We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Manhattan Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Manhattan Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

104 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 93: English reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel is in what might perceive as a rough area near the Station. However, it turned out to be a well appointed well run hotel. The room was comfortable, the conference room was well serviced and well appointed and the food in the restaurant was excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Themi V
Nico R, Owner at Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Thembi V, Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your stunning review on TripAdvisor. Thank SO MUCH for the kind words and we are delighted that you enjoyed our Hotel, facilities and service. We look forward to serve you in the neat future. Wishing you a wonderful and safe festive season. Kind regards, Nico Rowan...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Updated Review: Noisy (road noise, very loud staff arriving and leaving, single glazed windows, very loud water pipes screaming, extractor fan noise, intrusive piped music if room near corridor speakers), broken items (bed and safes in in different rooms), broken commitments (promising to fix safe and not arriving at agreed time or fixing it at any time), repeatedly broken sleep...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CTcb1
Nico R, Owner at Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear CTcb1 (Mr Michale Brown), Thank you once again for taking the time to write us your review on TripAdvisor. Kind regards, Nico Rowan Managing Director

Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I called the Manhattan Hotel asking about shuttle services, I was put on hold for more than 10 minutes I spoke to Jonnie and he put me through housekeeping. I spoke to the lady called Phumla and she told me that they dont have shuttle services in their hotel and she hung up the Phone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pretty m
Nico R, Owner at Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pretty M, Our sincere apologies for this incident. We are all confused about this as all staff know that this is one of our AMAZING services we offered to our guest. I am of the opinion that you might have spoken to staff at a different hotel as we do not have a Jonnie or Phumla working at the...

Reviewed 1 week ago

As most guests have stated, the location is noisy as it is in the middle of town. However, the service that I experienced more than made up for that! As I was here on business, the free shuttle to and from our conference/Gautrain/Airport was efficient and safe. The drivers and manager were so helpful, even when we made a last...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ryleen B
Nico R, Owner at Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ryleen B, Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your stunning review on TripAdvisor, we REALLY apreciate it :) Thank you for all your kind words and thank you so much for staying at the Manhattan Hotel, this is GREATLY appreciated. We are delighted that you enjoyed staying with us and that you recieved our...

Harare Province, Zimbabwe
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice rooms and friendly atmosphere. If they can only lift their hotel away from the noisy taxis. Or maybe there is a quiter side. Ohh room service knock on your door at 8am .... not very good. But I would like to recommend this hotel and go back the next time I am in pretoria

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Enzo M
Nico R, Owner at Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Enzo M, Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. Apologies for the inconvenience caused due to the city noises around the hotel. Please ask our helpful reception staff to book you into an inner facing room during your next stay at the Manhattan Hotel. These inner facing rooms are located on the inside...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We where there for a birthday lunch, food and service was excellent! Wide variety of selection on mouth watering desserts! More than enough safe and secure parking with friendly staff! Was well received at reception Job well done

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Nico R, Owner at Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words and taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor, we really appreciated it. We are delighted that your enjoyed our buffet and thank you so much for entrusting us with your special celebration. We look forward to see you back at the Manhattan Hotel in the near future. Kind regards, Nico Rowan...

Bloemfontein, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very noisy, did not sleep well at all due to the noise from the road and staff making a noise as well as guests until early morning hours. Rooms is very neat and comfortable. Most of the staff is friendly except the staff at the Restaurant. They are ignoring the guests. Do not even greeted me when I tried to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vanrooyenm2
Nico R, Owner at Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear vanrooyenm2, My sincere apologies for the delayed response. Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. Apologies for the inconvenience caused due to the city noises around the hotel. Please ask our helpful reception staff to book you into an inner facing room during your next stay at the Manhattan Hotel. These inner facing...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

This hotel is situated in the Pretoria CBD, which has its positives and negatives. Be prepared to wake up to the morning traffic. Lots of food outlets nearby and there is a Caltex garage directly opposite the hotel. The rooms are nice but a bit aged. The buffet dinner is devine with a huge selection which justifies the price. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HiltonGanesen
Nico R, Owner at Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear HiltonGanesen, My sincere apologies for the delayed response. Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. Apologies for the inconvenience caused due to the city noises around the hotel. Please ask our helpful reception staff to book you into an inner facing room during your next stay at the Manhattan Hotel. These inner facing...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Visited in Aug. Service was good, all staff were very friendly. Room was neat and well furnished. Had the buffet dinner, which was terrible. The food was dry or overcooked or tasteless. But all in all, an enjoyable stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LaughingChefs2014
Nico R, Owner at Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LaughingChefs2014, My sincere apologies for the delayed response. Thank you for taking the time to write us your review on TripAdvisor. We pride ourselves in offering exceptional quality of food and variety at the Manhattan Hotel and 100% satisfaction is of utmost importance to our clients. We would like to get more details regarding your comments and would like...

Gaborone, South-East, Botswana
Reviewed 21 September 2016

The hotel is OK. I think maybe its location isn't that good. It's on the roadside and the place is a bit crowded and they couldn't have amenities like a pool which is a great place to relax after a long day. Otherwise great place. The service is great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ndabie K
Nico R, Owner at Manhattan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ndabie K, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on TripAdvisor, this is greatly appreciated. Please allow us to book you into a room that is on the inner facing side of the building away from the street for your convenience during your next visit. Our apologies for not having a swimming pool, can I...

68 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
0.4 mi away
Morning Star Express Hotel
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Capital
0.3 mi away
Burgers Park Hotel
Burgers Park Hotel
#23 of 73 in Pretoria
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel 224
Hotel 224
#38 of 73 in Pretoria
79 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark
1.5 mi away
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
#13 of 73 in Pretoria
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Manhattan Hotel Pretoria - Closest hotel to the Pretoria Gautrain Station (250 meters). The Manhattan Hotel is an upmarket, 3-star business hotel conveniently situated just outside the Pretoria CBD. In fact, you will find that our location makes us one of the most popular hotels in the city. Even though we're just a 3 star hotel, you should and can expect to receive 5 star service from us everytime. What makes us VERY different from all the other hotel's in Pretoria is our food. Our Lunch & Dinner buffet offers over a 110 dishes each prepare with special care and attention to detail. Be spoiled for choice when you enjoy stay with us. We are also the first and only 3 star hotel in Pretoria with a SPA that offers an array of treatments to indulge and spoil yourself with. The following FREE service offerings are available to all our guests: FREE shuttle service to an from Pretoria Gautrain Station (250 meters - 1 minute). FREE shuttle service to any 5km radius around the hotel. FREE shuttle service to Brooklyn Mall (5 minutes). FREE Uncapped High Speed WiFi Internet. FREE Internet access and use of the computer/business center for those travelling without Laptops. FREE use of our in-house GYM open all hours of the day. All this is available at excellent prices that offers our clients exceptional value for money. Manhattan Hotel - Redefining the ART of Hospitality!! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Manhattan Hotel

Address: 247 Scheiding Street, Pretoria 0002, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Price Range: £42 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manhattan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Manhattan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Pretoria
#7 Spa Hotel in Pretoria
#16 Business Hotel in Pretoria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Manhattan Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“High up in the middle of the "rearward arm" of the building. Too low or at either end is very noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles CTcb1, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the inside are apparently quieter”
 of 5 bubbles ryleenb2015, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing the street is very noisy. Do not choose them”
 of 5 bubbles vanrooyenm2, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Higher floor”
 of 5 bubbles Shegofatso, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Room on the inside of the hotel is quite, compared to the rooms on the street side.”
 of 5 bubbles BoytjieK, 9 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay