Umbhaba Eco Lodge
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Umbhaba Eco Lodge

R40 Road 1Km outside Hazyview, Hazyview 1242 South Africa
Traveller (132)
The newly opened Umbhaba Eco lodge
Room & Suite (38)
Benedict's eggs were divine.
Dining (21)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#7 of 17 lodges in Hazyview
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Introducing the new Umbhaba Eco Lodge. Under new ownership and new management, Umbhaba is being completely renovated and will be reopening on the 1st of October 2019.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free internet
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Free breakfast
Baggage storage
Chapel / shrine
24-hour front desk
Ironing service
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Room features
Housekeeping
Safe
Bottled water
Room types
Bridal suite
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Mid-range
81Reviews0Q+A6Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 57
  • 18
  • 5
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Avi Lujan wrote a review Mar 2020
Rohnert Park, California
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay at Umbhaba is nothing short of amazing! I would highly recommend if you are staying in Hazyview!

The rooms are larger than we expected, and have raised ceilings! The decor of the main living space and bedroom have a very authentic African feel to it. The bed also comes with netting, so you can close it at night and feel confident any bugs will stay away. The bathroom is very spacious, and has a more modern feel to it. The shower has a waterfall head, and is very large! I was very please with the restroom. Plus! We had a huge deck that over looked the lake, and made for such a pretty view to watch the sunset and sun rise.

The AC in the room is pretty strong, and cools the bedroom area down almost instantly. I am also pretty pleased with the strength of the WiFi! You can be anywhere on the grounds, and have no problem connecting, and it is very quick! This is great because my husband and I like to plan tours and a majority of our vacation once we are already at our destination.

Everyone working on the grounds is very friendly, and very helpful. Joshua had helped us at the restaurant for lunch, as well as at the bar, and was very friendly, and fun to have conversation with.

The pool is so amazing! It feels like paradise, and is so relaxing to just lay out and enjoy the day.

If you did not rent a car (like us), they have Uncle I’d transportation available, and they will call him down to take you where ever you need to go.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from KurtSafariCo, General Manager at Umbhaba Eco Lodge
Responded 17 Mar 2020
Thank you for the review we glad you enjoyed your stay and we will continue to ensure great service and strive to improve on an already great lodge, safe travels
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ramon L wrote a review Jul 2023
Oxford, United Kingdom
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
A really good lodge and base whilst visiting Kruger!

We stayed here for 3 nights whilst doing Kruger and the Panorama route. Our stay was all arranged by Kurt Safaris (whom we did our safari) so everything is included as a bundle so I do not know how much the hotel rate was.

The hotel is set on a hill with beautiful views and sunsets. All the rooms are set overlooking ponds set to reflect watering holes. The gardens were just stunning. The hotel also has a lovely small pool. Although we went in the depth of winter, given the relatively high temperatures during the day, by the afternoon you can have a pleasant swim after your safari.

The rooms were well appointed and sparkling clean. You sleep under mosquito nets, although we found, that at least in winter, there were hardly any. I found it quite touching that in our room there was a picture of Sara women from Chad, and an explanation as to why the tradition of wearing big plates in their mouths (which sadly stems from the days of the slave trade).

Staff at the hotel were friendly and efficient. Michael, the manager, always greeted us and made sure everything was fine. Food at the restaurant was good, with dinners and one lunch included as part of the safari rate. Dinner consisted of a buffet, with a very nice spread of hot food, which included plenty of vegetarian options. The offer changes each night, so you do not feel you are eating the same thing night after night.

As part of the safari we had two sunrise safaris, so we got breakfast packs. These were very plentiful. Their sit down breakfast was also great. Although their continental offer is a bit sparse, the cooked breakfast, which was made to order, more than makes up for it.

The hotel has clearly undergone some major renovations as everything looks new and sparkling, and they are very proud of the hotel being run by newly installed heat pumps. However, This comes with some teething issues, with water in the shower coming lukewarm at best. However, given how mortified the manager and owner appeared, I am sure this will be resolved in no time.

All in all a great stay and good base for Kruger!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sara D wrote a review Apr 2023
Doswell, Virginia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My daughters and I stayed here during our trip to Kruger National Park. It is a charming hotel. It is clean and well-maintained. The grounds are really pretty and are well landscaped. The staff was friendly and went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and happy. There's a small pool that my daughter really enjoyed. The rooms were spacious and included a living area and balcony. The bathrooms were updated and clean. The room has a small refrigerator and television with access to cable channels. Overall, we were very comfortable here.

Beware that if you are coming from a major metro area in the United States and enjoy strong wifi and cellular service, you might find yourself frustrated at times. The wifi signal in the hotel rooms seems to vary based on the location of the room on the property and was not strong in one of the two rooms we occupied. To be fair to the hotel, some of problem is not unique to the hotel and is true, generally, of this location. Cellular service is "spotty" around the park area, in general. However, I discovered that if you need a strong wifi signal at the hotel, such as for file sharing, etc., if you work from the hotel's main lodge, the signal is much stronger. The staff graciously gave me a place to work and made me feel comfortable when I needed to use my computer.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Erna E wrote a review Mar 2020
Cape Town Central, South Africa
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We spend 5 nights at Umbhaba Lodge.The setting is amazing ! We stayed in a superior room overlooking the dam. Wish they had relied on the natural beauty of the surroundings rather than creating artificial waterfalls and dams. While the staff were generally friendly and keen to help they would benefit from hospitality training. Ullin was very good and very helpful! Our room seemed clean but I found the previous guests clothing in the cupboard..... Breakfast was slow and okey.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from KurtSafariCo, General Manager at Umbhaba Eco Lodge
Responded 17 Mar 2020
Thank you for the review, we took over the lodge in October 2019 and did huge renovations, we kept most of the old staff and currently improving daily on service and day to day running of the lodge, the Dams we cannot change and as its region with very little rain we happy with any water on the property. We will continue to improve and hope when you return on day things will have greatly improved.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tess wrote a review Jul 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My parents and I stayed at Umbhaba Eco Lodge last November during our 3-day safari. This was part of the package booked with Kurt Safaris. The rooms are very nicely decorated and are big. They had every facility we could think of (electricity adapters, mosquito spray, fridge, safety box, pool, private balcony...). It was very calm and they welcomed us very warmly. The staff was very nice, friendly and professional. The food at dinner was delicious! It is very close from Kruger which makes it very convenient to stay while on a safari. I would recommend it!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Klaus G wrote a review Feb 2020
Pretoria, South Africa
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The Umbhaba Eco Lodge, so called because it tries to reduce its reliance on electricity by having no fridges or TVs in the rooms, is a nice lodge. The lodge has been renovated, but unfortunately that caused some roofs to leak during rain. The staff were friendly and the reception and check in went smoothly. The rooms are adequate but the veranda is small, I could not sit on my chair right against the wall when it rained as the rain from the roof fell onto my lap. The aircon did not work and despite 6 calls to reception to fix could not be fixed before we left. Another shortcoming in my opinion is that there are no covered walkways in case of rain.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from KurtSafariCo, Director of Sales at Umbhaba Eco Lodge
Responded 16 Feb 2020
Hello Klaus There was abnormal rainfall in the Kruger over the 2 days you were at the lodge, being a new lodge we were unaware of leaks as we have had very low rainfall this year, the rooms were repaired as its a new thatch this does happen but we sure this is now 100% water tight. We unaware of a aircon that is not working and was most likely a setting on the remote as we have all new Air-cons thought the property, all rooms have been tested and all Aircons are working correctly, we have taken it up with management on why this was not resolved the same evening and do apologise. Thank you for the comments on the lodge being a nice lodge, we working on improving the lodge in the near future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
J. P. Grobler wrote a review Mar 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The lodge changed ownership in October 2019 and has under gone a complete refurbishment. The place has become a jewel of an establishment. The lodge is set in a tranquil, secure location, 15 minutes from the Numbi gate. The staff are friendly and welcoming, the rooms extremely comfortable, and the food is a slice of heaven. Well recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from KurtSafariCo, General Manager at Umbhaba Eco Lodge
Responded 17 Mar 2020
Thank you for the review we glad you enjoyed your stay and we will continue to ensure great service and strive to improve on an already great lodge, safe travels
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Freddy wrote a review Jan 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a very lovely stay! Rooms are very spacious, clean and luxurious! Blessing, the manager on duty, made sure that we were always spoiled beyond belief. All the staff really made an effort that you always feel welcomed. Would always come back !
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jesica wrote a review Jul 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I stayed at Umbhaba Eco Lodge in January 2020 before the COVID Crisis began and we were very happy with the accommodations and the service we received. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, equipped with a powerful AC unit and large bath tube. The grounds were well kept and the dinning lodge was nice and new and most importantly the staff was very friendly accommodating. I would have no hesitations returning to this lodge or recommending it to friends.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Willie Malherbe wrote a review Oct 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Professional staff who are willing to assist. Superior room was clean and tidy, I would prefer more table space. Lights in the room are subdued. Bathroom newly renovated. Bed was moderate to hard the mosquito net was a bonus. TV, fridge and AC was operational. View over the pond is amazing with abundant birdlife. Restaurant food was good with proficient waiters. Swimming pool was clean. Free wifi was available at a moderate speed.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Superior room overlooking the pond.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Kucica433 wrote a tip Sept 2023
Perth, Australia4 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Everything was just perfect. "
Read full review
Firefly78 wrote a tip Aug 2023
Ridgewood, New Jersey279 contributions31 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"You may have a bit of a walk from your room to the main building."
Read full review
TOJEP wrote a tip Nov 2022
Eden Prairie, Minnesota42 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a suite overlooking the pond."
Read full review
HarryVCanada wrote a tip Apr 2022
Cochrane, Canada38 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Choose a Superior Room as it isn't much more than a regular one. Corner room is best."
Read full review
Willie Malherbe wrote a tip Oct 2020
2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Superior room overlooking the pond."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hazyview area.
PRICE RANGE
£76 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
umbhaba lodge & restaurant hotel hazyview, umbhaba lodge and restaurant
LOCATION
South AfricaMpumalangaHazyview
NUMBER OF ROOMS
43
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

UMBHABA ECO LODGE - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Umbhaba Eco Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Umbhaba Eco Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Elephant Whispers (2.4 miles), The Elephant Sanctuary (2.4 miles), and Perry's Bridge Reptile Park (1.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Umbhaba Eco Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, breakfast buffet, and free internet access.
What food & drink options are available at Umbhaba Eco Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Umbhaba Eco Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tanks Bush Pub, Kuka Café, and Pioneer's Grill.
Are there any historical sites close to Umbhaba Eco Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Shangana Cultural Village (2.6 miles).
All Hazyview HotelsHazyview Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in HazyviewHotels near Umbhaba Eco Lodge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire