We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Jax Place Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Jax Place Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

18 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 18: English reviews
Pongola, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2015

Service was excellent and the food as well. it was closer to my venue. the staff of Jax Place was so friendly to me. i really appreciate my stay in that place. i would recommend my friends and families to visit that place

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bright N
Jacqui J, Owner at Jax Place Guest House, responded to this review

It is truly humbling and satisfying to have such a lovely review, Thank you so much for taking the time to recognise and appreciate our service. We value you as a guest and look forward to your safe return to us! Warmest regards, Jax Place Crew ~ More 

Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2015

some thought should be given to guest that do not eat beef and or pork.may be chicken or fish for those that do not eat beef and or pork. i live in places in Pretoria and Nelspruit and they do cater for people like me.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pranesh G
Jacqui J, Owner at Jax Place Guest House, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback regarding your breakfast options and value you as a regular client of ours. Thank you for your support and our excellent rating, we are truly blessed to have guests that value our service and have taken the time to review us. We therefore will indeed add chicken of fish to our current ever changing breakfast menu.... More 

1 review
Reviewed 26 January 2015 via mobile

I stayed at Jax Place for three weeks in one of their self catering studio apartments. Everything I needed was there. The rooms were well equipped and well maintained . The daily cleaning in the rooms ensued that at the end of every day when I back the rooms was immaculate. The free WiFi was very cool perk. Friendly and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Glenn J
Jacqui J, Owner at Jax Place Guest House, responded to this review

We truly appreciate your feedback and thank you for your support for Jax Place. It was lovely hosting you over your two month stay with us and wish you a successful journey ahead! May your travels bring you safely back to us! Warmest regards, Jax Place Guest House More 

Windhoek, Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed 3 nights at jax place. The room I was offered had a seaside theme to it and it was very beautiful. The shower was very spacious and they had a jolly big bathtub that I never got to test. Breakfast was simple and fast.the the ladies could prepare it just the way I wanted.in the evening I walked... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eldon K
Jacqui J, Owner at Jax Place Guest House, responded to this review

We truly appreciate your review with us and trust you had a safe journey home. The Phuket Suite is a firm favorite amoungst our clients and guests as you are transported to the Island of Phuket in our idealistic island retreat. On your return we invite you to enjoy Shanghai or The Zen Suite to further your enjoyment of staying... More 

Cape Town
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Majority of the previous reviews on this accommodation is absolute spot on. We stay at Jax around 5 times a year for our conferences and cannot praise it any higher. Jax PLace is a fantastic place to relax and unwind. As a coastal boy, after a long days boardroom conference in Gauteng, staying at Jax is a perfect unwind session.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dutchman11CapeTown
Jacqui J, Owner at Jax Place Guest House, responded to this review

Morning Cape Town! What a beautiful review thank you for making our hearts and souls smile this morning!! It's reviews like this that make what we do so all worth it. Thank you for the kind words and on-going support for our place as we enter into our 9th successful year, we are the success that we are due to... More 

Mannheim, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I stayed at Jax Place for 6 weeks and I really enjoyed it a lot. The staff is more than friendly, always in a good mood and always very helpful. They were always interested in how I am and really made me feel home. I enjoyed and appreciated that a lot! I stayed in 2 different rooms, both were very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Annabelle1605
Jacqui J, Owner at Jax Place Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Annabelle, We so appreciate your comments and praise, thank you for taking the time to write to us. From all of us here at Jax Place it was wonderful having you here and we can't wait for you to return to Jo'burg! Save travels and enjoy South Africa where ever she may take you - enjoy the journey! Warmest... More 

Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Unfortunately I must have stayed in the bad room.... There were a couple of things worth noting from my recent experience: 1 It seemed to me the shower had never been cleaned as I was sliding in a layer of oil on the floor. Dirty shower walls are one thing but a floor coated in dirt and oil is not... More 

Helpful?
Thank tarren s
Jacqui J, Owner at Jax Place Guest House, responded to this review

Good morning, After a heavy heart on remembering that when you left as I personally checked you out I recall you saying to me that you had a lovely stay, thank you so much you really enjoyed yourself - to read this later really hurts as I truly appreciate constructive criticism that I can work with and I would have... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I had the pleasure of a lunch conference last week, the environment and serenity of the guest house was superb. The staff where so helpful and it felt as though we were miles outside of Johannesburg. Just Awesome!

Helpful?
Thank TraceyBosch
Jacqui J, Owner at Jax Place Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback and support for Jax Place Guest House. he Deck offers an ambience that is like no other and creates privacy yet our guests feel so at home in comfortable outside surroundings. We appreciate that you enjoyed your conference here with us and we truly look forward to your return in the near future. Wishing... More 

Mbabane, Swaziland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

i really enjoyed my stay at Jax place. the staff was professional and friendly. I arrived late at night, the manager waited for me and kept checking if I'm still safe on the road. When I got to my room, it was nice and warm - just what I needed after a long drive on a cold South African evening.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kidwell99
Jacqui J, Owner at Jax Place Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent feedback as we strive to deliver a five star service at a four star rate for all our guests. We appreciate your lovely comments and I shall certainly pass your kind words on to the crew. We are so glad that you've arrived home safely and truly look forward to your next visit here with... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at Jax Place. I found the team to be very friendly, kind and accommodating - always a bonus when you're away from home on business. I would definitely recommend it to friends and family.

Helpful?
2 Thank 248Jay248
Jacqui J, Owner at Jax Place Guest House, responded to this review

We really appreciate your support and wonderful words ~ it's makes our hearts smile to hear time and time again that we are the preferred "Home Away from Home". We truly look forward to seeing you again soon! Warmest regards, Jaxx More 

25 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edenvale hotels
1.2 mi away
President Lodge
President Lodge
#1 of 32 in Edenvale
257 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ruth Avenue Guest House
Ruth Avenue Guest House
#10 of 32 in Edenvale
20 reviews
2.8 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
No photo provided
Louhallas Bed & Breakfast
#26 of 32 in Edenvale
10 reviews
1.5 mi away
BM Gardens Apartment Hotel
1.6 mi away
No photo provided
La Coscello Bed & Breakfast
#23 of 32 in Edenvale
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We welcome you to MGS & Jax Place Guest House with Corporate Rentals. MGS Marketing cc is a family owned business dedicated to personal and quality rentals in the Edenvale & Bedfordview area and have successfully been renting our properties for the past 14 years. Cottages & Apartment Rentals with Jax Place Guest House with Corporate Rentals is ideal for clients busy with house renovations, immigrating, relocating, short term projects or simply starting over we offer short and long term accommodation options. Jax Place is based in the quiet avenues of Edenvale awaiting your arrival. We are conveniently situated an easy 7 minute drive to OR Tambo Johannesburg International with several major traffic interchanges including Galoolies on our door step, providing quick and easy access in almost every direction in Johannesburg. Greenstone shopping centre, Modderfontein, Isando, Linbro Business Park are just a few areas we are centrally located too. Jax Place offers secure on-site parking with a private entrance to each unit. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Jax Place Guest House

Address: 55 Second Avenue | Edenvale, Edenvale 1609, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Edenvale
Price Range: £48 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jax Place Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Jax Place Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Jax Place Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do NOT ask for room 5.”
 of 5 bubbles tarrens, 8 Sep 2013 | Read review
“Go and visually check what you've been offered, and if you can't, then book somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles JoelH562, 26 Apr 2012 | Read review
“All rooms as great and each room has a different theme to it.”
 of 5 bubbles KirstenH_11, 17 Aug 2011 | Read review
3 of 3
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay