We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

286 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 263: English reviews
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
372 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

I liked the fact that the rooms here are more like apartments than standard hotel rooms. Large living room and bedroom, nice sized bathroom with a great shower and tub with plenty of counter space. The kitchen is a bit small but didn't care since I wasn't planning on cooking since I'm on vacation. The bed was comfortable but the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank TonyLINY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

I travel excessively for work, so much in fact that I have a platinum elite status for life with Marriott. So its safe to say I know the ins and outs of hotels and what service I should be getting, what is mediocre and what is just plain bad. I have never stayed in hotel as bad as The Protea... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Holly S
GM-PHNW, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf, responded to this review

Dear Holly S The safety of every client is top priority each day of the year. As our numerous meetings during your stay with us and your husband’s previous comments on tripadvisor, we alerted senior management as soon as you bought the incident to our attention. A proper procedure was followed and findings were shared with you from myself and... More 

Paris, France
Level Contributor
118 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Suite type of apartment well furnished, clean and comfortable. You have everything you need will you wish to cook as well. You are in Downtown not far from waterfront hence very convenient. Breakfast is good and staff attentive. Very far from the price of the neighbor Westin . So if your are price attentive could recommend the place clearly but... More 

Helpful?
Thank sandrine c
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
228 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were surprised to see such a huge room when we arrived. They have upgraded us to the suits which had three bedrooms! They had full kitchen, bathrooms and showers in each room, spacious living room, it just made me feel like at home. People at the front desk were so smiley and nice , we received such warm welcome!... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rurina
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed 5 nights here in Aug 2016 and was very pleased with the service (from the airport pick up to the facilities in the house). It's basically a one bedroom apartment with 2 TVs, fully functional kitchen, washer and dryer, dining area and a living room. There is basement car park for guests who rent cars too and I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joel L
Mineola, NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our stay was disappointing. The property was in an excellent location, but it looks like it suffered from lack of attention to detail. For example, the room we were assigned was next to a couple rooms that were having loud construction all day long for the last couple days of our stay. When we mentioned this to someone, they seemed... More 

Helpful?
Thank joelfreak
GM-PHNW, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf, responded to this review

Dear Joelfreak, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Protea Hotel Cape Town North Wharf with us. As the cleanliness of our hotel is a key priority, I am very sorry that your guestroom fell short of your expectations. Please rest assured that your comments have been shared with the housekeeping team in an... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The rooms are nice, as they are hotel apartments rooms. Other than that our stay was horrible, my Fiancé and I stayed here a couple of days before our wedding, only to find that we accidently forgot to lock one of our bags and my wedding ring was stolen out of its box. Hotel management did the bare minimum to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Desmond B
GM-PHNW, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf, responded to this review

Dear Desmond B We appreciate that you took time to write a review. Your comments have been noted. As per our numerous meetings at the hotel, a proper investigation of events took place during your stay. We continuously strive to ensure our high standard of operations and safety are being met. Should you feel you require any further assistance we... More 

Pensacola, FL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a very nice room overlooking the city. Very nice pool area available. Friendly, helpful staff; breakfast buffet was delicious with lots of great food. Omelet bar was especially great with excellent chef behind counter. Only drawback was twin beds!!

Helpful?
Thank 10sunshinest
GM-PHNW, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf, responded to this review

Greetings from sunny Cape Town! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. My TEAM and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to our city. With warm regards, Leigh Morrison More 

Cape Town
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had the privilege of using a 3 bedroom apartment on the 7th floor for 2 nights in order to be close the CTICC during our annual charity dropoff for Santa Shoebox. Well appointed apartment with everything on hand. The kitchen had everything on hand, dishwasher, washing machine etc. Lovely balcony and enough space in the open plan dining room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sonja P
GM-PHNW, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf, responded to this review

Hi Sonja P, Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and found that we were able to cater to your needs. We look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home. Warm regards from sunny Cape Town. Leigh Morrison More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

Nice stay. Hotel rooms are very large. In fact, each is a small apartment complete with appliances, washer/dryer, etc. Good location close to the V&A Waterfront and an easy walk to Long St. Hotel staff was friendly and accommodating. Would definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank Sarah T

116 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (87)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#56 of 106 in Cape Town Central
514 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#51 of 106 in Cape Town Central
675 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#53 of 106 in Cape Town Central
830 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Cape Town
The Westin Cape Town
#25 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,993 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#29 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Protea Hotel North Wharf, Waterfront is a 4 star hotel within walking distance of the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town CBD and the Cape Town International Convention Centre. Its secure, central city location makes it ideal for conference, business and leisure travellers wanting to explore Cape Town and its surrounds. Even a beach holiday in Cape Town is possible from this ideal location. Offering luxury apartment style accommodation in the heart of Cape Town City in the form of spacious apartments and suites, the Hotel also has 2 Penthouse Suites with stunning views of the sea. All rooms have full self-catering options. Eat breakfast like a king at the North Wharf Restaurant, where a full English breakfast buffet is served daily. Light meals are also available during the day. There is also Col'cacchio Restaurant on our doorstep to serve lunch, dinner and room service, which is well known for their delicious pizzas. Bill back arrangements have been made between the hotel and Col'Cacchio for our in-house GUESTS. For those who enjoy their exercise we have a 24 hour gym as well as a pool on the roof top. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf

Address: 1 Lower Bree Street, Cape Town Central 8002, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel North Wharf Waterfront)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range: £124 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Cape Town
Protea Hotel By Marriott Cape Town North Wharf South Africa
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#28 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#34 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#53 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“God afstand til Waterfront & Conference Center”
 of 5 bubbles RBuch_DK, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“floor 5 and 4 excelentt”
 of 5 bubbles kinoto, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Good location for visit to wharf..”
 of 5 bubbles Whi06396, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The Family apartments are best situated”
 of 5 bubbles poppelop, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
“ask for a view of table mountain”
 of 5 bubbles Radirish328, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay