We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tekweni Backpackers Hostel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Tekweni Backpackers Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

129 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Tekweni Backpackers Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 111: English reviews
Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 16 November 2014

We have stayed in many hostels but this was by far the poorest hostel we have stayed in. Havind said that, the staff were very friendly and helpful. There are no towels supplied, the place is very old and in desperate need of a makeover. The location is great and the owners really need to put some money into updating...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank maweir
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Definitely not our best. i am the owner as you mentioned me a couple of times in your review. I will take your review "on the chin". I know exactly when you were with us and part of the circumstance was unavoidable. The geyser for the hot water supply on the side of the backpackers you...

Reviewed 24 October 2014 via mobile

We ended up here after a long trip. We were upgraded because the dorms were full, but we didnt have to pay extra. The people are really nice and helpfull. Its close to a lot of nice restaurants and bars. But also the party in the hostel itself is worth a visit. The noice can get a bit much on...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Emma S
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

What a wonderful review. You definitely get what we are about. Thank you. We hope to see you back again at some point.

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 30 August 2014

When one reaches a certain age you stop associating yourself with the backpacker lifestyle despite it still being all you can afford. It it thus always a treat to find a backpackers that accommodates all walks of life. Congenial staff that accommodate you gracefully when you continue to add nights to your already extended stay. Attention to detail, clean kitchen,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pimigren
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

What a fantastic review. You really get us. We really aim at being a place that will appeal to all age groups. According to you we have achieved that. And "Crackerjack Vibe". Im going to use that in our future marketing. Thanks so much. Hope to see you back soon.

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I came on the Baz Bus just in time for a Braai night, delicious! The staff was very friendly and helpful, and I had a great time here. It was too cold for the pool but walking to the beach was lovely, and there is a grocery store 5 minutes away.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kate V
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

We take great pride in our staff. So we love the title of your review. Thanks for the fantastic write up. We hope to see you back again.

Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights in a dorm room. This is a great place to stay if you don't require much sleep. If the hostel isn't playing loud music than the club across the street is. There was also a big fight at 5 am one morning which woke everyone up. The desk staff during the day were nice but the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katherine A
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Lots of positive and a bit of negative there. Yes we pride ourselves in being a festive place. We do our best to find an in between of good times and sleep time but occasionally the balance is a bit off. Sounds like you were with us at a very busy time. I'm sensing you did...

Nairobi
Reviewed 25 July 2014

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank elisevandenboogaart
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pug88
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 26 April 2014

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margitha E
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Africa
Reviewed 25 April 2014

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LynxDa
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 April 2014

 Report
Helpful?
Thank erlusby1
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durban
2.0 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#33 of 41 in Durban
73 reviews
9.1 mi away
Splendid Inn Pinetown
Splendid Inn Pinetown
#1 of 1 in Pinetown
231 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 41 in Durban
1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gibela Backpackers Lodge
1.8 mi away
Curiocity Durban
Curiocity Durban
#4 of 82 in Durban
42 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mesami Hotel
Mesami Hotel
#67 of 254 in Durban
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tekweni Backpackers Hostel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Tekweni Backpackers Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room Number 15 is extremely small”
 of 5 bubbles natascha755, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for beds in the room on the ground floor to the right as you enter for slightly better beds.”
 of 5 bubbles anonn256, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“For a bit more privacy, ask for the flats next to the main building. More like a proper rented apartment rather than your typical hostel.”
 of 5 bubbles , 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Quieter rooms are to the front of the house”
 of 5 bubbles GavinGrierson, 15 May 2015 | Read review
“The dorms are comfortable and clean but I wouldn't recommend room 4 as it's right by the front door.”
 of 5 bubbles RosieM942, 3 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5