We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Redlands Hotel and Lodge

Save
Traveller (20)
Room & Suite (9)
Dining (6)
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Hotel_Review_Price_Refresh
Watch prices for this hotel.
We’ll alert you of any changes.
Sign up
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good38%
  • Average12%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“office park”(5 reviews)
“peaceful hotel”(2 reviews)
“great room”(2 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (135)
There are newer reviews for Redlands Hotel and Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
60
49
17
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
60
49
17
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoffice parkpeaceful hotelgreat roomlovely dinnerlamb shankroom was spaciousan affordable pricethank you very muchcurryexcellent serviceawesome staybusiness tripstay there againattention to detailwarm welcomeflakywifi
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
31 - 35 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2016

We have stayed at the Redlands Hotel on numerous occasions when travelling to PMB on business. We have always had excellent service and meals. We also use the Redlands Hotel for meeting clients when we are just visiting for the day and the staff always...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SusanSueb
Response from Redlands_Hotel, General Manager at Redlands Hotel and LodgeResponded 9 March 2017

Dear Susan. Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. Please accept my apologies for not responding sooner. Look forward to seeing you back at Redlands soon. Regards and best wishes. Paul and the team

Reviewed 10 November 2016

Good location No drinking water in the room No Min Bar No Coffee House keeping Staff keep harassing me to clean room even after i had the please don not disturb sign up Good Landry service Food was OkayMore

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank D8417RHnicolasr
Response from Redlands_Hotel, General Manager at Redlands Hotel and LodgeResponded 15 November 2016

Dear Nick. Thanks for taking the time to review Redlands Hotel. We are very fortunate in that the tap water in South Africa in general and Pietermaritzburg in particular, is of excellent quality and so we do not need to supply bottled water. These are...More

Reviewed 9 November 2016

I was not impressed with the facilities in the room. No porter or staff member to help with luggage in an end room. No hair dryer, no plug to charge phone, no TV channel guide, TV remote broken. No breakfast included with an expensive rate.More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank M9298WZamandaw
Response from Redlands_Hotel, General Manager at Redlands Hotel and LodgeResponded 11 November 2016

Thank you for your review. In order for me to follow up correctly. please can you e-mail me on gm@redlandshotel.co.za. Unfortunately due to privacy issues, I am unable to determine which room you were in or when you travelled. We do not have a porter...More

Reviewed 4 November 2016

Its difficult to say why I didn't love this place as nothing was wrong. The staff was friendly and the room was spacious and overlooked a beautiful pool. I found the furniture a bit drab and electrical outlets were limited. My three main tests of...More

Thank Ronald K
Response from Redlands_Hotel, General Manager at Redlands Hotel and LodgeResponded 11 November 2016

Dear Ronald. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry that we did not hit the spot in giving you a great stay. If you have any insight into what we could be doing better, please do not hesitate in...More

Reviewed 3 November 2016

We stayed three nights at Redlands and found the staff friendly and helpful, the suite (#12) extremely comfortable, and the surroundings very relaxing, with pleasant outdoor space for meetings with friends. We will definitely return to Redlands the next time we are visiting Pietermaritzburg.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank D223LRjeanh
Response from Redlands_Hotel, General Manager at Redlands Hotel and LodgeResponded 11 November 2016

Dear Jean. It was great having you back. Thanks so much for your feedback. Really good to know you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you in the not to distant future. Regards and best wishes. Paul

View more reviews
Best Value Properties in Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
See all 8 hotels in PietermaritzburgSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Airport Transportation
Dry Cleaning
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Minibar
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Outdoor pool
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$107 - US$137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$107 - US$137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (20)
Room & Suite (9)
Dining (6)
Pool & Beach (4)
Family and Play Areas (2)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Redlands Hotel and Lodge staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Rooms 1 and 6 overlook the car park, so quite noisy at times."
Read review
"Room 4 overlooks the pool area."
Read review
"Ask for a garden view"
Read review
"Arrive early to enjoy their dinner..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing