We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Riverside Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Riverside Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

184 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 173: English reviews
Start your review of The Riverside Hotel
 Click to rate
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel Staff very friendly and helpful. Restaurant in terms of breakfast and dinner is much better now that the hotel has taken it over again. Just sort out those room key cards that keep bombing out. Also do something about stopping the water from spilling out of the shower area onto the floor due to the new style of showers....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank KevinNaidu
Wendy N, Digital Marketing Coordinator at The Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Dear KevinNaidu Thank you for your review and kind compliments.Your comments will be forwarded to the manager of those departments and they will resolve these issues. We do commend your loyalty to aha Riverside Hotel and we trust that you are happily gaining aha real reward points on your travels to our Hotel. We are glad to have you apart...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was in Durban this past weekend with my wife, we spent Friday and Saturday in the hotel. This hotel has no sole, the outside patio furniture needs replacing, seems like they have too many staff hanging around, service mediocre, coffee terrible. But the hotel lacks atmosphere, especially the dining area. It is also a noisy hotel, the outside bar...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shaun A
Richards Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As always the staff are friendly, and the hotel is neat and rooms well presented. The hotel provides a quiet place for those wanting to get away from the noise and traffic from the central city hotels. I look forward to returning to the hotel again in the coming months

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank seanwF4072VN
Wendy N, Digital Marketing Coordinator at The Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Dear seanwF4072VN Thank you for your review and kind compliments.We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Bradley Naidoo

Claremont, South Africa
Reviewed 10 January 2017

- Mojos restaurant was closed but I was not informed before my arrival? - Microwave in room but no plates or cutlery? - From your website ' each of the rooms have views over the beautiful city, glistening river, lush gardens or idyllic ocean'....our room (222) looked over a dirty roof and car park!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank AdamBenzimra
Wendy N, Digital Marketing Coordinator at The Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Benzira Thank you for your valued comments and on behalf of the Riverside team my sincere apologies that the front of house team was not informative enough regarding the Mojos restaurant being closed and then also the plates and cutlery which is available on request. We do have river view rooms but these are based on availability and...

Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

The staff go out of their way to accommodate you. Breakfast caters for everyone and so does the inhouse restuarant. Bar service slightly limitedcas far as fine wine is concerned. Would recommend to fellow travellers

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynn P
Wendy N, Digital Marketing Coordinator at The Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lynn P Thank you for your review and kind compliments.The restaurant has new Management and therefore these issues will be rectified.We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Bradley Naidoo

Reviewed 3 January 2017

The hotel is newly refurbished so the interior is very neat. The room had all I needed for business travel. Although the wi-fi in the room was very poor. The restaurant was average...they messed up my meal order and when it arrived it was cold. they tried to sort it out but I had waited very long and was no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KevinmatthewsSa
Wendy N, Digital Marketing Coordinator at The Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Hi KevinmatthewsSa Thank you for your review. Your comments regarding WiFi will be forwarded to our maintenance Manager who will work diligently to rectify this issue.We do apologize for the lack of service at the restaurant.The restaurant is privately owned and managed but we are in negotiation with the owners and will be taking over management of the restaurant as...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 2 January 2017

very comfortable hotel nice views easy access good food good service my group was very happy and really enjoyed their stay . there was ample parking and the staff where friendly and accommodating. the rooms were pleasant and well serviced

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kingsrest
Wendy N, Digital Marketing Coordinator at The Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Hi kingsrest Thank you for your kind compliments.We look forward to having you stay with us in the near future. Kind Regards Bradley Naidoo

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 29 December 2016

The hotel has Great Customer service. The staff are extremely friendly. The rooms were neatly done, clean and absolutely beautiful. The swimming pool was nice and warm when the weather went cold. Our overall experience of our stay was amazing , a great way to chill and unwind. I will definitely recommend this hotel to others.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank nokwethembam
Wendy N, Digital Marketing Coordinator at The Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Hi nokwethembam Thank you for your kind compliments. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future. Kind Regards Bradley Naidoo

KZN
Reviewed 24 December 2016 via mobile

Pathetic that a hotel of this purported caliber can expect to compete in the market for tourism with no mini bar in the room. Im so disappointed. I will not be back i prefer the other Aha hotel in Durban. Much more classy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 252dobby
Wendy N, Digital Marketing coordinator at The Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 252dobby Thank you for your review. We have semi self catering rooms and every room has a mini bar fridge and there is a surplus charge for a mini bar. Please can you kindly let us know if you have inquired about a mini bar?. Thank you Kind Regards Bradley Naidoo

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 22 December 2016

Breakfast menu: My fiance (it was his birthday) and I do not eat pork and beef. The buffet breakfast did not have any lamb or chicken and therefore we only ate eggs. I was told that the restaurant is privately owned so the hotel has no control over it. This is unacceptable as the rate per room includes breakfast so...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ari302016
Wendy N, Digital Marketing Coordinator at The Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ms Sohun Thank you for your comments. I do apologize for the lack of service that you experienced from the reception desk regarding your late checkout. I will take this up with the management that were on duty and ensure that corrective action is taken. We understand your frustration regarding the restaurant but unfortunately we do not have any...

109 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (56)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
0:30
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
3.2 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#4 of 41 in Durban
1,298 reviews
2.7 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
2.3 mi away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#13 of 41 in Durban
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
2.4 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#9 of 41 in Durban
399 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Three Cities Riverside Hotel and Spa offers 169 deluxe and standard bedrooms and suites with views of the uMngeni River, the Indian Ocean and the Durban North suburb. The bedrooms and suites are unique in terms of not only having all the regular comforts associated with a four-star hotel, but are also equipped with a kitchenette, complete with a microwave, a mini-bar fridge, cutlery and crockery. All room facilities include en suite bathrooms, air conditioning, telephones, colour televisions, analogue modem points, and power points for cell phones and laptops. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Riverside Hotel

Address: 10 Kenneth Kaunda Road, Durban 4065, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Price Range: £70 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Riverside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Durban
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Durban
#12 Luxury Hotel in Durban
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Riverside Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Riverside Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Some fine modifications required to keep water from flowing out of the showers onto the floor.”
 of 5 bubbles KevinNaidu, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Bed and pillows we're great, bed very comfortable, just the noise factor.”
 of 5 bubbles 441shauna, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“city views”
 of 5 bubbles kingsrest, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the South side have beautiful river views”
 of 5 bubbles Juanvv_13, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a river facing room.”
 of 5 bubbles GrantH490, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5