We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Pestana Kruger Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Pestana Kruger Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

331 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 202: English reviews
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

The overall service was fine, nothing to pick on. The meals we had (breakfast and dinner) were tasty and there were always much to choose from. For early morning safaris, we were given breakfasts bags containing a hard-boiled egg, sandwich, an apple, a banana, a bottle of water and some small pastries. It was fine for one breakfast but the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Suss86
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Once you are here, have your room and you make sure that ALL of your safaris are booked this is a GREAT place to stay. I had a lot of trouble booking my stay here and safaris and was told 3 times that everything was booked and in order - when nothing was! BUT with a little work everything finally... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vivian K
PKL_Manager, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pestana Kruger Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Vivian K Thank you for choosing Pestana Kruger Hotel and to sharing your experience with us. We are very happy to note that you have enjoyed your stay but, as we believe that the best can be improved, we will continue always in search of improvement so that in future we can not only meet your expectations but exceed... More 

Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
158 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here in late October 2016 for a week of safari. The hotel is made up by one main building with the front desk, bar and restaurant and a number of separate buildings each with living units. It is a great hotel and the main building's terrace provides a perfect view of the activities in and around the river... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kim C
PKL_Manager, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pestana Kruger Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Kim C Thank you very much for submitting your review about your stay where you share your experience at the Pestana Kruger Hotel. Our biggest aim is to ensure memorable holidays to all our dear guests, and your rewarding words are the best incentive for all the team. Thank you very much for your contribution and recommendation. We look... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Location beautiful, hotel desperately needs refurbishing. House-keeping with no supervision - beds terrible. Restaurant menu seems to be repeating every second day and food does not get replenished until staff is asked. On arrival on a very hot day we were told we got an upgrade. Our chalet air-con was not working, Safe not operational, wifi not working. After complaining... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fredstrauss
PKL_Manager, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pestana Kruger Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Fredstrauss Thank you for taking the time to gives us your opinion about our facilities and services. Unfortunately we didn’t met at all your expectations. kindly accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience. Kindest regards More 

Travellers are raving about these Malelane hotels

Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2016

This hotel is in a great location but it falls short in many ways. First of all common logistics, communication, staff shortfall, and cleanliness. Our room facing the river was in a great spot for viewing however the floor was dirty faded pictures bathroom ceiling had no lighting obviously had had a problem as was boarded over. Re: communication. Basically... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh Y
PKL_Manager, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pestana Kruger Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mr., Thank you for choosing Pestana Kruger and to sharing your experience with us. We are very happy to note that you have enjoyed your stay but, as we believe that the best can be improved, we will continue always in search of improvement so that in future we can not only meet your expectations but exceed them. We... More 

Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Just spent 3 nights there. Pros : Friendly staff, management Great viewing deck Good value for money Very close to Malalane Gate Cons : Mosquitos in the rooms - all the time. Despite our requests to management to fumigate nothing got done and our kids got eaten alive. Awful beds - pillows are terrible, old and just awful really. Sheets... More 

Helpful?
Thank SeeF00d
PKL_Manager, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pestana Kruger Lodge, responded to this review

Dear SeeF00d Thank you for taking the time to gives us your opinion about our facilities and services. Unfortunately we didn’t met at all your expectations. kindly accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience. Best Regards More 

1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Just completed our third stay at this hotel after travelling from the UK for extended photo shoot. I read reviews from many clients which vary tremendously and wonder why some people really enjoy their stay whilst others end up upset and dissatisfied in their stay. Lets get things straight...this is Africa. Leave your expectations of five star luxury at home... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ken H
PKL_Manager, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pestana Kruger Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Ken H We have received your comments regarding your most recent stay at our hotel and that were passed to the whole team. We appreciate the time spent for filling it as it is with the feedback from our customers that we can evaluate and improve the quality of our services. We were naturally pleased and willing to do... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2016

The Pestana Kruger Lodge is very well situated with fantastic views of the river and national park, but the hotel is VERY run down and in urgent need of maintenance. The room we were in had tiles missing and coming off in the shower. The safe was also missing in our room, we contacted the reception on numerous occasions and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark T
PKL_Manager, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pestana Kruger Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mark T Thank you for choosing Pestana Kruger and to sharing your experience with us. We appreciate your comment since we will always continue in search of improvement so that in future we can not only meet your expectations but exceed them. Your comments will be passed to the whole team and we hope to see you back soon... More 

Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2016

The physical facility is top-notch : wonderful views of a slow-motion river populated by waterboks, corcs, and hippos. But these guys totally suck at making a visitor feel at-home! We had safaris leaving at 6 AM every day. Coffee was available in the main lodge, but no real food (just some truly pathetic excuses for biscotti...) They would (for a... More 

Helpful?
Thank NoFe2O3
PKL_Manager, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pestana Kruger Lodge, responded to this review

Dear NoFe2O3 Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about our hotel with other people. We took note of all your constructive comments about our services, facilities and staff. We sincerely regret we did not meet your expectations in some aspects. Should you give us another opportunity to show you our high standards of services, where no efforts will... More 

Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

They have a very nice location with beautiful views. It is a kind of bush meets tropical lodge. Lovely bungolos and walking trail areas. Nice activity centre and waterslide. Good restaurant and deck area.

Helpful?
Thank Kiara B
PKL_Manager, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pestana Kruger Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Kiara B Thank you very much for your excellent comments in Tripadvisor. Your opinion is very important to the Pestana Kruger Hotel and to other guests. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future. Regards More 

229 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (220)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (75)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (83)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malelane
3.3 mi away
River House Lodge
River House Lodge
#5 of 11 in Malelane
72 reviews
5.9 mi away
Buhala Lodge
Buhala Lodge
#1 of 10 in Malelane
262 reviews
3.0 mi away
Rio Vista Lodge
Rio Vista Lodge
#3 of 11 in Malelane
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Kambaku River Lodge
Kambaku River Lodge
#2 of 10 in Malelane
58 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kruger View Chalets
Kruger View Chalets
#4 of 10 in Malelane
54 reviews
17.9 mi away
Bushwise Safaris
Bushwise Safaris
#3 of 30 in Marloth Park
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Graded TGCSA 4-star, Pestana Kruger Lodge is situated 700 meters away from Malelane Gate, the most southern entrance to the Kruger National Park. The Lodge is surrounded by 22ha of indigenous gardens and bush with magnificent views of the Crocodile River, which forms the border with the Kruger National Park. Accommodation comprises 74 well-appointed rooms, all with modern facilities. The Lodge is a great choice for families wanting a relaxing holiday in the African bush. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pestana Kruger Lodge

Address: R570 Riverside Road | 150 meters from Malelane Gate, Kruger National Park, Malelane 1320, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Malelane
Price Range: £88 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Kruger Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Pestana Kruger Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Kruger Hotel Malelane
Pestana Kruger Lodge Malelane, South Africa - Mpumalanga
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pestana Kruger Lodge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Pestana Kruger Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose the room at the Lion complex.”
  • View from the room.
 of 5 bubbles Suss86, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Upgrade for a nice view of elephants”
 of 5 bubbles Windfeld-C, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Opposite the crocodile river.”
 of 5 bubbles 649leighy, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go for superior room if river view is an essential”
 of 5 bubbles kenh860, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid if possible or be first to the buffet.”
 of 5 bubbles marktO8838SN, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay