We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton

Hotels.comUS$140*
View Deal
#14 of 48 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

382 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton
See the most recent reviews
Showing 375: English reviews
Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 16 May 2016

Bathroom light did not switch off, had to sleep with it on. Ordered in room dining and waited an hour and 15 minutes, food finally came and tasty very bad. Breakfast menu didn't have a huge variety as compared to my previous stays there, also tasty bad...

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 111jv
Jacques H, General Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for informing us of your experience. Please do accept my most sincere apologies. Your feedback regarding service levels are unacceptable and not in line with our service ethics. I can assure you that we applied renewed focus in this area and received great feedback ever since. I hope we can welcome you back soon, in order...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 12 May 2016

The hotel met my basic needs as a business traveler in terms of efficiency, cleanliness and decor but I don't understand why top hotels in city areas do not have double-glazing to minimize sound levels from the road and also the entertainment areas. One side of the hotel overlooks the pool and bar area as well as a major intersection...

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maya F
Jacques H, General Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this review

Dear Maya F We appreciate your review. Thank you for rating us on TripAdvisor. Please do not hesitate to contact me for your next visit; I will personally attend to your requests and allocate you on the opposite side of the hotel, in order to avoid being disturbed by road noise. Yours Sincerely Jacques and the Hyde Park Team Jacques.heath@tsogosun.com

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 24 April 2016 via mobile

Attended a team breakfast at this hotel and the breakfast was really good. Lovely spread to cater for all types of eaters and the food was fresh and the staff really friendly and efficient. Similar menu to what can be expected at a Tsogo/Southern Sun hotel with little touches to make it a more premium experience. The bathrooms were really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yas2202
Jacques H, General Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this review

Dear Yas2202 Thank you for your lovely feedback. Your review will be used to motivate and encourage our team in delivering ongoing world class service. We honestly appreciate your feedback and look forward in hosting you in the near future. Warm Regards Jacques & the Hyde Park Team

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 23 April 2016 via mobile

Watching the sun set & seeing the colours of the sky change multiple times with great company is just awesome. Food here is execptional. Trendy folks of all age groups & race mingle in harmony. Don't quite know if we could swim in this tiny looking fish pond or pool sonce this is the pool deck lol. Service could have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chauffeur J
Jacques H, General Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this review

Dear Jacob J We appreciate your review. Thank you for rating us on TripAdvisor. Warmest Regards Jacques & the Hyde Park Team

New Jersey
Reviewed 18 April 2016

This hotel is absolutely beautiful! I went in January 2016 with a group of about 20 students from our graduate MBA program. The rooms were spotless and very modern. I really appreciated that they had several outlets with the different converters so I didn't even need to use my South Africa one. The hotel is connected to the local mall...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joelle B
Jacques H, General Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this review

Dear Joelle B Fantastic Ratings!!! We appreciate your lovely comments. I am sure we will see you back soon. Regards Jacques & the Hyde Park Team

Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 April 2016

Had the pleasure of staying here for a week. Very comfortable, rooms are good as well but the staff and atmosphere makes this place great. On a Friday night the bar is one of the most popular spots in Joberg..so don't be shy enjoy. Oh and the food is great too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin F
Jacques H, General Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this review

Dear Kevin F What a great review!!!! Thank you for choosing Southern Sun Hyde Park as your destination. I trust that we will see you back soon. Jacques & Hyde Park Team

Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewed 4 April 2016

The hotel is classified as a 4 star - it's far from that in my opinion. The wifi is terrible and stops after 500mb data download, then you have to pay. No international hotel does that anymore. The bathroom looks somewhat worn/not very clean. Add towels that feel "plastic" it doesn't give the impressions of a 4 star. The minibar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bulgenes
Jacques H, General Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this review

Dear Bulgenes I do appreciate your TripAdvisor Comments. Please do accept my apologies for the above shortfalls. I can tell that you have many queries with regardsto your experience and I will be able to assist with any of your future stays. We have revised and updated our Free WIFI policy and now offers a better deal. We have also...

Reviewed 22 March 2016

Great hotel. Great ambience. Friendly and helpful staff. Special shout out to the doormen and the maintenance guy. The rooftop bar is great for sundowners. Rooms are nice and clean. I like that it's adjoined with Hyde Park Corner so one can safely walk to the mall for some shopping. All in all I had a pleasant stay and will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tina C
Jacques H, General Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this review

Dear Tina C We appreciate your positive feedback. Thank you for choosing Southern Sun Hyde Park as your destination. I look forward in welcoming you back soon. Warmest Regards Jacques

Bloemfontein, South Africa
Reviewed 21 March 2016

What a wonderful feeling to stay at a South African establishment rated 4 stars thar compete (and exceed) with the best in the world. Our power in room was down - fixed within minutes by pleasant staff. The room was great, facilities great, breakfast awesome. Just Awesome.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rose2Namib
Jacques H, General Manager at Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton, responded to this review

Dear RisnaU Thank you so much for your lovely review. We appreciate your feedback and will be sharing your comments with our team members. I look forward in welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Hyde Park hotel soon. Warmest Regards Jacques and the Hyde Park Team https://www.tripadvisor.co.za/ShowUserReviews-g312586-d1742330-r339879462-Southern_Sun_Hyde_Park_Sandton-Sandton_Greater_Johannesburg_Gauteng.html#

Reviewed 20 March 2016 via mobile

Booked at Luce for a special celebration with my family. We arrived at 19h30 We were given our menus but it took a whole hour for the waitress to come and take our orders. Took a long time ...more than 45 mins for the starters to come to the table and even then one of our party didnt receive her...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Beverley H

81 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
0:12
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
1.7 mi away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#3 of 48 in Sandton
825 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 48 in Sandton
1,243 reviews
1.9 mi away
Garden Court Sandton City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#4 of 48 in Sandton
907 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Maslow
The Maslow
#6 of 48 in Sandton
794 reviews
2.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The prestigious Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton forms part of the exclusive Hyde Park Corner Shopping Centre. A state of the art hotel, offering guests all the comforts needed by the discerning traveller . The contemporary design and decor has been carefully crafted to reflect the lifestyle of our discerning guests, with furnishings and fittings adding a touch of class. Rooms offer panoramic views over the tree tops of Johannesburg's northern suburbs and include all the comforts of your own home.There is also a well appointed boardroom and two fully equipped conference rooms that caters for executive business meetings or private signature events.High speed WI FI connectivity is now available to hotel guests on a complimentary basis. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton

Address: 1st Road, Hyde Park | Now with free guest Wi-Fi., Sandton 2024, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Price Range: £102 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton Hotel Sandton
Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
northern california
Hartford, Connecticut
3 months ago
Southington, Connecticut
northern california
Crystal Beach, On Canada

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Southern Sun Hyde Park Sandton staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all views are good. Look for a high level.”
S2637FMmichaelv, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Avoid a room overlooking the airco of the shopping mall.”
515filipd, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“best view on the third floor”
, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors had more noise”
576zahraam, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are good, Quieter rooms are on 4-6 floor (away from the bar area which is very popular at night.”
JoeR63, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$140* /night
View Deal
HotelQuicklyUS$225
Orbitz.comUS$139
CancelonUS$203
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates