We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

59 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 49: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

While the hotel reception and restaurant area are impressive and looks the part, I definitely cannot say the same about the rooms. We stayed in room 448 which is apparently nothing like the rooms discribed in the rest of the reviews of the hotel...very tiny, outdated and noisy. The shower head has 4 streams of water, horrible tv signal and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kady A
Petra D, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington, responded to this review

Dear Kady Thank you for taking the time writing a review for us. I am truly sorry that we did not live up to expectations. As you probably noted, we are busy upgrading rooms and had a large conference in-house. This left us very short of rooms and as your reservation was only made at 18h00 on the day of... More 

SOUTH AFRICA
Level Contributor
222 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2016

This hotel was well situated in the town, close to the Orange river. Ideal to walk up the main street and come back close to the Orange river. Also found that the bar prices were expensive which another reviewer also commented on.

Helpful?
Thank BARRYBE
Petra D, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington, responded to this review

Dear Barry Thank you for your positive comments; much appreciated. Kind regards Petra Operations Manager More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Friendly hotel staff, clean rooms, relaxing atmosphere, good affordable for breakfast, lunches and dinner. Ideal stop over on your way to Namibia or Kgalagadi National Park. Caters for families. Visit local towns like Keimoes and Kakamas. The Augrabies Falls National Park, which is a must to see is less then an hours drive from Upington. Beautiful vineyards and wine estates... More 

Helpful?
Thank HRH80
Petra D, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive comments. We look forward to having back at our hotel soon. Kind regards Petra Deja Operations Manager More 

Howick, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2016

We stayed as part of a tour group. The room we were given was brilliant. Big, comfortable and overlooking the Orange River.The hotel has free Wi-Fi. The set-up with the bar is a bit strange in that you sit in the lounge on one side of a courtyard but then have to walk across the courtyard to get to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank John S
Petra D, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington, responded to this review

Dear John GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with Protea Hotels is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were delighted to receive your commendations about the service and food offered. I did however investigate the drinks... More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2016 via mobile

My stay at the hotel was not what I expected, the rooms are nice, spacious and clean. The pool area is nice to relax after a days work or go to the gym. Some of the staff are very helpful and friendly...when i arrived I had to ask where to park my vehicle, for wifi, what time do they serve... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roczanne H
Petra D, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington, responded to this review

Dear Roczanne We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF you commended for their exemplary service. We will certainly address the service at the reception. I can assure you, should you stay at Protea Hotel Upington again, that every effort will be made to ensure that you enjoy our true hospitality! Please do not... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2016

The hotel is in the last phase of renovation. It is now up to the latest modern style and looks and feels great. I used the restaurant as I was staying at the sister hotel Protea Oasis across the road. The POS of the two hotels are linked which make it easy to eat, drink and us facilities across the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Abraham B
Petra D, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington, responded to this review

Dear Abraham B Thank you so much for taking the time in giving us some feed back - we really appreciate the positive comments. We hope to have you back in Upington soon. Kind regards More 

london
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2016

We stayed for merely 1 night en route back from the Kgalagadi before travelling onwards to Kimberley. The position of the hotel in Upington could have hardly been bettered - situated alongside a beautiful stretch of the Orange river; but it was spoiled by a past extension of the car park which was, we were told, previously given over to... More 

Helpful?
Thank pinnerguys
Petra D, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington, responded to this review

Dear Pinnerguys Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted to read your comments re the hotel's location, rooms and communal areas however truly sorry to about the dinner buffet. Feedback is imperative for us to ensure that our GUESTS’ expectations are being met and exceeded. Without your comments, we would never know when we are doing right, but more... More 

Travellers are raving about these Upington hotels

Magaliesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
130 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2016 via mobile

There are many more lovely little B and B s to choose from at half the price so if you feel like being adventurous rather do that. However the choice of food is not to good in this town so the restaurant on the hotel might save you. It does have everything but lacks that extra touch I always look... More 

Helpful?
Thank hekpoortheksie
Petra D, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington, responded to this review

Good Afternoon We always strive at all times to meet and exceed our GUEST ‘s expectations, however this is very difficult where a person has not actually been a checked in GUEST with us and is reviewing solely from a perception of the physical property. As we appreciate that a full service hotel rate is not in everyone’s budget, our... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2016 via mobile

I feel home away from home at Protea hotel. Friendly and helpfull staff and the GM always go out of her way to make you feel special. Highly recomend it. Booked in advance and also able to help you on last minute bookings. That ever need they cater for you nothing too small or to big

Helpful?
Thank Jacob B
Petra D, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington, responded to this review

Dear Jacob It is always great to read a positive review - thank you for taking the time in giving us this feedback. We strive at all time to exceed expectations. We hope to see you back in Upington soon. Kind regards More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2016

A Very Beautiful hotel on the more popular side of the river, Great location for shops and exploring the city. Breakfast was excellent but busy but that's to be expected in a popular hotel. Upgraded to the courtyard (swimming pool) Which was a bonus as right near our room it had a very relaxed atmosphere with constant food and drinks... More 

Helpful?
Thank willem272
Petra D, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington, responded to this review

Dear William We are delighted to hear that you had such a great stay with us. Thank you taking the time in giving us such positive feedback. We hope to see you back soon!! Kind regards Petra Deja Operations Manager More 

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Upington hotels
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington Oasis
0.0 mi away
River City Inn
River City Inn
#2 of 6 in Upington
12 reviews
3.9 mi away
Desert Palace Hotel And Casino Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
River Place Manor
River Place Manor
#1 of 67 in Upington
253 reviews
14.7 mi away
Oranjerus Resort
Oranjerus Resort
#2 of 16 in Upington
71 reviews
4.0 mi away
Browns Manor
Browns Manor
#3 of 67 in Upington
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Protea Hotel Upington - Peace and Tranquillity on the banks of the Orange River. Set on the edge of the Kalahari Desert and overlooking the mighty Orange River, the Protea Hotel Upington is a welcome haven for weary travelers. Positioned in the heart of the CBD, this hotel is within walking distance of all the banks, shops and local restaurants. This hotel is an ideal base for exploring popular sites such as the Kgalagardi Trans frontier Park, Orange River Wine Cellars and the Augrabies Fall National Park. The Namibian border is a mere 120km from Upington making this hotel the ideal place to stay over. The hotel has well-appointed, fully air-conditioned rooms. Modern en-suite bathrooms, satellite TV with 16 channels, tea/coffee making facilities and mini-bar fridges are featured in all rooms. A modern cocktail bar and restaurant overlooks a courtyard with swimming pool. The hotel also has a fully kitted gym with state-of-the-art equipment and for those that want to stay in shape whilst away from home. The Courtyard Bar and Restaurant will fill your tanks at breakfast and they are open for lunch and dinner as well. You will need your energy for activities in the area like golf, canoeing, tennis, squash and watersports. Wireless connectivity is ensured throughout the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington

Address: 26 Schroder Street, Upington 8801, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Upington)
Region: South Africa > Northern Cape > Upington
Price Range: £59 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
1 month ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott Upington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“try and get a room with a view over the orange river”
 of 5 bubbles BARRYBE, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“ask for room overlooking the orange river”
 of 5 bubbles Burny1, 20 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Ask for River view rooms. I had a renovated old room. Not nice to shower in the bath tub”
 of 5 bubbles HeinOtt, 18 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Best amongst the rest”
 of 5 bubbles navnithp, 1 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Pick a room that faces the front parking lot.”
 of 5 bubbles LisaHarvey136, 16 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay