We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
28/01/2018 29/01/2018
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Tekweni Backpackers Hostel

    169 Ninth Avenue, Durban 4001, South Africa
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    28/01/2018 29/01/2018
    Are these your travel dates?
    TripAdvisor uses this information to find you the lowest prices for your stay.
    Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in DurbanSee available hotels in Durban
    Traveller (30)
    Pool & Beach (5)
    Room & Suite (2)
    Overview
    • Excellent35%
    • Very good28%
    • Average14%
    • Poor14%
    • Terrible9%
    Travellers talk about
    “florida road” (20 reviews)
    “braai nights” (4 reviews)
    “tv room” (2 reviews)
    Free Internet
    Free Parking
    Pool
    Bar/Lounge
    Kitchenette
    Breakfast included
    Restaurant
    Room Service
    Fitness centre
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    Write a ReviewReviews (145)
    There are newer reviews for Tekweni Backpackers Hostel
    See the most recent reviews
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    41 - 45 of 125 reviews

    Reviewed 18 March 2016

    During my backpacking trip through South Africa I stayed for 3 nights at Tekweni Backpacker Hostel in Durban. The location of the hostel is great. Close to Florida Rd it is easy to have a great night. But the shower and the pool are disgusting....More

    Thank Christian P
    Response from Patrick M, Manager at Tekweni Backpackers HostelResponded 3 June 2016

    Thanks for your review. Yes we pride ourselves on our atmosphere which I gather you appreciated. Maybe you are being a little harsh about the cleanliness though? We are a busy place and it takes a lot to keep it clean and we think we...More

    Reviewed 11 March 2016

    Typical backpacker with really big dormitories, pool, braai area, great bar and a tv lounge. Good location with bars and restaurants in walking distance on Florida road. Staff gives great advice about do's and don'ts in Durban. Great place to hang out!

    Thank guncoon
    Response from Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers HostelResponded 3 June 2016

    Yay a fan! Thanks for the great review. Particularly enjoy your compliment on our staff. We take great pride in that. I will be sure to pass it on. Hopefully you will make it back to us one day.

    Reviewed 28 February 2016 via mobile

    It's one of the places in Durban where you definitely find people to hangout and party. It is situated in a nice area in Durban and there are lots of bars around. Make sure to check out 'dropkick murphys'. -The baz bus stops right in...More

    1  Thank Fabian A
    Response from Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers HostelResponded 11 March 2016

    Sooo glad you feel us. Thanks for the nice review. Hope to see you back again

    Reviewed 19 February 2016

    Just stayed one night travelling with the Baz Bus but rooms were clean and the room was far enough from the bar that there wasn't any noise. WiFi wasn't very good and staff could have been slightly friendlier but we're by no means rude.

    1  Thank Johnna R
    Response from Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers HostelResponded 11 March 2016

    Thanks for reviewing us. Pretty good review as it does appear you feel us. Would have liked a more raving review on our staff. That's our goal. Next time we need to wow you. Hope to see you back :)

    Reviewed 18 February 2016

    I enjoyed my stay at Tekweni :) It's certainly a party-type-of-hostel,so please be prepared for lots of music and noise throughout the day and night. But with this, the staff is incredibly friendly and wants to make sure you as a guest have a good...More

    2  Thank kaylacody0
    Response from Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers HostelResponded 11 March 2016

    Yes yes yes. Nice review! All the stuff we love to hear. Hope to see you back.

    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Pool
    • Free Parking
    • Free Internet
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Things to do
    • Pool
    • Bar/Lounge
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$25 - US$32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Kitchenette
    • Number of rooms
    • 18
    • Location
    • South Africa >
    • KwaZulu-Natal >
    • Durban
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (30)
    Pool & Beach (5)
    Room & Suite (2)
    Hotel & Grounds (35)
    Bathroom (1)
    Nearby
    Nearby HotelsSee all 44 hotels in Durban
    Florida Park Hotel
    85 reviews
    .07 miles away
    The Benjamin
    236 reviews
    .07 miles away
    Quarters Hotel Florida Road
    122 reviews
    .17 miles away
    The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
    242 reviews
    .41 miles away
    Nearby Restaurants
    Butcher Boys Florida Road
    724 reviews
    .06 miles away
    Butcher Block Steakhouse
    44 reviews
    .17 miles away
    Spiga D'oro
    704 reviews
    .11 miles away
    Joops Place
    243 reviews
    .22 miles away
    Nearby Attractions
    Durban Botanic Gardens
    934 reviews
    .96 miles away
    Big Rush Urban Adrenaline
    142 reviews
    .89 miles away
    Mitchell Park
    209 reviews
    .72 miles away
    Greyville Racecourse
    64 reviews
    .54 miles away
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from Tekweni Backpackers Hostel staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Submit
    Room Tips
    "room 8, very quite corner and good for sleeping"
    Read review
    "Room Number 15 is extremely small"
    Read review
    "Ask for beds in the room on the ground floor to the right as you enter for slightly better beds."
    Read review
    "For a bit more privacy, ask for the flats next to the main building. More like a proper rented apartment..."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing