We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

268 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 229: English reviews
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Recently spent 1 night at the City Lodge, Barbara street. Nothing short of disappointing. Dinner option was poor inside the hotel and when I eventually found something I watched it stand for up to 10 minutes before it was brought to me. Glad I won't have to stay there again .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vvvandre
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

If you are planning to stay by the airport that's a great option. Room is large with everything you need in terms of comfort: nice bed, blankets, cosmetics at bath. It's silent and had a safe way to the airport where you can access atms and restaurant. Also the access to the Gautrain is very important. 15 min away from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruno A
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for the great review, Bruno. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Always a pleasure to be there, rooms are neat, clean & breakfasts are superb. The extra "take-a-way" section is a bonus, especially because you don't pay for it on those early mornings when there is no time to grab breakfast. Only not happy that they have changed their coffee shop menu & have no vegetarian options!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Varsha S
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us, and we are so glad that you had a great stay! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Imagine checking into a hotel only to discover, two hours later,that no water is available. Nothing to drink. No shower. No flushing the WC!. No water has been available the whole day. No mention of this at check-in, only a friendly smile & "Enjoy your stay!" Dismal service, City Lodge Hotel Group! PS: Please remember to flush the WC in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank izbos
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the water situation which was unfortunately beyond our control due to no water coming from the municipal supply system. We will look into how this outage was communicated to guests – please accept our apologies again.

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

Absolutely great service and staff are efficient and helpful. Breakfast buffet was excellent with a wide variety. Rooms were well kept with all you will require for your stay. Will all ways stay here on my business trips

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Senchel
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for the positive review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

This hotel attached to the airport in Johannesburg is perfect for a overnight start whether domestic or international. It has a ok fitness centre, nice pool and fantastic buffet breakfast with super friendly and helpful staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joel K
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for the wonderful review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016

We stayed here for 1 night before our international flight. Great location for airport.. completely secure property.. wonderful staff allowed us a late check out and were very helpful overall. Room was good, clean and comfortable. pool area outside was also nice to sit out. highly recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nikki25104
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for the wonderful review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

I always stay at this hotel when in Johannesburg. It is well located, close to OR Tambo airport, Edenvale and Greenstone & Eastgate shopping centres. The staff are friendly, helpful & professional. Safe parking. The dining area, pool and gardens area are really pleasant. Excellent value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gordon J
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for the positive review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Southampton
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

We stopped here for one night during our holiday while transferring between our safari and flying out to Mozambique. Wasn't too sure from the reviews but ideal for a stopover. They offer a shuttle bus from the airport but as it only goes once an hour on the hour we decided to get an airport taxi which was 150 ZAR...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank georgiegirl7
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for the great review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Richards Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Hotel is good for a quick night or two night stay over. Great for doing business in the area. Breakfast was all good. Above standard on the selections. Gym facility was small but still good for a workout away from home.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank janbK8966NY
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for the wonderful review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edenvale
2.2 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
2.6 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 25 in Kempton Park
1,624 reviews
1.5 mi away
Road Lodge Johannesburg International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
2.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
1.8 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in close proximity to the R24 airport freeway, the hotel is easily accessible to all the main feeder motorways with nearby restaurants and shops. A shuttle bus service is available for the short 10 minute trip to and from the airport at a nominal fee. A fitness room, pool and meeting room are also available at the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road

Address: 4 Sandvale Road | P O Box 8404, Edenvale 1609, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Edenvale
Price Range: £49 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Airport Johannesburg Hotel Edenvale
City Hotel Edenvale
City Hotel Airport Johannesburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Home Hill

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book a room at the back of the hotel and not facing the busy highway”
 of 5 bubbles janbK8966NY, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book the airport hotel and get a room there.”
 of 5 bubbles 609davec, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Not far from the airport, the rooms are quiet. They have a swim pool.”
 of 5 bubbles 284babalwam, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“room close to reception”
 of 5 bubbles GlennPatel, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Upper floor level rooms seem to have better wifi strength (for internet) than the lower rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles themarvel2004, 21 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay