We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Birches Backpacker Lodge

Traveller (8)
Room & Suite (10)
Pool & Beach (1)
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Nestled in the largest man-made forest, the Birches offers backpackers a tranquil place to unwind, or an entertainment area next to the pool to catch up socializing. The pool is sparkling blue with a cocktail step and waterfall. Very high speed WIFI available free right through the property with a computer station available.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Airport Transportation
Laundry Service
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Family
Reviews & more
39Reviews
24Photos
5Q+A
2Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 33
  • 4
  • 1
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
The Birches backpackers has a very homely feel to it, the bathroom, the kitchen the eating area. Ian, the owner is very approachable and will help you where he can. There's also a swimming pool, pool table and dart. It sits on a safe bus route and for 20rand you can go in 45min
Read more
Response from BirchesBackpackers, Owner at The Birches Backpacker Lodge
Responded 29 Aug 2018
Thank you so much Sylvia! I really enjoyed your engaging conversations and real interest in South Africa!
Read more
They must be doing great business as they wouldn’t let me book in at the gate even though they had space. I was told they only accept online bookings, after waiting at the gate for 5 minutes. With no data left I had to leave for another place.
Read more
Response from BirchesBackpackers, Owner at The Birches Backpacker Lodge
Responded 16 Aug 2018
Dear Kalmaro, I am sorry about your negative experience. The Birches unfortunately does have a policy of no walk-ins. This is due to past bad experiences where fugitives, drug dealers, prostitutes and persons refusing to identify themselves or pay have occurred. For the safety of those in the hostel - proper channels need to be followed in securing the booking which includes credit card information entered online and proper identification. Right of admission is reserved. The owner.
Read more
The Birches is a cozy place in the Rosebank neighborhood in Joburg. The hosts are very sweet and made every effort to make my short stay at Joburg the best it could be, giving me several tips before my arrival and being truly concern if things had worked out. Since I had a very
Read more
I stayed in Joburg for a night while passing through to Mozambique, and Birches Backpacker Lodge was the perfect accommodation. The rooms were comfortable and clean, the host was extremely friendly, and the outdoor space was beautiful. Wifi also worked very well. Highly
Read more
Response from BirchesBackpackers, Owner at The Birches Backpacker Lodge
Responded 27 May 2018
Hi Lauren, Thank you for your wonderful review! I am sorry we did not get to see you on your return trip as planned.
Read more
Highly recommend. Met kind travelers who were ending their trip and have us their camping gear. Safe location. Clean room and bathroom with fast wifi. Easy to get around with Uber. Ian is very accommodating and tries his best to make his guests feel welcome and have a great time
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & Beach
Double guestroom
Photo provided by managementThe Birches Backpacker Lodge
Double room
Photo provided by managementThe Birches Backpacker Lodge
Double room
Photo provided by managementThe Birches Backpacker Lodge
Birches Cottage beds
Photo provided by managementThe Birches Backpacker Lodge
4 Bed Mixed Dorm
PreviousNext
12
No problem. The bus is 100m away. It costs R15 to city centre.
1 vote
All of the above - no problem. I will organise what you want.
0 votes
quelle est la distance de Tambo airport? y a-t-il une navette? prix nuitée pour chambre à 2 ?
if I understand. we are 35 minutes away from or tambo airport. the cost for a double room is R500 per night.
0 votes
No problem. I will arrange uber for you. Please contact me on arrival at the airport on whatsapp or Skype
1 vote
"Ask the hosts for tips about Joburg, they know a lot."
"The ones to the sides are quieter than those out the front"
PRICE RANGE
US$24 - US$36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengGreater JohannesburgJohannesburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing