We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

TripAdvisorUS$189*
View Deal
#2 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lowest price we found
US$189*
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,778 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,691: English reviews
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Reviewed 7 September 2016

Will recommend others to use Maharani as i have mentioned in the my introductory remarks. The hotel has the capacity and the edge as it reached the highest standards in my opinion. Whenever am in Durban

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank justin_lupinda
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted that you had a great stay and look forward to welcoming you back when you next travel to Durban. Regards Samantha

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 5 September 2016

My only issue was a "non Delivery" by room service. I had called and asked for a bucket of ice to be delivered to the room. After two phone calls approximately 45 minutes apart, I gave up hope of receiving ice from room service.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank bronwynl15
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your valuable feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies for the lapse in service standards experienced from our in-room dining team. Your feedback has been shared with the food & beverage manager in order he take the necessary corrective steps to address this shortcoming. We look forward to welcoming...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 5 September 2016

There was confusion at the reception when we were checking in which caused us to stay long. No waitron/s was ever at out table to check if we are fine, on Sunday there was no cold water at the breakfast table, it was finished and no one noticed. However overall we were happy to sty there and we shall visit...

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lethabot189
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your valuable feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies for the lapse in service standards experienced from our breakfast team. Your feedback has been shared with the manager, in order that she address this shortcoming with her team. We look forward to welcoming you back when you next travel...

Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewed 4 September 2016

Over-all rating above is misleading as "general" service was "good" NOT very good as Staff was not "over" friendly nor over helpful. BAR was disappointing as to both service and time it took to obtain a basic martini. Best hotel feature - was traditional English style "buffet" breakfast but dinner and menue style was disappointing and not exciting.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank waltermN8787YG
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your valuable feedback. It is disappointing that you did not enjoy your stay- your feedback has been shared with the team, in order that we address the shortcomings which you have identified. I do hope that this stay has not marred your overall impression of the hotel and...

Paris, France
Reviewed 3 September 2016

the hotel lobby smelled aweful especially on our floor 29. the pool was closed because of a function or some awards, which we were not told of when booking. was looking forward to using the pool as we were overseas visitors... the room was more of a 2* than anything else.... we had a proposal whcih was planned from australia...

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Derek J
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your valuable feedback, which has been shared with the team. I presume the pool which you are referring to is the one at Maharani tower. We do not close this pool off for private functions, although the pool is closed at 18h00, for safety reasons. I will most...

Durban
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

Staff friendly and efficient, service very good, clean and comfortable. All meals and tea time snacks excellent. Usually I dislike food, teas and coffees at conferences as it seems not to be made with love. Here even the coffee is excellent and I am a serious coffee lover. Would definitely recommend this hotel for conferences. Only thing I didn't enjoy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DurbanHappyWanderer
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your valuable feedback. The bedrooms at the Elangeni have not yet been refurbished, which is why the bathroom offering includes a shower-in -bath. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and your conference and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Samantha

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 2 September 2016

We really enjoyed this hotel. Great sea view, and you can open the window and enjoy the fresh air. The bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom was clean. Service was friendly, laundry service prompt, and the Grill Jicama restaurant was excellent. Only negatives were that there was a long line at check in, and that despite being in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jaiwana
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your valuable feedback, which has been shared with the team. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Samantha

PE
Reviewed 2 September 2016

For business guest who are spending more than 30days in a hotel. An exception should be considered for warming food facilities since the hotel does not cater for warming up facility even if you bought food from the restaurant inside the hotel.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ncebakazim
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Unfortunately, due to the stringent food safety standards which are followed by our kitchens, we are unable to offer the facility of re-heating food for guests. These standards are in place in order to ensure the well-being of our Guests. Regards Samantha

Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 1 September 2016

We had a great 3 night stay at Elangeni. The rooms are very well appointed. The buffet dinner on Friday at Lingela is not to be missed. We also had dinner at the The Grill Jichana; the service and the food are excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gcobane_Quvile
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your valuable feedback. I am delighted that you had a great stay and enjoyed the two dinner experiences. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Samantha

Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 30 August 2016

The gentleman by the name of Moosa has warmly welcomed us and provides us with education on how sunrands works, and he maintain that before we checkout we need to ensure that our sunrands are allocated. Thank you Moosa for you time and free education.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gilbert M
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am pleased that Moosa made you feel welcome and was able to assist you with utilising your sunrands. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Samantha

451 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (424)
Viewed
Room/Suite (61)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
View from Room (67)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (184)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,368 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.7 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#7 of 43 in Durban
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#13 of 43 in Durban
587 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
422 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Durban
City Lodge Hotel Durban
#15 of 43 in Durban
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Radiating energy and elegance across the Golden Mile, Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani invites you to take your place in the sun. From the stylish bedrooms with breath-taking sea-views to the variety of restaurants and recreation facilities, visitors can look forward to the vibrancy, colour and culture of Durban's premier hotel destination offering more choice than ever before, from service and hospitality through to accommodation and dining. Absolutely everything under one sun! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

Address: 63 OR O R Tambo Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Price Range: £99 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani 4*
Number of rooms: 449
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Elangeni Durban
Elangeni Hotel Durban
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#2 Business Hotel in Durban
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“choose ocean facing. free 2G wifi upon arrival”
Hoosains, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“All rooms face the ocean, so you can't go wrong.”
K4739HBjuliew, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“best views and nice rooms”
SisekoY, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Top floor rooms for the best view of the sea!”
  • Bathrooms are very clean
  • Cosy rooms
AnaelBodwell, 7 May 2017 | Read review
“yes to room 1517, no to 1514, both have good views, 1515 and 1516 are the most handy for familys as they are interlinking.”
josefine2017, 7 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$189* /night
View Deal
getaroom.comUS$189
Travelocity
Expedia.com
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates