We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,346 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,141: English reviews
Boston
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed at this hotel in November 2016 in Room 301. I travel the world by myself and as a female safety and security is always a TOP priority for me. This hotel is ok... I will spare you the pictures of the cracked floor tiles, squeaky floors, etc... My main issue with this place was when the second evening...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank FrenchieCat
Brisbane Region, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed in a harbour & maintain view room!Worth it with the magnificent mountain top view.Hotel located in the heart of a working port with lots of restaurants&shopping complex,with lots of people around.Beautiful safe atmosphere walking around the harbour at night with lots of street performers.Rooms are excellent with the freedom of opening the windows...great sound of people walking on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SMC38
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A great start to our honeymoon. The staff were really friendly from the security to the restaurant staff. Our room was across from the lift which initially worried me but we weren't disturbed at any point. The room itself was really large, well appointed and comfortable. We had a problem with our air-con which was fixed at the second attempt....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hannah G
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a nice big room with table mountain view and it was my wife's anniversary, staff did some extras without being asked for it, e.g. singing at breakfast, a gift in the room. The location is great as there are plenty of restaurants around and it is close to the departure of the hop-on hop-off buses and the Aquarium. Highly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rainer F
Birmingham
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Perfect location with to die for views of table mountain from the room. Lovely outside breakfast areas overlooking the waterfront. Perfect location. Restaurant not great, but you are surrounded by other options, so not a problem. Good parking facilities. Pool is in sister hotel (not great).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MargotHBirmingham
paris
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stunning views if you have a mountain view room, very spacious, but not very modern considering the price. New Year's Eve, really awful, buffet gender, cafeteria, nothing spectacular considering the exorbitant price of the meal! with a transvestite show, like rugby for 3 songs! Happy New Year ! what a disappointment to see that in such a beautiful place, well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank benjamin75
Rey_Franco, General Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for the review. We are sorry you did not enjoy the New Years Eve event. It was marketed and sold as the Rocky Horror Picture Show and we were fortunate enough to get the original actor for the main role. The event received fantastic reviews from everyone who attended, and is still spoken of fondly. This year we...

Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Poor communication. Didn’t answer our emails asking directions to parking, but asked us for the same information two or three times, then phoned us in our room to ask the same information again. Cost of the hotel is all about the location, hotel itself is a bit run down, things didn’t work. Blinds, aircon, cupboards didn’t shut properly, and a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dianne W
Rey_Franco, Manager at Victoria & Alfred Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Dianne. We are sorry that your experience was not of the standard we are so well known for. We are planning to upgrade the section of the hotel that you stayed in. That being said we would very much want to you to return to experience the hotel the right way, so would like to...

New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our rooms were superb, breakfast delightful, and they were accommodating in every way, even supplying an extra luggage cart! Would have preferred more green foods on the breakfast buffets, but certainly not a deal breaker. We would stay here again!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela B
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is on the harbor, our room was facing Table Mountain with also a view of the harbor. The room was clean and beautiful. This place had lots of electricity for charging items, but you may want to have an adaptor or two. We were charging three things sometimes and needed two adaptors. Only one plug had US type...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
High Point, North Carolina
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

That's what we experienced from the people on our tour group when they saw our hotel and its location. Although there may be more posh places to stay the V & A had what they don't offer. A location in the heart of the bay, a staff that couldn't be more friendly or helpful, a view that looked like a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cre8ifsol

652 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (482)
Viewed
Room/Suite (90)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (87)
Viewed
View from Room (84)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (161)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (156)
Viewed
Amenities (4)
Viewed
Loft Room (29)
Viewed
Mountain Twin Room (38)
Viewed
Piazza Room (47)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#18 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,827 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel
Queen Victoria Hotel
#13 of 106 in Cape Town Central
623 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#28 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,539 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,409 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#42 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Ginja Restaurant
Ginja Restaurant
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This luxury hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront.Framed by the ocean and Table Mountain, the elegance and luxury of the Victoria & Alfred Hotel is rivaled only by its relaxed atmosphere and warm personal service.With 94 spacious bedrooms - It’s the detail that gives the Victoria & Alfred Hotel its elegance, intimacy, romance and reputation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Address: On the Waterfront Pierhead, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range: £157 - £386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria & Alfred Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Victoria & Alfred Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Alfred Cape Town
Victoria & Alfred Hotel Cape Town, South Africa
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#23 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Victoria & Alfred Hotel staff and other travellers.
32 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (32)

Questions? Get answers from Victoria & Alfred Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid Room 301 where the doorknob easily falls off”
  • door knob fell right off
  • door knob fell right off
 of 5 bubbles FrenchieCat, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get a view of the harbor. It is worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles alanmU8133TQ, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of the bay.”
  • Room with a view!!!!!
  • XXL Room
 of 5 bubbles cre8ifsol, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had table mountain views - awesome!”
 of 5 bubbles AngeS600, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get a room on an upper floor, facing the water, if you want a nice view. Loft rooms are spacious, but do not offer a view.”
 of 5 bubbles TwoBootz, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay