We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Monarch Hotel

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Monarch Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

326 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 296: English reviews
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is by far the most beautiful hotel at which I have ever stayed. I was upgraded and the suite had a huge sitting room, with a dining area, a terrace, an amazing bedroom, and a stunning bathroom with both tub and shower. In truth, a bit over the top...and not the best feeling when thinking of all the people...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TransylvanianGrl
Rockanje, The Netherlands
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice hotel, refurbished old Post Office, well situated near Rosebank shopping mall. Only 12 rooms. Our room was huge, with separate sitting area. Lovely personnel, very friendly. Shouldn't be in a hurry though... Good breakfast, dinner good quality, but limited choice. Good price/performance overall.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard O
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Monarch is nestled in a well-maintained historic building. The room was quite huge and we particularly liked the bathroom. In short, no complaints regarding the infrastructure. However, the staff is rather annoying (coming into our room barely having a reason (what about calling, or simply knocking?)) and they seem to come to work primarily for tips, rather than doing their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NikTa164
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the Monarch. Once again, we apologise for the noise levels on the evening of the party. Because of the terrible storm, the location of the party was moved at the last minute and the noise levels far exceeded what was anticipated. We humbly apologise for the disturbance and do...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is lovely if you want peace and quiet. The rooms are large and beautiful but no minibar. There were only 2 other guests staying when we were there, mid-week in September. We had the restaurant to ourselves - a bit off-putting and there was no bar area for a pre-dinner drink. This is a 'smoking room' with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne G
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the Monarch. I am sorry that you found the restaurant quiet. We do find that our business guests tend to go out to dinner with their clients - and we also have a range of wonderful restaurants within walking distance, which our guests often enjoy. With regards to the...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very peaceful, quiet, elegant and comfortable. Good value for money. The courtyard are is excellent for reading, meetings and listening to the birds. The dining room needs a bit of greenery. Security is excellent and the furnishings/decor are conservative. We really enjoyed it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick G
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the Monarch. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate the feedback on the dining room. We do hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely Jan van As General Manager

Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Impressive older building in perfect upkeep. Friendly intelligent staff and a Manager who is hands on. Our suite had a beautiful firm bed and was made up with crisp top class linen. The bathroom is around the corner and opulent. The shower large enough for two and with plenty of hotwater and a firm jet spray. It was very hot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnboother59
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience of the Monarch. You appreciation of the details makes every effort worthwhile and we are grateful for your kind words. Thank you for the feedback on the butter - this has been noted. We do hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely Jan and team The Monarch

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Set in Rosebank this is the ideal getaway boutique hotel with all the luxury one needs.great rooms,good service and secluded inner courtyard to relax in - highly recommended. Smaller than most with only 12 rooms it means you get personalised service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PeterL42
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the the time to share your experience of the Monarch. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Sincerely Jan van As General Manager

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had a very nice suite of rooms, nicely maintained with very modern/clean facilities. The hotel public rooms were also nicely maintained, as was the hotel generally. The decor of the hotel still evokes memories of, say, the 1940s, giving it a charming atmosphere. The food was excellent and nicely presented and the staff were all very polite and always...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the Monarch. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. It's always nice to hear that our guests appreciate the decor and the charm of our hotel, as well as the attractions in the immediate surrounds. We do hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely Jan van...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is easily accessible by the Gautrain from the airport, situated across the road from Rosebank station and next to the attractive and lively Rosebank shopping mall with its range of excellent restaurants. The hotel itself is one of the most luxurious I have ever stayed in, offering spacious suites with large bedroom and sitting room and a pleasant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KFM114
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Monarch. We are pleased that you were able to enjoy the surrounding attractions. Thank you for your kind comments on both the hotel and the service. We do hope to welcome you back to the Monarch soon! Sincerely Jan van As General Manager

Johannesburg
Reviewed 3 November 2016

After 25 hours of travel the Monarch Hotel was the perfect place to recover. The room was so luxurious and the staff was the best. We had great meals and when we wanted to take the train, we were personally escorted by the security staff to the train. If we ever go back to Johannesburg, we will definitely stay at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 231kristinem
Jan v, General Manager at Monarch Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review of the Monarch. I am delighted that we were able to offer you some much needed comfort after your travels and we do hope to welcome you back again soon. Sincerely Jan van As General Manager

124 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (95)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
1.6 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Johannesburg
631 reviews
0.2 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 70 in Johannesburg
508 reviews
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Peech Hotel
The Peech Hotel
#3 of 70 in Johannesburg
488 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#8 of 70 in Johannesburg
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A sophisticated boutique experience for even the most discerning visitor, Johannesburg's Hotel Monarch combines first-world amenities with old world grandeur, creating a welcoming space for business travellers and tourists alike. From the chandeliered lounges to the manicured garden, the hotel features an eclectic mix of antique furniture and luxurious fabrics, off-set by an extensive collection of modern art pieces by new and emerging South African artists. Originally the 1930 Saxonwold Post Office on Oxford Road, the building is admired for its stunning architecture as well as its rich cultural history. Every exquisite suite is air-conditioned and includes its own private lounge and luxury bathroom. Free Wi-Fi, satellite television and DVD players are standard inclusions, with some suites featuring their own kitchenette. A sumptuous breakfast is served in the highly regarded hotel restaurant, where guests are also spoilt for choice with extensive lunch and dinner menus featuring fresh, seasonal ingredients. Additionally, room service and packed lunches are available. A team of highly capable and knowledgeable staff is available 24 hours to assist with travel, tourism and an undertaking to ensure that every stay surpasses their guests' valued expectations. For the shopping enthusiast, Hotel Monarch is half a mile from Rosebank Mall. Killarney Golf Club is a 4-minute drive away and central Johannesburg is 6 miles from the property. Free, secure parking is available on site. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Monarch Hotel

Address: 167 Oxford Road, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Price Range: £131 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Monarch Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Monarch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Johannesburg
#2 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Monarch Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Monarch Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All good so any ok”
 of 5 bubbles PeterL42, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Second Floor rooms are better”
 of 5 bubbles christiano143, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We ssayed in room 403 which was great”
  • Massive bath, separate shower can't be seen in photo
  • Separate sitting room in suite
 of 5 bubbles Muzz01, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We have stayed in 4 different rooms and found all to be exceptional. The suites with an extra living room are quite large.”
 of 5 bubbles Scubaqueen_12, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in rooms facing the courtyard, and they were quiet”
 of 5 bubbles och20, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay