We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Old Vic Traveller's Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Old Vic Traveller\\
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

133 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 108: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Dave and Bella were wonderful hosts, and this is a great facility! Our room was clean and comfortable, and there great options around the property for sitting and talking with others in groups or for individual conversations, as needed! I would look forward to going back and spending another week at Old Vic's!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
krugerandmore, Owner at Old Vic Traveller's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for this great review. thank you for enjoying our Backpackers. We would love to have happy people like you here any day. Thanks Dave and Bella

Manzini, Swaziland
Reviewed 1 week ago

This place is so gorgeous and the staff was very hospitable! I felt so relaxed and comfortable here! I will definitely be returning and I will be recommending Old Vic's to everyone. Dave and Bella are amazing people and I loved getting to know them through my stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank worldracer2017
krugerandmore, Owner at Old Vic Traveller's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for these kind words. My wife Bella works hard at The Old Vic so it is great to hear how happy you were. See you soon.The staff are grateful to your group for listening to them ,taking their advise on Kruger etc.Thanks Thanks Dave and Bella

Tirana, Albania
Reviewed 1 week ago

We just wrapped up a 4 day stay with a large group (50 of us). Dave and Bella and their staff were phenomenal! They bent over backwards to help us with everything from taxis to food recommendations to which clinic to go to - you name it, they had the best information! I cannot recommend this place highly enough. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mattalbman
krugerandmore, Owner at Old Vic Traveller's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you. These kind words mean a lot to us ,thank you for staying in a backpackers and enjoying it for what it is. It was great to show you Kruger and also to help you with your travel plans. Thanks and hope to see you back here again one day. Dave and Bella

Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

We expected a bad experience based on the reviews we read, but to out surprise it wasn't that bad, or rather it didn't bother us much because we were always out we just went back to sleep. Yes they don't allow alcohol in the premises, and they have rules like any other place however they're not as rigid as we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kabelo N
krugerandmore, Owner at Old Vic Traveller's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you. You are some of the first South Africans who have stayed in a backpackers and appreciate it for what it is. Yes every place has rules thus we try to make it enjoyable for all who stay with us Thanks Dave

Bedfordview, South Africa
Reviewed 22 August 2016

On arrival, we were told that it was not a hotel it was a backpackers place with bar only. Deposit was required for keys - strange. When we were shown to our rooms, we thought the gentlemen was joking. it consisted 2 double bunks in corner and a double bed in centre of room. No showers on suite only a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank bill966
krugerandmore, Owner at Old Vic Traveller's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our Backpackers. Yes we are a backpackers and know where do I ever state anything differently. It is clearly marked on all websites as a backpackers. You stay with us over the weekend of the rugby a busy time and booked a en suite room for 560 rand which had a double bed...

New York
Reviewed 21 August 2016

Old Vic Travellers Inn is well maintained with dorm beds in cramped rooms (R160) and ensuite rooms (R 460). The large outdoor area has tables and a open-sided thatched area. The communal kitchen could use the addition of utensils/pots/pans and the shared bathroom can certainly do with a lot of TLC. The biggest drawback is the location, far from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anon N
krugerandmore, Owner at Old Vic Traveller's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you

Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewed 19 August 2016

Backpackers style, lots of rules in the property, the manager isn't very flexible. The rooms are ok, the number of bathrooms to dormitories isn't sufficient and the not enough facilities. Have free parking.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank guigavis
krugerandmore, Owner at Old Vic Traveller's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you

Reviewed 28 April 2016

Old Vic's is a great backpacker and mid-range property! I stayed here for five days in 2014 and one day in 2015. GREAT PLACE to meet avid travelers! GREAT PLACE to socialize (although it is NOT a party place - - the bar is fun during sporting events!). Dorms, regular rooms and a full house are available to rent --...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LadyLawyerTraveler
krugerandmore, Owner at Old Vic Traveller's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you

Reviewed 17 March 2016 via mobile

What a sad experience was this! The room was good and the hospitality of the staff couldn't be better. They were very friendly and helpful. BUT... The manager of this place made it an awful experience. We couldn't believe how bad she is treating her staff. I felt sick afterwards.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dorien S
krugerandmore, Owner at Old Vic Traveller's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for review. It amaze me that you not happy with the manger you still give a negative review rating after stating the staff were good and the rooms were good. I am the owner Dave , I know my staff are happy working at the Old Vic and also know under pressure every one re acts differently ....

Rome, Italy
Reviewed 11 February 2016

I booked with them a tour and there were no other tourists that day, so I had to pay more. The next day they found another and I went with him to Kruger park and to the Blyde river canyon. They gave me back the difference and I don't know how many agencies would have done the same. Excellent guides...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank giovannirome2016
krugerandmore, Owner at Old Vic Traveller's Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for this review.It was a pleasure to look after and the refund was as per our word. Thanks Dave

101 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (46)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (35)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelspruit hotels
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Promenade
BEST WESTERN Hotel Promenade
#13 of 19 in Nelspruit
39 reviews
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
2.6 mi away
Mercure Nelspruit
Mercure Nelspruit
#7 of 19 in Nelspruit
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Town Lodge Mbombela
Town Lodge Mbombela
#9 of 19 in Nelspruit
38 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
La Villa Vita Nelspruit
#2 of 19 in Nelspruit
242 reviews
2.2 mi away
Zebrina Guesthouse
Zebrina Guesthouse
#7 of 68 in Nelspruit
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience the South African Lowveld like never before ……Kruger and More caters for the international traveller visiting Southern Africa. Our accommodation is suitable for South African sport groups, families, couples and single travellers. We are situated in Nelspruit, the capital of Mpumalanga, and will accommodate you with real South African hospitality. Crazy Dave (who did the travel thing himself for 4 years) and Bella believe in comfort and value for money. We Offer: Accommodation Travel Desk Tours in and around the Big 5 countryside. Car Rentals Adventure Trips . ... more   less 

Additional Information about Old Vic Traveller's Inn

Address: 12 Impala Street, Nelspruit 1200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Price Range: £14 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Vic Traveller's Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Old Vic Traveller's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Old Vic Traveller's Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Old Vic Traveller's Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in room 4 - use the blackout curtains after dark to block the light from the motion-activated light on the steps opposite.”
 of 5 bubbles Mattalbman, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms attached to the building housing reception are newer and better equipped.”
 of 5 bubbles anonn256, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“They had a nice suite superior to all of the rooms”
 of 5 bubbles guigavis, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Look at several rooms before deciding. Ask how many people will be sharing the dorm.”
 of 5 bubbles LadyLawyerTraveler, 28 Apr 2016 | Read review
“We chose an en suite. Why would you not????”
 of 5 bubbles Jeleeman, 1 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5