We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Forty8 Backpackers Hotel

Save
Share
Traveller (14)
Room & Suite (17)
Dining (1)
Overview
48 Hout Street, Cape Town Central 8001 South Africa See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Bar/Lounge
Housekeeping
Free Parking
Breakfast included
4 Star accommodation
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
21
35
21
8
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
21
35
21
8
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslong streetcity night lifehome away from homeexcellent stayloungecbdcleanliness
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The staff here who greeted me where really friendly and welcoming, so thank you! My room was nice and cosy but quite small for a double. Perhaps through error of my own, I didn't realise that the room didn't come with it's own bathroom. If...More

1  Thank AlexiRose
Reviewed 15 April 2018

The room to small for 6 ladies to change clothing. Very hot no ventilation. Poorly lighted. Could not getup to top beds no ladders. Very noisy outside. No plug s for hairdryer or to charge phone or tablets. Most of all no secure parking.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank srpamgurah
Response from Forty8backpackers, Front Office Manager at Forty8 Backpackers HotelResponded 19 April 2018

Thank you so much for your valued review we will take it to consideration.

Reviewed 9 April 2018

The hotel was honestly ok I love the cleanliness of the bathrooms however I do feel they can improve on the private room furniture and cleanliness. For example our room (Room 10) has this red arm chair that is dirty you would not want to...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pnkomo271582
Response from Al-Jay D, General Manager at Forty8 Backpackers HotelResponded 10 April 2018

Good Day Nkomo Firstly thank you for your valued review, we try and strive to deliver you the client our very best service at all times. we will take your comments very seriously and attend to these issues you have raised. Thank you once more...More

Reviewed 20 March 2018

We were very impressed with the Forty8 Backpackers Hotel. The staff was friendly and assists us with everything. We had a beautiful room and really has no complains. The location is perfect and everything is in walking distance. We will most definitely return to the...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank williamssue454
Response from Forty8backpackers, Receptionist at Forty8 Backpackers HotelResponded 27 March 2018

Thank you very much for your valued review we would be happy to see you with us again. Kind regards, Forty 8 Backpackers

Reviewed 8 March 2018

I booked at forty8 backpackers using booking.com 20 minutes before arrival. Upon arrival I was informed my credit card was already charged. The following day 5000ZAR of fraudulent charges were made on my card from a sporting goods store down the road. Since this was...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rizzo000
Response from Forty8backpackers, Receptionist at Forty8 Backpackers HotelResponded 27 March 2018

Thank you for your valued response we will take it to consideration. Kind regards, Forty 8 Backpackers0

View more reviews
About
Description
Welcome to Forty8 Backpackers Hotel, TGCSA 4 Star - Graded accommodation. It is a luxurious and affordable backpackers hotel located right in the heart of Cape Town's Central Business District next to the famous ...More Long Street. Long Street in Cape Town is renowned for it's abundance of street shops, cafe's, bars, pubs, clubs and restaurants. Forty8 Backpackers is well known for its unique elegance, you won't find trendier economical accommodation near Cape Town's hotspots than our comfortable backpackers hotel. We cater for all travellers from solo or groups visiting Cape Town domestically or internationally as we have rooms to accommodate up to 50 people. Our backpackers hotel is under new Management, newly refurbished and modernized. We focus on great service, a clean space, safety and a friendly attitude. When you travel to Cape Town make sure to visit us. We cater for adventurers of all ages including backpackers, students and groups and we have taken special care to cater for our guests needs. You will find a well catered for environment to make your stay hassle free. We have a snack bar, FREE internet access (including Wi-Fi), a Communal Lounge and Kitchen, laundry facilities and free tea and coffee. Forty8 Backpackers has 6 Bedrooms Dormitory style ranging from 4 beds, 6 beds, 10 beds and 12 beds in a bedroom and 3 Private Double bedrooms. A Dormitory room consists of double bunk beds and the Double room with Double beds. The Bathrooms are shared one for the Females and the other for the Males. We are open 24 hours, 365 days a year. At the reception you can obtain travel information, tour bookings, safety box and a laundry service. We have our own shuttle services that offer Door-to-Door pick-up and drop-off, Meet and Greet services at Cape Town International Airport, Tours and Transfers to and from different places and destinations. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pool
Beachfront
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Spa
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
11
Price range
US$18 - US$47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Forty8 Backpackers Hotel Cape Town, South Africa
Location
South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
11
Price range
US$18 - US$47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Forty8 Backpackers Hotel Cape Town, South Africa
Location
South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Photos
Traveller (14)
Room & Suite (17)
Dining (1)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 114 hotels in Cape Town Central
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square
140 reviews
.07 miles away
Grand Daddy Hotel
403 reviews
.07 miles away
Southern Sun Cape Sun
1,129 reviews
.08 miles away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
913 reviews
.13 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 1,257 restaurants in Cape Town Central
cafe Roux Cape Town
140 reviews
.09 miles away
madam taitou
180 reviews
.07 miles away
Fork Restaurant
1,847 reviews
.08 miles away
Tiger's Milk on Long
456 reviews
.06 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 737 attractions in Cape Town Central
Kabura Travel & Tours
152 reviews
.08 miles away
Greenmarket Square
1,170 reviews
.05 miles away
Iziko Koopmans-De Wet House
31 reviews
.08 miles away
Green Point Market
52 reviews
.07 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Forty8backpackers
4 November 2016|
Answer
Response from Forty8backpackers | Property representative |
how can I improve my ranking on Tripadviser
0
Votes
Room Tips
"family room if you alone dormitory room"
Read review
"private rooms are quieter"
Read review
"Private rooms are great value, only a few available."
Read review
"private rooms are quiet"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing