We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

190 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 168: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay there. The hotel is very clean and It's close to most tourist attractions. Their staffs have very good customer service. Lesley, a receptionist, was very helpful. He's a very good guy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tobi w
PHCapeCastle, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle, responded to this review

Dear Tobi w, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found our service helpful. I trust that our central location will help sway your decision to came visit us again soon. Kind regards ConradJ General Manager

Johannesburg
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A very nice hotel located centrally and close to the Waterfront, restaurants and transport. Hotel rooms and clean and the staff friendly. Hotel parking a little tricky but safe. Rooms were not too small and even have a small kitchenette and bar fridge. Lounge in rooms spacious with flat screen TV and DSTV available. Nice views from all rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John P
PHCapeCastle, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle, responded to this review

Dear John P, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are pleased that found your room spacious, staff friendly and facilities accessible. We look forward to welcome you back soon. Kind regards ConradJ General Manager

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The location of this hotel made it perfect for us. It's just over the road from the v&a waterfront. Because it shares the building with a college it makes it quite a different hotel experience but if you don't mind different then it's very pleasant. The room was big and overlooked a peaceful garden. You have to pass through the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Batopham
PHCapeCastle, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle, responded to this review

Dear Batopham, Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to sharing your comments with the team. Kind regards ConradJ General Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for a little less than a week and had a great stay. The rooms are lovely, with a nice kitchenette and all the kitchen items you might need. The couch in the room was big and comfy. Lots of space to live and work in. The best part was the view from the balcony! Great view of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shmevie
PHCapeCastle, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle, responded to this review

Dear Shmevie, Thank you for writing your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that our rooms catered to all your needs. We look forward to welcome you back soon. Kind regards ConradJ General Manager

Reviewed 12 January 2017

We stayed for four nights. This hotel is close till Waterfront and we hade a beautiful view over the Cape Town Stadium. Close to some good restaurants. Friendly staff att the reception and good parking. Easy to drive in and out, not that busy traffic. The pool was not heated but ok.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johan J
PHCapeCastle, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle, responded to this review

Dear Johan J, thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found our location ideal to explore the surrounding areas. We look forward to welcome you back soon. King regards ConradJ General Manager

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

A smaller Marriott hotel, The Cape Castle, is an ideal hotel at a reasonable price. It is only about 20 mins walk to the Cape Waterfront. We did the walk about 10 times and although safe during the day, I would strongly advise taking a taxi at night. The staff made our stay very enjoyable. The bedroom came with a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John R
PHCapeCastle, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle, responded to this review

Dear John R, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are very pleased that enjoyed your stay while appreciating the view and walks to the V&A Waterfront. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Conrad

Reviewed 22 November 2016

Arrived in evening and stayed for just a night. Very helpful staff at reception who managed to have a simple meal sent to my room although the kitchen had almost closed. Loved the view of the water (and waterfront). Spacious rooms. Well decorated. Would certainly return here again!!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kunal M
PHCapeCastle, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle, responded to this review

Dear Kunal M, Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your short visit and that our team could assist with your requests. I hope that you will have more time to spend in our wonderful city on your next visit. Kind regards conradJ General Manager

Arlington
Reviewed 14 November 2016

Considering the cost, I can't complain. The room was actually really nice (though there was only one available plug and only one trash can--in the bathroom--which is particularly odd given that there was a kitchenette). Amenities are the biggest downside -- restaurant's offerings are modest, pool's dirty, no bar. I'd say about 50 percent of the staff is lovely, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Traveler_From_Va513
PHCapeCastle, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle, responded to this review

Dear Traveler_From_Va513, Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you had a comfortable stay. I have taken special note of your concerns and will ensure that it is addressed with the relevant team members. We look forward to welcome you back soon. Kind regards ConradJ General Manager

Isle of Wight, UK
Reviewed 13 November 2016

Location just about walking distance to V&A waterfront although we didn't and you wouldn't want to at night. Right on main road. underground parking- secure. I wouldn't agree that the building was tired, I did think the pool looked like it could do with a revamp but others we using it so presume ok. Room a very good size and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gardengel-IoW
PHCapeCastle, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle, responded to this review

Dear Gardengel-IoW, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am pleased you found the location convenient and our rooms spacious and comfortable. I look forward to sharing your comments with the team and we hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards ConradJ General Manager

Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 November 2016 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for a long weekend during a business trip. It is quite run down in general. The furniture in the rooms needs replacing. The staff were friendly but didn't go beyond the basic. No water given in the room Breakfast was poor, and chef really didn't care about the food she was putting out. Wouldn't recommend....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Archer9999
PHCapeCastle, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle, responded to this review

Dear Archer9999, Thank you for taking the time to write your review after your recent stay. As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology for the concerns raised. We have shared your feedback with the appropriate hotel team...

134 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (62)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (72)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#54 of 106 in Cape Town Central
875 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#53 of 106 in Cape Town Central
551 reviews
1.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#70 of 106 in Cape Town Central
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#60 of 106 in Cape Town Central
308 reviews
1.1 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marr...
#78 of 106 in Cape Town Central
954 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sugar Hotel & Spa
Sugar Hotel & Spa
#51 of 106 in Cape Town Central
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Protea Hotel Cape Castle, a 3 star hotel, is every traveler’s home away from home. The ultimate in self-catering, the hotel comprises of 65 fully serviced luxury apartment suites. No matter which apartment you stay in, wake up to great views of the waterfront, city or mountain. The apartments comprise of an en-suite bathroom, a comfortable lounge (with sleeper couch for extra GUESTS or children), dining area, a fully-equipped kitchen, a workplace for busy executives, air conditioning and satellite TV. Could you ask for more? In case you do, Protea Hotel Cape Castle features a rim-flow pool overlooking the V&A Waterfront, plenty of undercover parking and 24-hour security, photocopying, telephone, e-mail, limited free connectivity WIFI and internet. When you get tired of cooking pop down to the Tribes Restaurant which serves full English buffet breakfast, a la carte lunch and dinner daily. The hotel is within easy strolling distance of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the CBD, Green Point Stadium, sidewalk bistros and some of Cape Town's most exciting restaurants, pubs and shops. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle

Address: 3 Main Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Cape Castle)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range: £69 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Marriott so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel By Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle South Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask if possible for a room facing either the mountain or the waterfront.”
 of 5 bubbles 334JohnP, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“higher the better”
 of 5 bubbles Gardengel-IoW, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I was on the 7th floor”
 of 5 bubbles NomsaMhembiri, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at front have some views but may be noisy. Suggest level 2 or higher.”
 of 5 bubbles VickiE340, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Mountain side is away from the main road .”
 of 5 bubbles tys259, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5