We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Blue Waters Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Blue Waters Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

542 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 491: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Went to Blue Waters without any bookings, they helped us soo much. A good hotel, a walk to the beach. The family room was big and had a sea view and the kids loved it. Great restaurant at the bottom with kids play area. Will definitely go back again soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tshireletso N
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The newly renovated rooms are extremely nice. My friend and I stayed over just a night. The bed was comfortable, the room was very clean. The view was amazing. The breakfast was excellent and the staff were very friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank serumoodley
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Blue waters is a great stay. Rooms are nice and clean. Breakfast was great, all the servers work hard our first day we had Mthonko, he goes above and beyond. I recoomend sitting in his section. 1011 is a great room. Pool is lovley. Loction is perfect.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank C. Sarah A. B
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 1 week ago

the location is great next to sun coast casino, we had the sea view and rooms are very spacious. Walking distance to the beach with in house pool. Great breakfast and clean rooms and service provided. Only set back is wifi is not free and only available at the public areas at an extra charge. No water refill per day...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CikuGacuru
BlueW, assistant guest services manager at Blue Waters Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. As service professionals in the hospitality industry we continually strive to offer good service and meet our guest expectations. We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Yours in...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great location. Walking distance to Suncoast Casino, restaurants and beaches. Private undercover parking. Lovely breakfast. Most rooms have balconies with seaview, even the north facing rooms. Rooms are modern and airconditioned. Situated on the northern beachfront of Durban and we felt safe to walk on the beachfront parade in this area at night to and from restaurants at the casino.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charmaine B
BlueW, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Waters Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and the amazing views we have to offer. As service professionals in the hospitality industry we continually strive to offer good service and meet our guest expectations. We are looking for forward to...

Linkoping, Sweden
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed at the Elan Geni and Maharani before but this time we found them a bit pricy so we decided to try the Blue Waters Hotel and were very happy with that. We got a large room with a little balcony facing the beachfront. Great views! A very clean and nice room with comfortable beds. Breakfast was good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MargarethaN
BlueW, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Waters Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and the amazing views we have to offer. As service professionals in the hospitality industry we continually strive to offer good service and meet our guest expectations. We are looking for forward to...

Maputo, Maputo, Mozambique
Reviewed 1 week ago

The check in was friendly and quick, but as I arrived to the room there was some weird smell. As I reported promptly the staff tried to corrected. Thought the smell, the room looked clean and the beds were reasonably comfortable. I had the family room which was spacious for the 4 of us. The hotel was under renovation and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo M
BlueW, assistant guest services manager at Blue Waters Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. As service professionals in the hospitality industry we continually strive to offer good service and meet our guest expectations. We do apologise about the discomfort cause during your stay and I am definitely...

Harare, Zimbabwe
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we were in Durban for a family holiday. Firstly we arrived early morning and we could not get early check in but had to sleep at the lounge for half the day. The internet in the rooms was really bad. The kids loved the breakfast and also the pizzas we orders from the bar

 Report
Helpful?
Thank X6694NDmargaretm
BlueW, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Waters Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay. Reception strive to assist guests as much as possible with early arrival requests, however this is not always possible. Our check in time is 14h00 and with full occupancy early check ins are difficult. We do have ample Wi-Fi in our public areas...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Was charged extra per night for extra bed but never got it. Then checkin lady chrged my card for 7 nights instead of 3 as per confirmed booking, and when I pointed the error out, was told that I would be refunded on checkout. Checked out 23/12/2016 and still no refund, even after going back to the hotel on 3...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Calhan
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is the worse hotel i've ever stayed at. at check in I asked for the minibar to be open as I drink a juice in the morning. As i woke up i found out the minibar was empty so I called reception and asked them to fill it as i went out for a while. I came back the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Betoko
BlueW, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Waters Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest. Thank you for taking to provide us with feedback regarding your stay. We do not provide minibars in our rooms, it is a bar fridge with no items prior to arrival. There is however juice available at our breakfast buffet daily. Extra items can be ordered from our room service department however the items cannot be placed...

220 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (195)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
View from Room (45)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.0 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#4 of 41 in Durban
1,268 reviews
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.4 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#10 of 41 in Durban
390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#6 of 41 in Durban
409 reviews
0.7 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Durban
City Lodge Hotel Durban
#15 of 41 in Durban
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Beachfront
Food & drink at the hotel
Blue Dolphin
Blue Dolphin
Cuisines: Pizza, Italian, Bar, Sushi, Pub
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast included
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Blue Waters Hotel is a three star beach front hotel located on Durban's famous Golden Mile in KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa. The Blue Waters Hotel specializes in offering the best accommodation at affordable rates to corporate business, honeymooners, sports teams, groups and holiday makers alike. We also specialize in hosting unforgettable wedding receptions. We have a number of wedding venues to choose from depending on the size of the function required. The hotel offers business conference and function facilities for small to large events. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Blue Waters Hotel

Address: 175 Snell Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Price Range: £47 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Waters Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 262
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Blue Waters Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Waters Hotel Durban
Blue Waters Durban
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Blue Waters Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Blue Waters Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a family room with sea view it has 2 small size beds and and one queen bed”
 of 5 bubbles CikuGacuru, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you get a room with a balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles MargarethaN, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“High Floor/Sea facing”
 of 5 bubbles KyleA729, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ask for sea view”
 of 5 bubbles C363WVchrisd, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Must get a sea facing room. Leave your windows open to hear the sea all night.”
 of 5 bubbles LaChelle_2304, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay