We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ocean Hideaway B&B

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amanzimtoti
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

8 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 8: English reviews
Start your review of Ocean Hideaway B&B
 Click to rate
Reviewed 10 April 2017

I stayed here during a buissnes trip in March 2017. The view of the ocean was spectacular. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast was tasty. The room was also very comfortable and clean. I would recommend this B&B to everyone.

Thank disco2016
Michelle T, Manager at Ocean Hideaway B&B, responded to this review

Thank you very much. We firmly believe in happy, helpful staff make for a happy guest. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Regards Kerry

Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

We have stayed here for private and business travel on many occasions an have stayed in all the rooms - Ocean Hideaway has never failed to deliver on excellence. Already looking forward to our next stay in June 2017!

Thank Thea M
Michelle T, Manager at Ocean Hideaway B&B, responded to this review

Thank you Thea for you lovely review. We look forward to welcoming back in June. Regards Kerry

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 6 January 2014

At Ocean Hideaway in Amanzimtoti, we had a fantastic stay! Out of the blue we received a call a day prior to our arrival, and were told that we were upgraded to the Honeymoon suite. We were ecstatic - and for good reason as well - we had a direct view of the ocean - from our bed! (See attached...

1Thank Safe_Travellings
Sandton, South Africa
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Stayed here for one night during a business trip. The owner was very welcoming and helpful. The room itself was a bit on the small size with no view or outside balcony. The room was furnished in a cosy, homely way with lots of trinkets "clutter" which didn't appeal to me at all. I am giving a rating of 3...

Thank Iloveshoesalot
Michelle T, Owner at Ocean Hideaway B&B, responded to this review

Hi Iloveshoesalot Thanks so much for your review, I am so sorry you did not enjoy your stay here with us as 90% of our business is recurring corporate guests who stay with me regularly for 3 or 4 nights a week. Our units all have their own theme which we hope adds character to them and our returning guests...

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We have been here in August 2012 during a roundtrip through SA, with Afrikaya Tours(Wynand Meyer). This Hideaway was one of our best experiences as a place to recharge the battery and overthink all the experiences we had during the trip. It is an absolutely great place to be with nice rooms and a family way of service. The possibility...

Thank J_Nijboer
Michelle T, Owner at Ocean Hideaway B&B, responded to this review

Hi Nijboer Family Thank you for your very kind review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future with Afrikaya Tours! Best wishes Michelle

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 13 April 2013

I travel from the USA once a year to run dance workshops and visit with my family all over South Africa. After my 1st experience, Ocean Hideaway is always my 1st choice of accommodation in the Durban area. It is simply the perfect place to unwind, recharge and rest. The staff are always around but unobtrusive, well trained, very helpful...

Thank Zaiahadiyyah
Michelle T, Owner at Ocean Hideaway B&B, responded to this review

Hi Sanet Thanks so much for your great review! You are always so welcome here with us and we are thrilled that you always enjoy your stay. Hope to see you again soon! Thanks again! Best Wishes Michelle

Beverley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We had almost 3 weeks here based around our daughter's wedding at a local Game Reserve. From the moment we arrived at Ocean Hideaway in a somewhat dazed state after our flights from the UK we felt at home. Everything about the place was right! Warm friendly welcome, immaculately compiled room decor and furnishings, spotlessly clean, amazing location with magnificent...

3Thank Mike S
Michelle T, Owner at Ocean Hideaway B&B, responded to this review

Hi Mike and Family Thank you for your lovely review, and for being such wonderful guests! Things were ever so quiet when you left. Hope you see you all again soon! Best regards Michelle, Len, Staff & furry children!

Reviewed 19 August 2012

We stay here a few times a year and it is the best place to stay in Amanzimtoti. Wonderful ocean view from the deck, great lapa and braai facilities. Cosy and stylish decorated rooms, excellent service by Michelle and her staff, not only for breakfast, but always helpful! Just love it, even when not all the rooms are that spacious,...

2Thank AfrikayaTours
Michelle T, Owner at Ocean Hideaway B&B, responded to this review

Hi Margreet Baie Dankie for die lekker worde! We always love having you and Wynand and your guests here. Look forward to seeing you next week. Liefde xxxxxx Michelle & Len

4 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (4)
Room/Suite (2)
View from Room (1)
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amanzimtoti hotels
0.2 mi away
305 Guest House
305 Guest House
#1 of 24 in Amanzimtoti
332 reviews
3.6 mi away
The View Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Bali Grand Lodge & Spa
Bali Grand Lodge & Spa
#5 of 24 in Amanzimtoti
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Tuscan View
Tuscan View
#3 of 24 in Amanzimtoti
22 reviews
2.0 mi away
El Palma Guest House
El Palma Guest House
#4 of 24 in Amanzimtoti
5 reviews
1.3 mi away
Alante Lodge
Alante Lodge
#3 of 7 in Amanzimtoti
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Ocean Hideaway B&B

Address: 337 Ipahla Road, Amanzimtoti 4126, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Amanzimtoti
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Hideaway B&B 4*
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ocean Hideaway B&B staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for the two rooms with the ocean view - it is well worth it!”
  • View from our bed
Safe_Travellings, 6 Jan 2014 | Read review
“Ensure you book well in advance for high season periods. This is a popular place”
  • Ocean Hideaway Location
Zaiahadiyyah, 13 Apr 2013 | Read review
“Try self-catering facilities for more space, but all rooms are to a high standard.”
MikeS107, 13 Feb 2013 | Read review
3 of 3