We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Forest Hall Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Forest Hall Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

391 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Forest Hall Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 361: English reviews
Franschhoek, South Africa
Reviewed 4 December 2016

I stayed in one of the luxury king rooms which was more spacious than I thought it would be with a comfy lounge and a kitchen. The guesthouse has beautiful gardens and lovely birds singing throughout the day. The breakfast was great and overall I think Forest Hall is great value. James was very organized and a perfect host.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank GordonFrz
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Gordon Thanks for taking the time to review us .So pleased you enjoyed your time at Forest Hall and were happy with what is on offer. Trust you enjoyed the year end ceremony and hope to see you someday in Franschhoek regards James

Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 20 November 2016

great place to stay. welcoming hospitality. Beatiful rooms. central place . Clean rooms. Safe, secure. Big rooms, wonderful relaxing property. Family feel. value for money is great. It is centrally sityated

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohannHartenb
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Heleen Thanks so much for taking the time out to review Forest Hall I am so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you back again regards James & Forest Hall team

Port Alfred, South Africa
Reviewed 19 November 2016 via mobile

We won a voucher to Forrest Hall from a golf day, but would love to come back again. Their hospitality is of the warmest kind and after driving through the gate, you feel as if you've walked into a different time zone in the old English countryside. The breakfast was fantastic and attention to detail is excellent. Did I mention...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MegWPortAlfred
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Meg So pleased you enjoyed your night at Forest Hall It is great to get such wonderful feedback from someone in the industry We hope to be able to welcome you sometime in the future regards James & Forest Hall team

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 17 November 2016

If you are looking for a better home away from home, then Forest Hall is the right place for you. The breakfasts are delicious, the rooms are fantastic, everything you need is in the room. Safe, secure, off street parking ideal!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly R
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Kelly Thanks so much for your review on your return visit back in your requested room .Please everything was up to scratch and you were comfortable and felt safe and secure here regards James

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 November 2016

This is a top class B and B in a quiet and attractive leafy suburb, which has everything you could possibly want when travelling" lovely setting, quiet rooms, great pool, and helpful restaurant recommendations close by. Worth all the awards it has won.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank msykes_361487
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your positive review . So pleased you enjoyed your time at Forest Hall regards James & team at Forest Hall

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 16 November 2016

If you are looking for an affordable, more than comfortable "home away from home", Forest Hall is the place. As a frequent business traveller this guest house is ideal for working after hours. WiFi on tap and all the plugs you need in order to charge your technology. Central, elegant convenience. Breakfasts are delicious, the rooms are quiet and have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Russellk01
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Thanks so much for your review Pleased you enjoyed your time at Forest Hall regards James & Forest Hall team

Reviewed 15 November 2016

This B&B is conveniently situated close to the airport. Very nice guesthouse with friendly owners and a beautiful garden which we unfortunately didn't have time to sit and relax in...nice breakfast as well

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Niklas H
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Niklas Pleased you enjoyed your time here at Forest Hall even though it was so short regards James

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 November 2016

Have stayed at Forest Hall in the past, this just a overnight stay before flight from PE airport which is close by, so Forest Hall very convenient for that. Always get a warm welcome form James and Hilary. Rooms very individual, comfortable and with good shower rooms. Always supply of water and tea and coffee available. Very comfortable beds, so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andrewnY250VH
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Andrew Thank you for your wonderfully detailed review . It is always great to see familiar faces back at Forest Hall on return trips .Pleased you were happy with your most recent stay and hope you had a safe trip back home and the weather is not too much of a shock regards James

Reviewed 9 November 2016

My room at Forest Hall was worthy of a feature in Architectural Digest. How desperately painful to only stay one night! Because it is on the national historic register, the architecture is fully compliant but the owners complete willingness to serve their guests made it truly outstanding. My great thanks for a wonderful stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank grumblegoat
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks so much for doing a review of Forest Hall and your wonderful words about us. So pleased you enjoyed your time here even though it was so short .We hope that you will return someday soon regards James

Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile

We were delighted to find such a comfortable place for our 2 nights in PE. James is a wonderful host, attentive and welcoming but not gushing. Breakfast was delicious with something for every taste. Our room was comfortable and well equipped. Thanks

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deborah H
foresthall, Owner at Forest Hall Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Deborah Thanks so much for reviewing Forest Hall . Pleased you enjoyed your time here regards James

162 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (69)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (93)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (30)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
5.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
4.6 mi away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
457 reviews
5.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Admiralty Beach House
Admiralty Beach House
#1 of 43 in Summerstrand
252 reviews
1.7 mi away
Treetops Guesthouse
Treetops Guesthouse
#3 of 225 in Port Elizabeth
518 reviews
4.8 mi away
No 5 Boutique Art Hotel
No 5 Boutique Art Hotel
#1 of 13 in Summerstrand
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Forest Hall Guest House staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Hayle, England, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Forest Hall Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We asked for a luxury room and it was very quiet and comfortable”
CarolynDalkeith, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are delightful”
ReduTom, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for updated room, ours wasn't but apparently others were but we didn't know that”
travelgalsmvfl, 24 Dec 2016 | Read review
“There are three rooms with kitchenettes”
davidrE9658SK, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
“again it is good to phone and be clear on your needs. It helped to make contact before booking.”
Timsnon, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5