We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Duneside Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Duneside Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

14 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 12: English reviews
Boksburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at the Duneside in August having stayed there during March as well. Both rooms allocated to me on each visit were very comfortable, nicely furnished and clean. I especially liked the room this last time, situated in the breakfast room block, which had its own kitchenette and small comfortable enclosed patio area off the bedroom with lovely outlook... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael5807
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

This guesthouse has everything you need, my room had a decent size ensuite bathroom, a desk and chair to work on, and even a private balcony to enjoy some fresh air. Very clean establishment. Good variety of food available for breakfast.

Helpful?
Thank Voyager249
Richards Bay, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 December 2015 via mobile

My patner and I frequently visit richards bay and by far we find Duneside as one of the best Guest house. The staff is very welcoming and friendly. Their rooms are very clean,everything of theirs is always up to standards. It sure is a home away from home. Thank you Duneside for the best service that you always provide to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Anele H
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2015

I have stayed in Duneside a couple of times for longer periods. The guesthouse is excellent: the rooms are spacious, each has a deck or balcony, have everything you would need, with fast wifi, are clean, and give a cosy feeling like being at home.The gardens give a quiet and nice surrounding and offer the possibility to swim in one... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank NdR79
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2015

My partner and Myself had booked into this establishment on the Thursday the 12th of November. Unfortunately there was a black and there was no power. The rooms had poor ventilation, and there are no windows to open. The only option is the open the doors which raises security concerns. After having a poor nights sleep we enquired as to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jacques S
Carla H, Owner at Duneside Guest House, responded to this review

The owner did apologise to Jacques the morning after the all night municipal blackout that caused the inconvenience to the all the Guests. Unfortunately there are some circumstances that we can not control. However there are a few comments in Jacques review we need to comment on. The owner only stressed that the generator could not be run through the... More 

Benoni, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2015

The room's are pristine and each room has a private balcony! The gardens are beautiful and there is a super lounge/bar area for guests to sit in and relax. The food is excellent. It will definitely be my preferred place to stay when I visit Richards Bay again..

Helpful?
Thank 899gillian
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2015 via mobile

I received the rudest phone call from the so called "gentleman". I was enquiring about accommodation at dune side and the person on the phone told me that I should rather go look for accommodation else where. He was so rude and arrogant. This is definitely not a great way to talk to your customers, so unethical. Will NOT recommend... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jonika d
Carla H, Manager at Duneside Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Jonika, As per emails send around the 16 & 17 December a provisional booking was made for you as requested. To secure the booking we require a 50% deposit which was also indicated on the emails. We did not receive a deposit nor a reply to the email we sent enquiring what the status of the booking was. You... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2014 via mobile

We had another great stay at Duneside. The staff were welcoming, rooms near and clean and breakfast tasty. We will definitely continue to use this guesthouse with it's pretty gardens when in Richards Bay. Recommended for business or pleasure.

Helpful?
1 Thank LH1360
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We stayed at DuneSide Guest House for 2 nights. It was good choice. Breakfast was great. Room was clean and comfortable. Bed was great. We also had a small room with kitchen. We used laundry service and we were satisfied.

Helpful?
2 Thank R K
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We stayed at this guest house over new years and was pleasantly suprised. It has secure parking, the staff are fantastic, and the rooms are nicely laid out. They make use of an honesty bar and stock a good variety, there is also 2 swimming pools and a pool table in the lounge area. The a/c in the room was... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank TravelFundi2010

12 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meerensee
1.5 mi away
Imvubu Lodge
Imvubu Lodge
#1 of 1 in Meerensee
83 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Hotel The Richards
Premier Hotel The Richards
#2 of 8 in Richards Bay
110 reviews
4.2 mi away
Road Lodge Richards Bay
Road Lodge Richards Bay
#5 of 8 in Richards Bay
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Richards Bay Waterfront
1.9 mi away
Splendid Inn Bayshore
Splendid Inn Bayshore
#6 of 8 in Richards Bay
49 reviews
4.2 mi away
Seagull Lodge
Seagull Lodge
#1 of 8 in Richards Bay
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Duneside Guest House

Address: 29 Pipe Fish, Meerensee, Richards Bay 3901, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Richards Bay > Meerensee
Price Range: £51 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Duneside Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Duneside Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Duneside Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Find another place to stay”
 of 5 bubbles jacquess171, 17 Nov 2015 | Read review
“My room was upstairs overlooking the garden and pool and most of the rooms have the same outlook”
 of 5 bubbles 899gillian, 9 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Our room was very well located, first floor near the pool.”
  • View of rooms and pool
  • Our nice room
 of 5 bubbles rreicha, 12 Feb 2012 | Read review
3 of 3
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay