We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bushmans Nek Berg & Trout Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Bushmans Nek Berg & Trout Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 153: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Bushmans Nek has potential to become the ultimate holiday experience. This location in the Maloti Drakensberg provides an ambiance and serene beauty to the resort that cannot be described truthfully. However... The resort is dated and improvements are not done properly nor seen as a matter of urgency. Bathrooms in units are very old with mould and damp visible in...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mauritzk2017
First_Resorts, General Manager at Bushmans Nek Berg & Trout Resort, responded to this review

Dear Mauritz, Thank you for taking the time to review our property, I am pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for your insight on our units, we are working on all the concerns mentioned to ensure your next stay is even more memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were overwhelmed by the generosity of this resort. Small, intimate and familiar yet abounding in friendly staff, spacious rooms, abundant welcome table and excellent food. We were surprised to say the least. The decor, service, amenities and quality were outstanding not to mention location.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jodirobertson2015
First_Resorts, General Manager at Bushmans Nek Berg & Trout Resort, responded to this review

Dear Jodi, Thank you for taking the time to review our property and for the kind words. We are pleased to hear that we made your stay an unforgettable one, where we could not just meet, but exceed your expectations. We do hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future to enjoy our hospitality and magnificent views!...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

An amazing resort! We stayed in the log cabins which were a bit rustic but comfortable and had breathtaking views. The self catered cabins were well stocked and provided everything one would need including a very useful braai area. The facilities are great, the rock pool is awesome and almost a full length swim. Mini golf, squash, tennis, badminton, jungle...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daoud A
First_Resorts, General Manager at Bushmans Nek Berg & Trout Resort, responded to this review

Dear Mr Daoud, It always pleases me to share such positive feedback with the team. We are thrilled to hear we could make your stay a memorable one and one where everyone was kept entertained with all the facilities on offer. We do hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Johan Labuschagne

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We found the staff to be super helpful and extremely accommodating. Great views and lots for the whole family to do Our accommodation was very comfortable and although we were self catering the hotel food was also good. If the mountains are what pleases you then this is the place to go

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter N
First_Resorts, General Manager at Bushmans Nek Berg & Trout Resort, responded to this review

Dear Peter, Thank you for the review. I am ecstatic to hear we could make your holiday with us a brilliant one. We wish you, your family and loved ones a prosperous 2017 and we look forward to welcoming you back! Kind regards, Johan Labuschagne

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 11 December 2016

I haven't visited for 30 years and wasn't sure what to expect. My 10 year old daughter and I had a very happy stay. The staff are very friendly and efficient and enthusiastic. The pool is amazing. The view is amazing. The horse ride at New England Stud farm was just perfect. We unfortunately stayed in the worst of the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tamlynw2016
First_Resorts, General Manager at Bushmans Nek Berg & Trout Resort, responded to this review

Dear Tamlyn, Thank you for your review, We are pleased that you were pleasantly surprised with the resort after 30 years. I am also pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed our facilities on offer. Can’t wait to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards, Johan Labuschagne

Alberton, South Africa
Reviewed 21 November 2016

No problems. Maybe the bathroom water could be warmer in colder days. Beautiful view from the restaurant. Could not swim because of all the rain. The food was perfect! what else to say than everything was good and we enjoyed our stay there. Will definitely come again

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank pietervanellewee
First_Resorts, General Manager at Bushmans Nek Berg & Trout Resort, responded to this review

Dear Pieter, Thank you for your positive review on our resort. We cannot wait to welcome you back to enjoy our spectacular views food and facilities - hope next time you get to swim! Kind regards, Johan Labuschagne

Moate, Ireland
Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

I have stayed at another excellent First Resorts location and expected a similar level of quality. This has not happened at Bushmans Nek. To an appalling level. We arrived this evening at approx 6pm. We were given keys to our lodge, 4B. The lodge was absolutely not as advertised in your online booking. Far smaller and dirty. The sofa bed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Judi G
First_Resorts, General Manager at Bushmans Nek Berg & Trout Resort, responded to this review

Dear Judi, Thank you for taking the time this morning to discuss your concerns with me. I am disappointed in the service you received from the team as this is not the way I manage and run Bushman’s Nek and have addressed it accordingly. As we have moved you to a new unit that is to your liking I trust...

Warsaw, Poland
Reviewed 20 November 2016

Views from the dining room and deck are marvelous. In November there are many storms and one should be careful when hiking. The road to the hotel is dirt road and after storms there are many puddles along the way, so bucky would helpful.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 694filipd
First_Resorts, General Manager at Bushmans Nek Berg & Trout Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your valued review and highlighting our amazing view. As you mentioned, November is when our rainy season really starts and the points you make about hiking and the road are valid. We are pleased you had such a relaxing time with us and look forward to welcoming you back Kind regards, Johan Labuschagne

Scottburgh
Reviewed 17 November 2016

Arrived on a Monday afternoon, to be greeted by friendly, efficient staff and complimentary tea/coffee. Shown to our room which was very clean and we enjoyed a wonderful view of the mountains after unpacking. Next day I became ill and the management volunteered to collect medicine from the Underberg hotel for us,as they were going in anyway. Thanks a million...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank I9261YOrobertr
First_Resorts, General Manager at Bushmans Nek Berg & Trout Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It pleases me to hear that we made your stay a memorable stay even with the heavy downpour we experienced. We as a team aim to assist and ensure your stay is memorable and fetching medication for you was an absolute pleasure. I trust we will welcome you back in the not too distant future...

Villiersdorp
Reviewed 14 November 2016

Overall experience just the best! Rooms, staff, food, entertainment - all was excellent. Can only recommend the resort !!!!! It offers much more then one expects from a three star hotel! As it was raining on our arrival and you can only get to the resort via 35km of gravel road our car and trailer was very dirty - BUT...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 936gerte
First_Resorts, General Manager at Bushmans Nek Berg & Trout Resort, responded to this review

We are so pleased to hear that your time enjoyed with us was such a memorable one. I am glad to hear we exceeded your expectations, and that our service was even better than expected. We do hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Johan Labuschagne General Manager - Bushmans Nek

137 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (134)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Underberg
6.5 mi away
Gooderson Drakensberg Gardens Golf & Spa Resort
18.2 mi away
Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel
13.3 mi away
Khotso Adventure Farm
Khotso Adventure Farm
#3 of 17 in Underberg
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Lake Naverone Holiday Cottages
21.0 mi away
Umzimkulu River Lodge
Umzimkulu River Lodge
#2 of 17 in Underberg
258 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Old Hatchery
The Old Hatchery
#2 of 12 in Underberg
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bushman's Nek Berg & Trout Resort is a family resort located in the foothills of the Southern Drakensberg. The Resort has a combination of units, including hotel unit's a suite, self catering and log cabins. The open areas and incredible views make this destination a perfect choice for those who choose to relax and soak in the goodness of nature. Hiking trails, mountain biking, horse riding and rivers hosting trout in abundance make it ideal for the more adventurous. A beauty spa is located on site as well as our Bushpot Restaurant which offers an a la carte menu and weekly specials. Open for day visitors. With our friendly staff and warm hospitality we invite you to join us for a unique and exciting experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bushmans Nek Berg & Trout Resort

Address: Bushmans Nek Road | Southern Drakensberg, Underberg 3257, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Underberg
Price Range: £35 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bushmans Nek Berg & Trout Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Bushmans Nek Berg & Trout Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bushmans Nek Berg And Trout Resort
Bushmans Nek Berg & Trout Hotel Underberg
Bushmans Nek Berg & Trout Resort South Africa/Underberg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bushmans Nek Berg & Trout Resort staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Bushmans Nek Berg & Trout Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Garden access room was nice”
 of 5 bubbles 456santae, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Log Cabbins can be too noisy”
 of 5 bubbles Renette_Fur, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Cabin 7 has a tree in front so the view isn't the best.”
 of 5 bubbles Melinda39, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Plan your hikes in advance”
 of 5 bubbles garybT9312AL, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Any room overlooking the valley or mountains would be good”
 of 5 bubbles MikeSATraveller, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay