We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Misty Mountain Reserve

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Misty Mountain Reserve
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

207 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 169: English reviews
Dorking, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We weren't sure where the track was leading us - but it was worth the journey. Beautiful site, very friendly staff and delicious food too. We stayed in one of the villas and took part in one of the quad bike trips which was great fun.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

The flies kept us awake, I think the place needs to upgrade to automatic insecticide sprays in every room. Other than that the place was clean and good, staff was helpful and accommodating. Thank you for the wonderful stay we had.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank cebekuluf
TheMistyMountainTeam, Public Relations Manager at Misty Mountain Reserve, responded to this review

Dear cebekuluf We are so pleased you had a "wonderful" stay and appreciate you taking the time to review our establishment. The farm cottages border the neighbouring dairy farms, the comment is duly noted, we can assure you that the matter has been taken up with the neighbouring farmers and they have committed to helping us solve the problem this...

Avignon, France
Reviewed 1 week ago

You must définitively avoid the misty mountain reserve : it is both very expansive and so sad...when you are here you cannot escape because of a long and terrible way...the "spa" is really a bath with yellow water impossible to stay with pleasure...the tea is served in a small cup and it is very difficult to obtain some warm water...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JeanPierreAvignon
TheMistyMountainTeam, Owner at Misty Mountain Reserve, responded to this review

Dear JeanPierreAvignon Thank you for your candid review on Trip Advisor, we are extremely alarmed and take your comments very seriously. We are situated 6.8km off the main road, the road is maintained by our local municipality and is temporarily graded, of this 4.8km is gravel road, a normal sedan vehicle can drive on this road with ease. We were...

Uitenhage, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

My family and I had the a wonderful time at the lodge. We just feel sorry we had to stay for one night. The staff were friendly, our room was very inviting. Yhooooo the bed, very comfortable. The sea view was breathe taking. We just had the best stay, weds can't explain our stay, one has to experience it.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lindamE2767DH
TheMistyMountainTeam, Public Relations Manager at Misty Mountain Reserve, responded to this review

Dear lindamE2767DH "Words can't explain our stay, one has to experience it". It is a pity you could not visit longer, we are so pleased you had a great family holiday at Misty and that you truly relaxed and enjoyed the comfortable beds. We look forward to you visiting soon. Warm regards Management & Staff

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What a little gem! Gorgeous views, great service and we loved being woken up by the monkeys! But the rooms are a bit tired and could be renovated especially the bathrooms. The food was delicious! All in all a great stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stefania G
TheMistyMountainTeam, Public Relations Manager at Misty Mountain Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Stefania G We are so pleased you enjoyed the "georgeous views, great service, delicious food" especially the monkeys :). They are a little mischievous but thoroughly entertaining. Thank you for your comments, we will be upgrading after the busy season, we look forward to you visiting again in the near future. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We absolutely loved this place. The location is amazing with great sea views and the wooden cabins are really awesome and very comfortable. I would highly recommend this spot for anyone traveling the garden route.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank H7160EZkimh
TheMistyMountainTeam, Public Relations Manager at Misty Mountain Reserve, responded to this review

Dear H7160EZkimh "We absolutely loved this place". Thank you for the lovely review, we are so delighted you enjoyed your visit and for highly recommending our reserve to anyone travelling down the Garden Route. We are so pleased you loved Misty. Have a wonderful holiday. Warm regards Management & Staff

East London, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in one of the charming self-catering farm cottages and had a lovely few days. The cottage is perfect for a family of 4 and beautifully decorated. The service from the reception desk is exceptional and the welcoming vase of wild flowers in the cottage was such a nice touch

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank anelodendaal
TheMistyMountainTeam, Public Relations Manager at Misty Mountain Reserve, responded to this review

Dear anelodendaal "The cottage is perfect for a family of 4 and beautifully decorated". We are so pleased you enjoyed the authentic farm cottage experience. Our friendly staff pride themselves on excellent customer service and look forward to welcoming all our guests, we will certainly convey the compliment. The fynbos is spectacular, we are pleased you enjoyed the flowers in...

johannesburg
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very friendly service. Location away from beach but spectacular views. Lovely pool and bar. Did not have meals there. Stayed at the rustic self catering cottages - seems newly renovated and fitted with all you need. There is a lovely walk to a lookout point. The nearest beach is Storms River Mouth which is beautiful, 20 minute drive. We liked...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mpumalindy
TheMistyMountainTeam, Public Relations Manager at Misty Mountain Reserve, responded to this review

Dear mpumalindy "We liked the fact that there was loads for kids to do - play area, peacocks, quad bikes, large lawn for ball games." Misty is the perfect 2 day stay over, just enough time to rejuvenate and enjoy the natural surrounds yet also a variety of on site activities to keep the family entertained and so much to...

Paarl, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in the sunbird chalet , which I booked at the last minute on a cancellation list on booking.com. Chalet needs a complete revamp and maintenance and repair checklist done. Not in as good condition as the others. Activities poor in choice and condition. We did self catering so did not experience the Resturant. I understand that it's the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kathrynmann
TheMistyMountainTeam, Public Relations Manager at Misty Mountain Reserve, responded to this review

Dear kathrynmann Thank you very much for your candid review on your visit to our establishment. Your feedback is extremely valuable, I appreciate your comments about aspects of the lodge that need upgrading, your comments have been noted and the maintenance team is urgently addressing. The self catering lodge is rented out as a self catering unit that accommodates 4...

Hermanus
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great base for Storms River and Tsitsikamma activities. Beautiful setting and friendly service. Would recommend the self-service braai basket but breakfasts were disappointing- not good value for money.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 416debbief
TheMistyMountainTeam, Public Relations Manager at Misty Mountain Reserve, responded to this review

Dear 416debbief "Great base for Storms River and Tsitsikamma activities". Thank you for you review, we are so pleased you enjoyed the beautiful surroundings and friendly service. The braai baskets are very popular for non self catering and self catering lodges. We have noted your comments about the breakfast menu and will certainly be reviewing the selection. We trust you...

206 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (104)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (102)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (32)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tsitsikamma National Park hotels
5.2 mi away
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
#1 of 4 in Storms River
765 reviews
5.0 mi away
Tsitsikamma Lodge
Tsitsikamma Lodge
#2 of 4 in Storms River
582 reviews
5.1 mi away
Armagh Country Lodge
Armagh Country Lodge
#3 of 4 in Storms River
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
At The Woods Guest House
At The Woods Guest House
#1 of 5 in Storms River
355 reviews
5.0 mi away
Storms River Guest Lodge
Storms River Guest Lodge
#2 of 5 in Storms River
217 reviews
5.2 mi away
Andelomi Forest Lodge
Andelomi Forest Lodge
#11 of 13 in Storms River
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Adventure for those who venture out ... Whether you’re seeking a family holiday, romantic breakaway or adventure weekend or simply needing to retreat in nature, Misty Mountain Reserve offers the perfect getaway, surrounded by nature offering 360 degree views of the ocean, indigenous forest and Tsitsikamma Mountains. A variety of accommodation from Ocean View Lodges, Lake Side Tents and self-catering Rustic Farm Cottages, each offering a unique experience. On site activities include scenic indigenous forest walks, guided David Lane Trail, fresh water fishing, a 9 hole mashie chip and wedge golf course and 4 mountain biking routes varying in difficulty from 8.7km – 65km. The reserve is also surrounded by many wild animal sanctuaries and adventurous activities including canopy tours, bungy jumping, Segway, ziplining, Monkeyland, Birds of Eden, Elephant Sanctuary, Jukani Wildlife Sanctuary, Tenikwa Wild Cat Sanctuary, Lawnwood Snakepark and much more. We pride ourselves on good value, luxury accommodation; delicious meals, friendly staff and great customer service, guests departing inspired and rested with wonderful experiences in nature. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Misty Mountain Reserve

Address: | Farm 438 Bluelillies Bush, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Tsitsikamma National Park
Price Range: £76 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Misty Mountain Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Misty Mountain Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misty Mountain Reserve South Africa/Tsitsikamma National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Misty Mountain Reserve staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Johannesburg, South Africa
Johannesburg, South Africa

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Misty Mountain Reserve staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It doesn't matter because all are beautiful and warm”
 of 5 bubbles GeraldineNtai, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“tent 4 is set apart ( book as excecutive sea view)”
 of 5 bubbles philippeD350, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The honeymoon suite was at the end of the chalet row which ensured privacy from those walking to and from the restaurant on the board walk.”
 of 5 bubbles Mourneadventurer, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ocean view lodges were my first choice!”
 of 5 bubbles KriBauer09, 4 May 2016 | Read review
“Three types of accommodation: we loved the shabby chic cottages”
 of 5 bubbles mandl14, 12 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay