We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Fairmont Zimbali Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

760 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 717: English reviews
Amanzimtoti, South Africa
Level Contributor
103 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The rooms are amazing and I simply loved my shower. They have lovely rose scented toiletries which I fell in love with. The views from the breakfast venue are simply beautiful and the pools very inviting. I was slightly disappointed with the food, i expected a bit more in this regard, but the staff are very accommodating and overall it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michelle_Guy_100
cape town
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My sister and I stayed at the hotel for two nights. The hotel is located away from the hustle and bustle of the city so quiet nice for relaxing as it's on the beach and good for families with kids too. Breakfast was excellent aswell as the service we received. The pool gets a 10 out of 10 from me.... More 

Helpful?
Thank fazlinjacobs
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We had our family out from Italy and we took a family holiday. The rooms are very clean and spacious mostly sea facing. The house keeping staff are a bit abrupt and rude. Be careful of booking on the first floor as there are poor sea views especially in the suits. The fifth floor is reception and can be noisy... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alexia C
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear Alexia C Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are disheartened to hear that your stay at our Resort did not exceed your expectations. We are sorry that you did not have a good interaction with our housekeeping staff and we apologize for the challenges you faced with our WiFi. Our internet connection is currently being reviewed by our... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

There for business but great relaxing place. Good gym and spa. Good service and food at the restaurants. Loved the view from my room. Rooms too are large and luxurious laid out. Bar at the pool is great for evening drinks and its all a short drive from the airport which is great.

Helpful?
Thank danders212
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear danders212 Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted to hear that you were able to mix business and pleasure at our Fairmont Zimbali Resort and that you had a favourable and memorable impression of all of our facilities. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed our service delivery, dining options and our location,... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I hosted a group at Zimbali Fairmont Resort in November, and I was totally blown away by the beauty, organization and friendliness of the staff. One little hiccup of no communication, but after that all ran exceptionally smoothly. Claude was extremely friendly and helpful, Mandla at the Concierge's desk was fantastic in finding a "lost" box of clients gifts, Phumela... More 

Helpful?
Thank Helen M
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear Helen M Thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback with us. We are delighted that our staff left a lasting impression on you and we are pleased to hear that your event ran smoothly as a result. We will certainly pass on your compliments to our team and we thank you for your specific commentary allowing us to do... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I loved my stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Hotel and would definitely recommend it. I called the hotel directly to make booking at service was excellent. Thanks Yvonne. I hired a car and drove myself to the hotel. Check in was very efficient and staff very helpful and friendly. Loved the big spacious room with beautiful bathrooms. The views are... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fuzlin
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear Fuzlin Thank you for sharing your experience at the Fairmont Zimbali Resort. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and that you found our staff to be efficient and friendly from beginning to end leaving a lasting impression on you. We love our beautiful views and we are overjoyed that you took pleasure... More 

Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location, lovely rooms and pools and the poolside and overall service was really good. Lots of opportunity for walks in the estate and on the beach. We didn't enjoy the buffet at the Coral Tree restaurant at Zimbali. Ballito is close for shopping, swimming and restaurants.

Helpful?
Thank annelie_hattingh
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear annelie_hattingh Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our property from our overall surroundings to our facilities to our delivery service. We aim to create memorable moments for our guests and we are pleased that you had a wonderful stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Resort. We hope that you will... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Wow!!! Service has improved drasticaly at Zimbali this year. Porters were welcoming. Reception was warm and inviting. Staff were always prompt. Room service was meticulous. Housekeeping did not disrupt us. The gym equipment is clean and the spa is heavenly. Dinner at Coral Tree was fabulous. My partner and I were blown away by the service , the waiters and... More 

Helpful?
Thank SayedFarah
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear SayedFarah Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are ecstatic to hear that our Resort exceeded your expectations! We are happy that our staff left a lasting impression on you and that you enjoyed all our facilities including our gym, spa and restaurants. We are delighted that you enjoyed your culinary experience with us and to know... More 

Leeds
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really enjoyed the recent stay which began with a 5hour spa session which was incredible. The massage was the best! Speedy check in and the staff at the resort were friendly, helpful and efficient. The concierge had made a special effort for our anniversary which was a nice touch. Amazing setting and as it wasn't too busy we actually managed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joanne G
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear Joanne G Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Resort. We are glad that you had an incredible (and lengthy!) spa session and that your interaction with our staff left a lasting impression on you. We are also delighted... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice position and lovely pools and walks but you are not near the ocean and cannot swim in it if you do get a taxi down to it as the tides are dangerous. Nice rooms and decor. Buffet at Coral tree had quite nice food but served cold and puddings were below average. Valley of the pools is lovely with... More 

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Grayson99
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this review

Dear Grayson99 Thank you for sharing your valuable review with us. We are discouraged to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We are sorry that you experienced challenges during your visit at our hotel and we would like to apologize for any inconvenience you faced. We hope that you will give us another opportunity in... More 

455 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (391)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (56)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (35)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (93)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Other (143)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballito
1.3 mi away
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
#2 of 7 in Ballito
341 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,516 reviews
13.0 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#3 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
303 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ballito
93 reviews
13.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Fairmont Zimbali Resort

Address: PO Box 17, Zimbali | 4420, Ballito 4422, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Price Range: £119 - £347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Zimbali Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Zimbali Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Zimbali Hotel Ballito
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fairmont Zimbali Resort staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Fairmont Zimbali Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms on the upper floors have a good view. However, on the ground floor you can walk out onto the lawn.”
 of 5 bubbles Michelle_Guy_100, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Get a room with a view”
 of 5 bubbles danders212, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Sea facing rooms are spectacular”
 of 5 bubbles HelenM941, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We loved our sea facing junior suite which is really a lovely big flat with a huge covered veranda.”
 of 5 bubbles annelie_hattingh, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“sea views deluxe room”
 of 5 bubbles Shube1, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay