We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Onyx Hotel

57 Heerengracht Street, Cape Town Central 8001 South Africa
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (116)
Room & Suite (27)
Pool & Beach (17)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#33 of 116 hotels in Cape Town Central
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Onyx, the newest addition to compliment Newmark’s award-winning Cape Town hotel collection, is a rare and precious property in the city’s Foreshore precinct. Within walking distance to the Cape Town International Convention Centre and it’s close proximity to the Cape’s top tourist attractions, the avant-garde and leading-edge Onyx commits a complete offering to it’s guests.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car park
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Trendy
Languages Spoken
Afrikaans
184Reviews5Q+A28Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 132
  • 37
  • 9
  • 1
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Flyer40077622721 wrote a review 14 Feb
1 contribution
The hotel was very nice, clean, located in a great area that was close to many attractions. The staff was amazing. They were so polite, friendly and very helpful. They went above and beyond to make sure your stay was great, anything you need all you have to do is ask. Simon and Randall were especially top notch. They were the epitome of good customer service and they made our stay truly unforgettable, we will definitely go back!!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Theunie Marais, General Manager at The Onyx Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Flyer40077622721 Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Onyx after your stay with us. The team and I are thrilled to learn that you had a memorable stay with us and that the dedicated team took such great care of you. Thank you very much for the kind comments on some of the team members this will be shared with the team accordingly. We sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future. Kind Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sarah p wrote a review 11 Feb
11 contributions3 helpful votes
We really enjoyed staying at The Onyx Hotel! We were warmly welcomed by the concierge, who told us how to access the secure car park, and by the friendly receptionist. Our room was very spacious with a big comfortable bed, blackout curtains and a full kitchen including large fridge, microwave, cooker, crockery, glassware etc. Bathroom had a huge shower but otherwise was somewhat cramped. Breakfast was lovely, cooked to order and served by cheerful waitresses. We were a bit disappointed that our room only had a view of office blocks and a car park but this is a small niggle as we were out all day. Hotel had a lovely bar deck (with a view!) and a small heated plunge pool. Location is great for walking to the city sights or the waterfront during the day but is not really safe to walk around at night - anyway there aren't any restaurants nearby. It's a short drive to underground Silo/MOCAA waterfront car park or you can get an Uber at night. During the day, the red tour buses stop nearby. If we visit Cape Town again, we'd love to return to The Onyx!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: To access car park, drive past front of hotel then turn left then left again into side street. ...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Theunie Marais, General Manager at The Onyx Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear sarahpK8474YA Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review on your recent stay with us. The team and I are thrilled to receive your review and learn that you enjoyed your time with us along with all the facilities we have to offer accompanied by service with a smile. We sincerely hope that we will welcome you back for another memorable stay in the near future. Kind Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Natasha F wrote a review Jan 2024
Essex 13 contributions3 helpful votes
We headed to Cape Town to start our honeymoon and this hotel was in great location. Easily walkable to the V&A and other local restaurants in the area. Lovely friendly staff, very clean and great choice of food for breakfast and dinner. Highly recommend
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Theunie Marais, General Manager at The Onyx Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear TashieF2001 Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Onyx after your recent stay with us. The tam and I are thrilled to learn that you had a memorable start to your honeymoon and that the dedicated team took such great care of you. Thank you very much for choosing the Onyx to start off this special holiday. We sincerely hope to welcome you back again in the near future for another memorable stay. Kind Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Laura R wrote a review Jan 2024
Manchester, United Kingdom5 contributions4 helpful votes
Fabulous hotel. The staff are amazingly friendly & helpful. Of particular note are Randall & Amie. Nothing was too much trouble to help or advise on any issue. Facilities are great. Rooftop pool is lovely & and good place to relax after a busy day and before heading out for the evening. Hotel is well located with an Uber costing about 50- 60 rand (taxi 100- 120 rand) to get to V&A waterfront. The free breakfast at MRKT cafe is superb. The Texan breakfast was particularly tasty. Room was well furnished with large fridge freezer in kitchen area. Perfectly large enough if you wanted to prepare any food. Though Cape Town is full of very reasonably priced restaurants. All in all a great hotel & thoroughly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Theunie Marais, General Manager at The Onyx Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Laura R Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Onyx after your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to receive your review and learn about your memorable stay with us. Thank you very much for the special mention of some of the dedicated team members this will be shared with the team accordingly. We sincerely hope that we will welcome you back again for another memorable stay in the near future. Kind Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
TMEO wrote a review Jan 2024
Viken, Sweden47 contributions2 helpful votes
We ordered the suit with 2 rooms. Large balcony, nice sized rooms, nice lounge area, room was in great condition, nice bathroom and overall room was very nicely styled. Fabulous stay and we will definitely be back. Reception and checking was smooth. Breakfast was downstairs in the coffee shop, setup was not great as there were external paying customers and it is not your typical hotel breakfast buffet setup. This I will skip next time. Pool area with bar was well worth a visit. There is a view of table mountain when relaxing in the heated pool. Close enough to Waterfront, CPT central.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Parking available
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Theunie Marais, General Manager at The Onyx Hotel
Responded 13 Jan 2024
Dear TMEO Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Onyx after your recent stay with us. The team and I are thrilled to receive your review and learn some more about your memorable stay with us. Always gives us great joy when our valued guests enjoy all the services and offerings of The Onyx. We sincerely hope to welcome you back again in the near future for another memorable stay. Kind Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Richard wrote a review Jan 2024
Scarborough, Australia326 contributions49 helpful votes
+1
We stayed here for 10 days firming out recent trip to South Africa. The room was spacious, great bed and even a little kitchen. The staff are friendly and service during our stay was high. Recommend the Yu and Mkrt restaurants to eat at and there is easy alwalking access to the water front. We stayed in a studio king bed and it had plenty of room for the extended stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Theunie Marais, General Manager at The Onyx Hotel
Responded 13 Jan 2024
Dear Rick6100 Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Onyx after your recent stay with us. The team and I are thrilled to receive your review and learn some more about your memorable stay with us. Always gives us great joy when our valued guests enjoy all the services and offerings of The Onyx. We sincerely hope to welcome you back again in the near future for another memorable stay. Kind Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
B3914DBericaw wrote a review Dec 2023
6 contributions1 helpful vote
Wow this hotel exceeding my expectations . I was traveling for a birthday trip and came across this hotel . Glad I picked it . Very quiet but full with everything you need. I even treated myself to the spa which I never do , it was amazing . Great customer service all the way around . Thankful for the staff making my stay pleasant , I will be back .
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Theunie Marais, General Manager at The Onyx Hotel
Responded 18 Dec 2023
Dear B3914DBericaw Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Onyx after your recent stay. The Team and I are thrilled that you have chosen the Onyx to be a part of your special day and learn that the dedicated team took such good care of you. We sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to celebrate many more special occasions with you in the future. Kind Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Julie C wrote a review Dec 2023
4 contributions
We spent 5 nights in this Hotel this week, we had a one bedroom apartment which was very clean and well equipped and had a great view of Table Mountain You can easily walk to the Town or Waterfront in 10 to 15 minutes. We had a slight issue with the air con which was rectified. Every member of Staff we met were so helpful and welcoming. Lovely place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Theunie Marais, General Manager at The Onyx Hotel
Responded 16 Dec 2023
Dear C6942UCjuliec Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Onyx after your recent stay with us. The team and I are thrilled to learn about your memorable stay with us and that the dedicated team took such good care of you. We sincerely hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Kind Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Steffen S wrote a review Dec 2023
Kornwestheim, Germany114 contributions75 helpful votes
The Hotel is located next to the Convention Center (ideal for conference participants), public transport (Adderely Station, 5min walk) and downtown (20min. walk). The staff is very friendly, whereas the management is rather rigid and overly professional. I stayed in a generously equipped apartment (coffee maker, refrigerator, fully equipped kitchen) in the 10th floor with view to the Table Mountain (190€ per night/conference rate). The room was very clean, but the bathroom was tiny. Unfortunately there was no roof-top terrasse/bar/relax-space. The only area taking advantage of the beautiful view is a bar, where you are obliged to consume drinks. The breakfast is a mix of "a la carte" and buffet and meets high standards. Fresh, healthy (friends of greasy British breakfast also find their options!) and nicely presented. Late-check-out (beyond 12:00PM) was refused unemotionally without compromises- except for a charge of 50% daily rate. All in all an overpriced location in Capetown, with an international/professional flair and management. More flexibility, welcoming, African charme and adaquate prices would definitely upgrade this location.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Theunie Marais, General Manager at The Onyx Hotel
Responded 5 Dec 2023
Dear 208steste Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Onyx after your recent stay with us. The team and I are very happy to learn about your stay and the many positive experiences that you had during your stay. We are also glad that you took the time to point out some of the areas which you feel we can improve upon. This is vitally important for us in order to always strive to improve and meet our valued guests' expectations. We hope that you had safe travels to your next destination and sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
JohnandTricia wrote a review Nov 2023
Scotland103 contributions183 helpful votes
Spent 3 nights here after touring. Hotel sits between the city centre and the V&A waterfront and you can reach both in a 10 minute walk but in the immediate vicinity are only other hotels and a Burger King, so you need to think ahead about where you want to eat at night. Our apartment was a good size, lots of space in separate bedroom, lounge with cooking facilities, shower/toilet room and a large storage closet. Comfortable bed and furnishings with all the expected tv/AC/iron/hairdryer, so a good a good base for the city. Ours faced parking area at side but not an issue for us. Hotel has small pool but you need to take any towels etc you need from your room, no changing facilities. Breakfast in the MKT restaurant provided a very good selection although a bit crowded. We didn't use the Yu restaurant which is oriental cuisine. Staff were helpful and friendly, whole hotel kept very fresh.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Theunie Marais, General Manager at The Onyx Hotel
Responded 1 Nov 2023
Dear Johan and Tricia Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Onyx. The team and I are thrilled to receive such a detailed review on your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the service of the dedicated Onyx Team. We sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future. Kind Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cape Town Central area.
PRICE RANGE
£82 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeCape TownCape Town Central
NUMBER OF ROOMS
106
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE ONYX HOTEL - Updated 2024 (Cape Town, South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Onyx Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Onyx Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Artscape (0.2 miles), Zip Zap Circus School (0.3 miles), and Cocoon (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Onyx Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at The Onyx Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Onyx Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Onyx Hotel?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Onyx Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Col'Cacchio Foreshore, YU Restaurant, and Food Lover's Eatery Icon Building.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Onyx Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Does The Onyx Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, The Onyx Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The Onyx Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the centre of Cape Town Central.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Onyx Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Onyx Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.