We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

262 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 179: English reviews
Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 2 January 2016 via mobile

We were a group of 3 families so we took up all of the space of this small lodge for 5 days. The lodge staff was outstanding -- very welcoming, in great spirits, and frequently made us laugh. We could not imagine there being better guides. A little biased because we saw the Big Five a few times over including...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brett A
inkbos, Public Relations Manager at Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Brett A - Thank you for sharing your Hoyo Hoyo experience and apologies for the delay in responding. We're thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, including your "Big Cat Christmas"! And of course we're honoured that you would recommend Hoyo Hoyo to future travelers.

Reviewed 25 November 2015 via mobile

What a wonderful three days we have just spent at this lodge. TK and her staff were attentive to detail and our experience there was without a doubt exceptional. The butlers Nicholas and Given were on call every second of the day delivering faultless meals. We were constantly being fed or offered something to drink. Our field/ game guide Suiteboy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart D
inkbos, Public Relations Manager at Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Stuart D - Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your bush break at Hoyo Hoyo Safari Lodge. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and we are honoured that you would recommend Hoyo Hoyo to future travelers.

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 8 November 2015 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at Hoyo Hoyo and really enjoyed our stay. The staff was excellent and the food was pretty good. Our room was cozy and provided a good place to recharge after being out on the game drive. Only complaint we had, and no fault to Hoyo Hoyo was that we didn't see as much wildlife during some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Derek-Sylvia
inkbos, Public Relations Manager at Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Derek-Sylvia - Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your stay at Hoyo Hoyo Safari Lodge and we're thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We do hope you'll visit again in the future when hopefully some of the wildlife will be a little less elusive!

Switzerland
Reviewed 23 October 2015

We spent a couple of nights there, and we were amazed by the wildlife around the lodge. The facilities have a water hole very close by, which allows you to spot many animal (elephants, hyenas, warthogs, buffalos and event leopard and rhinos if you're lucky) while having your breakfast, lunch or diner. The game drives were excellent and we saw...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gege77coventry
inkbos, Public Relations Manager at Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear gege77coventry - Thank you for posting your review of your stay at Hoyo Hoyo Safari Lodge. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you has such excellent game viewing.

Vantaa, Finland
Reviewed 4 October 2015

Service was excellent by all the hosts all personal was very very friendly . Place was excellent you can watch elephants drinking Water at same time you are sitting in Hoyo Hoyo terass. Our guide was Ralph big guy. He was excellent really he found all the animals And more than expected .we had excellent birthday party to my wife...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kari1961
inkbos, Public Relations Manager at Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Kari1961 - Thank you for posting your review and we are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with the wildlife and people of Hoyo Hoyo. We hope you will visit again in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sugar Land, Texas
Reviewed 18 September 2015

While this was our first visit to South Africa and our first safari, we have traveled all over the world and I have to say that the service here rates in the top 5 on my list. We had an absolutely fantastic time. All the staff, to name a few Ralph, Nicholas, Henry were just amazing and took great care...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vnileshwar
inkbos, Public Relations Manager at Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear vnileshwar - Many thanks for your review of your safari experience at Hoyo Hoyo Safari Lodge. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at Hoyo Hoyo, and humbled that you would recommend us to fellow travelers.

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 2 September 2015

Did not know what to expect before arrival. This was a packaged small group tour so we relied on our tour operator heavily. Found ourselves in a wonderful natural environment although the outdoor and open shower unit was initially daunting (but thrilling at the same time). The staff and safari guide were excellent and catered for all needs. A small...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank rickandval2015
inkbos, Public Relations Manager at Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear rickandval2015 Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Hoyo Hoyo. We're really pleased to hear that you greatly enjoyed your African adventure and that you had such good wildlife viewing from the lodge.

Boston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2015

we had a great, comfortable and all round exceptional time at the lodge. And our amazing game driver THEMBA exceeded all expectations and managed to get us a sight of all the animals we wanted to and more.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank santfamily
inkbos, Public Relations Manager at Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Hi santfamily, Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Hoyo Hoyo. We’re thrilled that you had such a great time and our ranger Themba was on fire in terms of finding wildlife for you. Hopefully he’s kept a few animals in reserve for your next visit.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 31 August 2015

Hoyo Hoyo was our first stop on our African adventure. The rooms are very cute and comfortable and separated enough so that you do not hear or see other guests. Outdoor shower was great and lots of hot water. It was cool in the mornings but nice and warm during the day and evening. The food was great and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael2042
inkbos, Public Relations Manager at Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Michael2042 Thanks for taking the time to review Hoyo-Hoyo. We're delighted that you enjoyed the accommodation and staff and that you had such productive game drives. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 30 August 2015

Well Hoyo Hoyo...what an experience. We travelled during peak winter in August 2015 as a family of 3 with a child aged 8 ½ years old. To start with, we had a bit of delay in entering KNP from Orpen Gate approx @ 5:50pm (well past beyond official time) but the lodge admin made sure a Mr. Bradley - our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MilindTrivedi
inkbos, Public Relations Manager at Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear MilindTrivedi - We're really grateful to you for taking the time to write your review of Hoyo Hoyo - thank you. We'll pass on your greetings to the individual staff members you mention in your review - they'll be thrilled to know that they were able to contribute to your enjoyment of your stay. Thank you again, and do...

250 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (240)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (69)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (105)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
2.1 mi away
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
#51 of 170 in Kruger National Park
289 reviews
2.1 mi away
Imbali Safari Lodge
Imbali Safari Lodge
#53 of 170 in Kruger National Park
364 reviews
12.8 mi away
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
#1 of 6 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
152.6 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#50 of 170 in Kruger National Park
112 reviews
6.5 mi away
Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps
Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps
#2 of 6 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
278 reviews
9.2 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#14 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set on the banks of the Mluwati River, in the Kruger National Park, this unique lodge boasts a breath-taking blend of ethnic luxury, encompassing both warmth and style. Hoyo Yoyo Safari Lodge offers an intimate atmosphere with only six luxury African suites, each with king sized bed, en-suite stone bathrooms, outdoor shower and private game viewing decks.All 6 traditional African suites are air-conditioned and have en-suite bathrooms with antique baths and outside shower. Children over the age of 8 years are welcome and are accommodated in their own room.Welcome drinks on arrival, butler service, spa treatments in the privacy of your room, safaris in 4x4 vehicles, bird watching, self drive in the Kruger National Park, guided safari walks by prior arrangement.The Lodge is situated in a malaria area. Gate entry fees are applicable and are charged per person per stay.Rates indicated are per person sharing per night. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge

Address: PO Box 196, Skukuza, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Price Range: £343 - £589 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoyo-Hoyo Tsonga Hotel Kruger National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Wirral, United Kingdom

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all rooms are great!!”
 of 5 bubbles 67palakm, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Close to the waterhole”
 of 5 bubbles kariNorway, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“there are only six huts at the lodge and all are secluded.”
 of 5 bubbles ANNEKNIGHT1956, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Best location & view”
 of 5 bubbles PratapPal, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
“ask for a room with clear view of the water hole”
 of 5 bubbles rhondap91, 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5