We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Aan De Vliet Holiday Resort

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (114)
Room & Suite (27)
Pool & Beach (16)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 3 resorts in Hazyview
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Situated in the picturesque Sabie valley on the banks of the Sabie River, AAN DE VLIET FAMILY HOLIDAY RESORT is 8 kms from Hazyview and 20 kms from the Kruger National Park (Phabeni Gate). Self-catering chalets can accommodate 2-5 guests. We also cater for Functions, Weddings and Conferences. Main Property/Accommodation Description : 3 Types of Units are available. STREAM Units (suitable for a couple), RIVER Units (max 4 to 5 guests) and GARDEN Units (max 4 or 5 guests). Units are all self-catering with outdoor Braai areas. NO Televisions in the units. In-room Facilities : All units have air conditioning and ceiling fans. Each bathroom has a shower, basin and toilet. Kitchens are equipped with a gas stove, microwave oven and a fridge. Main bedrooms have double beds. 2 single beds are built-in in the dining area. Facilities on Site : 2 Outdoor swimming Pools (Main and Toddler) / Children's Play area / Picnic spots next to the Sabie River / Indoor Bush Pub / Lounge with Television / Breakfast Room / 2 Halls for Functions, Conferences and Weddings / River Lapa / Tuck Shop
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Breakfast available
Hiking
Billiards
Children's playground
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Conference facilities
Secured parking
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Outdoor pool
Canoeing offsite
Darts
Fishing
Table tennis
Tennis court offsite
Board games / puzzles
Kids pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Convenience store
Newspaper
Picnic area
Shared bathroom
Shared lounge / TV area
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Dining area
Housekeeping
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Walk-in shower
Kitchenware
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
River View
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Zulu
845Reviews3Q+A19Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 340
  • 338
  • 104
  • 40
  • 23
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
alanthethinker1 wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
The Hotel and grounds are beside the Sabie River. Where the rooms are closest to the river and around much of the rest of the property one is protected from wildlife by electric fences. Entry to the site is through a security gate which has independent exit via a keypad but monitored entry from the reception desk. 38 of the rooms are Rondavols and the remainder are more conventional. As a resort for peace and quiet it excels. For those requiring entertainment to be laid on then this has its limitations.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Estelle Viljoen, General Manager at Aan De Vliet Holiday Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Alan The Thinker 1 Thank you for your review, I will share your feedback with my team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Aan de Vliet in the near future. Kind regards Estelle Viljoen General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
shayne101sa wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
Nice quite and tranquil place on the river and away from the city noice. Beautiful bird life all around. Friendly staff and a nice big pool to relax in. Rooms very clean with air-conditioning and all the amenities you need.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
pnedoh355025 wrote a review Mar 2024
Johannesburg, South Africa1 contribution
we loved everything is the best resort i would not mind to visit again and again we had great time everything was perfect the environment and the staff are so freindly and helpfull we enjoyed our stay
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Estelle Viljoen, General Manager at Aan De Vliet Holiday Resort
Responded 5 Mar 2024
Dear Pnedoh355025 Thank you for your review, I will share your feedback with my team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Aan de Vliet in the near future. Kind regards Estelle Viljoen General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Keags wrote a review Feb 2024
London, United Kingdom3 contributions
This is a beautiful property with a lot of potential, but it seems the place has become quite stingy. There was a sign and instructions not to fiddle with the geyser. But we had NO HOT WATER for the duration of our stay. There was not even the basics sugar/tea/coffee/salt. No soap in the shower. I know it's self catering but there are basics that are supplied. I found the pillows very hard and there's almost NO signal at the rooms. For the price I think you could do better. The property and pools are beautiful and set along the river. This has the potential to feel like a treat with a few adjustments.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Estelle Viljoen, General Manager at Aan De Vliet Holiday Resort
Responded 1 Mar 2024
Dear Keags Thank you for your review, I will share your feedback with my team. I do apologize for the inconvenience caused by the fact that you did not have any hot water during your stay with us. I will take this up with maintenance manager to ensure this does not happen to any of our other guests. I can assure you the signage is not to inconvenience anyone but to try assist our guests on how to operate and work with the gas geysers. Regrettably we don't put the above-mentioned items in our chalets because we are a self-catering establishment, however we do sell milk, tea, coffee and sugar in our little shop at reception. Due to the constant loadshedding we are experiencing now in South Africa the cell phone signal towers are taking extreme strain especially in our region, this is something we don't have any control over. We try our best with the generator that kicks in almost immediately when the power goes on to avoid any further inconvenience to our guests. Once again I would like to apologize for any inconvenience you had with us. Kind regards Estelle Viljoen General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
bev p wrote a review Feb 2024
Vancouver, Canada36 contributions10 helpful votes
Great swimming pool. Bar was nearby. Food was good. Close to Kruger national park. We had a dance group in and they were really good. Friendly people. Rooms were like a traditional house. Very friendly. We had a bathroom, kitchen and a bedroom. Good accommodation. Prices were reasonable.REally enjoyed staying here. Would come back.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Estelle Viljoen, Other at Aan De Vliet Holiday Resort
Responded 22 Feb 2024
Dear Bevp744 Thank you for your review, I will share your feedback with my team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Aan de Vliet in the near future. Kind regards Estelle Viljoen General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Saider05 wrote a review Feb 2024
Mbombela, South Africa1 contribution
Everything was smooth, very easy at an affordable price. It was easy to locate, it was not my first time booking in a place but it really felt like a first time as always. The place welcomed us with a greener lovely nature, amazing staff and great service. I am surely going back again. Even the manager was kind given my late call, he understood that I had to call. A lovely HAKUNA MATATA board on our way out, loved it.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Estelle Viljoen, Other at Aan De Vliet Holiday Resort
Responded 5 Feb 2024
Dear Saider05 Thank you for your review, I will share your feedback with my team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Aan de Vliet in the near future. Kind regards Estelle Viljoen General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
cmosa721037 wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
Awesome place. Scenery is amazing. Rooms are nice. Please only add tv’s in the rooms Everything else was on point. Looking forward to coming back with my wife and kids. They will love the play area and the pools.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Estelle Viljoen, General Manager at Aan De Vliet Holiday Resort
Responded 29 Jan 2024
Dear Cmosa721037 Thank you for your review, I will share your feedback with my team. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Aan de Vliet in the near future. Kind regards Estelle Viljoen General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tibby_theHun wrote a review Jan 2024
Sydney, Australia10 contributions4 helpful votes
Very disappointed. We booked a triple as it was for my mum and myself travelling with my toddler. We paid around R1600 a night for 5 nights and I believe this is the max price so we were shocked to see only 1 bed in the chalet when we checked in. We immediately asked if there was anything available with 2-3 beds and we were told that there wasn’t - which we thought was odd but we were exhausted driving all day. I don’t think it’s reasonable to spend that much money and share a bed (we did the first night and no one got much sleep). The next day we asked reception again about whether we could get an extra bed of if they had anything with more beds (after checking online) and we were then shown a different cottage with extra beds (!), however - the cottage was quite basic with no TV or wifi - they were available online for R500 a night. Why we weren’t shown these at the start is strange. We feel that we were lied to about what was available so they could charge a higher rate. I questioned the price I was told no refunds and not even offered a credit or an explanation as to why we were told there was nothing else avail at the time of check in (before we paid). We felt deceived - perhaps so we could spend more money and stay in a more expensive chalet despite the bed situation not being suitable for us. The staff and facilities are decent so it’s really disappointing about the rooms / rates and the way management dealt with this situation - very unprofessional. I would suggest going elsewhere or booking online to get a decent rate and have confirmation of the type of chalet and the bed situation - best to avoid dealing with reception / management. We will not be back.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Estelle Viljoen, Other at Aan De Vliet Holiday Resort
Responded 31 Jan 2024
Dear TIbby_theHun Thank you for your review, thou it is very disappointing to hear your experience with us was not to your liking. I will take immediate action on your complaints to ensure this never happens to any other guests. I would like to humbly apologize for everything that went wrong and the way in which my team treated you. I do hope that after our telephone discussion earlier this week you would consider giving Aan de Vliet a second chance to show you we really do care and value all our guests. Kind regards Estelle Viljoen General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
jshiri641958 wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
The place was peaceful and tranquil! Very clean and nice view of the river. My family enjoyed the stay and will go back soon! Cutlery and all utensils provided in the Bungalow, that made life very easy!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Estelle Viljoen, Other at Aan De Vliet Holiday Resort
Responded 5 Jan 2024
Dear Jshiri641958 Thank you for your review, I will share your feedback with my team. We hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards Estelle Viljoen General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
moiponem204 wrote a review Jan 2024
Pretoria, South Africa1 contribution
We had a very peaceful family outing with very helpful and friendly staff. The place is very neat and quiet. Outstanding place I liked the patio, the fact that we were able to have a braai when it's raining.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Estelle Viljoen, Other at Aan De Vliet Holiday Resort
Responded 5 Jan 2024
Dear Moiponem204 Thank you for your review, I will share your feedback with my team. We hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards Estelle Viljoen General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hazyview area.
PRICE RANGE
£39 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaMpumalangaHazyview
NUMBER OF ROOMS
44
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

AAN DE VLIET HOLIDAY RESORT - Updated 2024 (Hazyview, South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about Aan De Vliet Holiday Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Aan De Vliet Holiday Resort?
Nearby attractions include Elephant Whispers (4.8 miles), The Elephant Sanctuary (2.0 miles), and Perry's Bridge Reptile Park (4.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Aan De Vliet Holiday Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, free parking, and meeting rooms.
Which room amenities are available at Aan De Vliet Holiday Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a refrigerator, and a dining area.
What food & drink options are available at Aan De Vliet Holiday Resort?
Guests can enjoy breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Aan De Vliet Holiday Resort?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Aan De Vliet Holiday Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tanks Bush Pub, Kuka Café, and Pioneer's Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Aan De Vliet Holiday Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Aan De Vliet Holiday Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Aan De Vliet Holiday Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Afrikaans, and Zulu.
Are there any historical sites close to Aan De Vliet Holiday Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Shangana Cultural Village (5.7 miles).
Does Aan De Vliet Holiday Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.