Cape >
          • Port Elizabeth
          • Also Known As
          • Amakhala Game Reserve Hotel Port Elizabeth
          Add Photo Photos
          Traveller (104)
          Room & Suite (6)
          Pool & Beach (1)
          Hotel & Grounds (100)
          Nearby
          Nearby Restaurants
          Nanaga Farmstall & Restaurant
          126 reviews
          13.48 miles away
          Nanaga Farmstall
          5 reviews
          16.04 miles away
          Tam'JaZi Farm Stall
          24 reviews
          16.36 miles away
          Grunters Pub and Grub
          126 reviews
          21.89 miles away
          Nearby Attractions
          Quin Sculpture Garden
          5 reviews
          16.33 miles away
          Tootabi Hunting Safaris
          35 reviews
          18.14 miles away
          Sunday's River Adventures
          35 reviews
          20.39 miles away
          Addo Elephant National Park
          2,112 reviews
          23.60 miles away
          Questions & AnswersAsk a question
          jeanjeanie1967
          Hi we are staying at woodall country house in April and are considering visiting Amakhala game reserve. I was wondering whether you do a chauffer or shutter service, if so what the cost of this would be. best wishes Jean Read
          22 December 2014|
          Answer
          Response from Amakhala-Team | Property representative |
          Good day Jean, Thank you so much for your question. Yes transfers are available. Our lovely reservations team will be able to provide you with more information regarding transfers, please feel free to contact them on +27... More
          0
          Votes
          Room Tips
          "Ask which wines are free and which you have to pay for ."
          Read review
          "All the rooms are great and face the waterhole. Watch out for monkeys, giraffes and warthogs!"
          Read review
          "This is a very comfortable lodge with good (maybe not top end but...) food and service. Remember you're..."
          Read review
          "The lodge to the left of Fish Eagle lodge has the best views."
          Read review
          Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
          Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing