We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction

Booking.comUS$130*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

594 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
See the most recent reviews
Showing 508: English reviews
Waldorf, Maryland
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Beautiful hotel and within walking distance from the V&A waterfront. Clean and modern. Wifi is restricted to 500 mb per day, Enricco was nice enough to extend my wifi service for me. You can get bkst within your rate. Hotel does provide shuttle service to the airport for a fee.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kiana T
PHVJ-GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this review

Dear Kiana T, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the high level of service and comfort that we are proud to offer our VALUED GUESTS. We are glad that you liked our modern rooms and that you had the opportunity to enjoy all the activities...

Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for several nights as part of a Gate1 tour and was very pleased. The room was quite spacious with a desk and nice flat screen TV. The bathroom was nice and clean with good water pressure in the shower. The dining room is nicely appointed. The breakfast buffet was very good with a nice variety of hot...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Midwesterner44
PHVJ-GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this review

Dear Midwesterner44, Thank you for your exceptional feedback after your stay at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction! We are so happy to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us and that you found our rooms, breakfast and service up to standard. We will ensure that the TEAM receive your special recognition to continue to motivate...

Reviewed 5 September 2016

Stayed at the loft as part of my Honeymoon in Dec 2013. Very welcoming, excellent service and hotel. Very well kept and spacious loft with two bathrooms. Great breakfast and location, I will definitely return

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mohammed H
PHVJ-GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this review

Dear Mohammed H, We are delighted to hear that you celebrated your honeymoon with us and we are happy to hear that we have managed to exceed your expectations. Your recommendation is highly valued and we have taken the liberty to share your comments with the rest of our TEAM. We hope to welcome you back in the near future....

Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

I got the feeling this hotel now relies on its position and reputation for "funky" decor to maintain its occupancy rates. No complaints about the facilities and room itself, but I was really disappointed with service. Room service was a shocker , taking an hour and 20 mins to bring a hamburger despite 3 phone calls. No apology to speak...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
PHVJ-GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this review

Dear Susan S, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor. On behalf of the management and STAFF at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, I would like to apologise most sincerely for your unacceptable service experience. We are currently in the process of reviewing the matter and can assure you that your feedback...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 2 September 2016

Modern, contemporary furnishings in a full-service hotel. Staff was especially helpful with all of my requests (extra pillows/blankets/bag assistance). Breakfast had plenty of options and bar staff in the evening was very welcoming!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashley L
PHVJ-GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this review

Dear Ashley L, We are so pleased to hear that you had an pleasurable experience with us, thank you for the positive feedback you have given us. We are delighted that you found the staff helpful and the Chef will be pleased to hear that you appreciated our buffet breakfast. We pride ourselves on only delivering the highest quality of...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Stayed overnight. Under hotel parking. Check-in excellent - staff very helpful and professional. Got a room upgrade. Bar open till 11pm but bartender stayed longer to serve us another round. Staff knowledgable and very friendly. Room spacious and decor bright and lively. Bathroom was small but adequate. Bed was very comfortable. Loft type room had excellent view and had kitchen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Veeleah
PHVJ-GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this review

Dear Veeleah, We are so pleased to hear that you had a pleasurable experience with us, thank you for the positive feedback you have given us. We appreciate your recognition on the professional service, the loft room as well as the overall hotel facilities. Your feedback will be shared with the rest of the TEAM to continue to motivate and...

Parow, South Africa
Reviewed 23 August 2016

We decided to have lunch at this hotel's restaurant, The Connexxion restaurant, as we visited the surrounding area. It is only fair to say that my comment is not for the hotel itself but for the restaurant at the hotel. Excellent food for a quick lunch but service was not that great. Staff need to be more aware of customer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank burgerjp
PHVJ-GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this review

Dear burgerjp, Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback after your most recent lunch at Connexxion Restaurant. Our Chef and his team take great pride in the food they create and having GUESTS such as yourself provide such amazing feedback continue to inspire them. We appreciate you bringing the shortcomings you experienced with the service to...

New Jersey
Reviewed 21 August 2016

I recently traveled through South Africa on a package tour that selected hotels for me. Mostly we stayed at the Protea chain - which is a part of Marriott now. The hotel was nice. Comfortable bed and pillows, modern amenities -although no US outlet for charging - get a converter for charging cellphones etc. One minor complaint - the morning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roadwarriorla
PHVJ-GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this review

Dear roadwarriorla, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review after your most recent stay at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction! We take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. Your positive comments regarding our unique facilities and comfortable rooms are highly appreciated!...

Reviewed 19 August 2016

We chose this hotel as it was close to many of the places we were interested in seeing, like the Waterfront and Table Mountain and even used the local to bus to visit some of these attractions. We were very happy with our room and the service, only our coffee machine wasn't working but that was soon taken care off....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John R
PHVJ-GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this review

Dear John R, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community. We appreciate your kind words and are delighted to hear that you found the location to be suitable for all your travel needs. Your feedback is very valuable to us and will definitely be shared with the rest of the TEAM. Thank you...

Seaford, Delaware
Reviewed 18 August 2016

We booked this room using Marriott points, and selected the location from looking at a map of Cape Town, and not knowing much about the area as we had never been there before. We made a good choice. The hotel is about a 10-15 minute walk to the V&A Waterfront, and close to many good restaurants, some less than a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wlk902
PHVJ-GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this review

Dear wlk902, Thank you very much for the exceptional review! As a VALUED Marriott member, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to receive your compliments. We are pleased that you found the loft rooms comfortable and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF for their exemplary service. We are happy to hear that you managed to make use of all...

262 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (155)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (107)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (24)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#60 of 109 in Cape Town Central
945 reviews
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marr...
#79 of 109 in Cape Town Central
988 reviews
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#58 of 109 in Cape Town Central
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#67 of 109 in Cape Town Central
320 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#80 of 109 in Cape Town Central
197 reviews
1.1 mi away
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
#38 of 109 in Cape Town Central
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the urban landscape of Greenpoint, one of Cape Town's trendiest suburbs, The Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction's location offers easy access to major Cape Town tourist attractions as well as the CBD, the Cape Town International Convention Centre and the V&A Waterfront for GUESTS staying on business. Our in house, Connexxion Restaurant is the perfect option for guests on the go. The breakfast buffet remains of international standard with a huge variety of items to choose from and for your convenience - breakfast hours over weekends are extended so you can sleep in! The Hotel provides a new contemporary urban lifestyle where you can live, work and play within a 5 kilometre radius. Walk to the Cape Quarter Lifestyle Centre and the Greenpoint Park or cycle on the new pedestrian and cycle ways. Catch a MyCity bus or the red Cape Town Tourism bus to visit Clifton, Camps Bay beach or as far as Simon's Town and Constantia! All the bedrooms feature sleek, modern design that offer environmentally friendly lighting, water-saving rain showers and energy efficient entertainment options like the Bravia LCD screens and iPod docking stations. International adapter installations also improve services to our International GUESTS. Protea Hotel Victoria Junction - a contemporary urban lifestyle! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction

Address: corner Somerset Road and Ebenezer Road, Cape Town Central 8002, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range: £83 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Marriott, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Cape Town
Protea Hotel Victoria Junction
Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel By Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction South Africa
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#35 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#50 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a high floor”
itspji, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“The rooms are very noisy, you could hear everything happening in the other rooms.”
223ghadak, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room with a view of the harbor. We didn't get one and the experience is better if you have that view.”
276brucem, 14 May 2017 | Read review
“Try to get a room not facing the main street as friends told us it was noisy.”
Islandgirl4242, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Great hotel and location”
carlmanm, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$130* /night
View Deal
CancelonUS$148
Orbitz.comUS$130
Hotels.comUS$130
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates