We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mountain Manor Guesthouse

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mountain Manor Guesthouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

59 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 53: English reviews
Start your review of Mountain Manor Guesthouse
 Click to rate
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Needing to find accommodation in Cape town in the early evening in mid February does present a challenge. However, we made a booking over the internet and arrived at this Bed and Breakfast establishment, situated in Gardens, overlooking the Cape Town CBD. The manager was very welcoming and showed us where to park and our room. However, the room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Silliusmillius53
London
Reviewed 1 week ago

My family of 7 spent a few days here recently and we were all very impressed at such a find. The old world charm of the place is just what we wanted, the swimming pool area is great for relaxing and Gerard the Manager goes out of his way to be helpful. The only downside was that the apartment we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BERO1
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I recently spent 3 days staying here and could not have been happier. The owner, Gerard is a delight and went out of his way to look after us and help with our plans: booking taxis and offering local advice and help. Whilst the place has a certain 'old world charm', that is more than compensated for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank georgemoncrieff
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The top of our holiday should be a 10 day stay in cape town. After studding the accommodations through the internet we decided to book a beautiful described self contained apartment at mount manor. After a long car ride from the north we arrived in the early evening. The apartment we were put in was across the street situated in...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Mathias H
Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

Having flown to Cape Town for a family wedding. We booked to stay at this establishment. From the start we had some teething problems. The main issue we faced was money going missing from our room. When dealing with guesthouse manager and hotel owner, I can honestly say I have never come across two more unhelpful and incredibly rude individuals....

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank pboro10
MJWhitehead, Owner at Mountain Manor Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Michelle You accused my staff of stealing from you from an envelope which you told me in writing, "that you hadn't been keeping track of how much money was in it" You told my Manager - that you had laid a charge at the Police station and given the envelope in for finger print testing - when you emailed...

Wolseley, South Africa
Reviewed 23 August 2016

I stayed in the Lavender room this time. What a quaint comfortable stay! The hosts are very friendly and always eager to ensure your stay is a pleasant one, no matter how busy or full they are. The guesthouse is clean, comfortable and spacious. The pool and outdoor area is wonderful. Thank you, and I will be back again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fynbosguestfarm1
MJWhitehead, Owner at Mountain Manor Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive response and we are very glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon

L'Agulhas, South Africa
Reviewed 6 June 2016

Really beautiful old building and beautifully laid out. The wooden doors and frames, the brass candle holders, the high ceilings... Just gorgeous. Great welcome, large comfortable room, nice lounge and outdoor areas. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Weary_of_Work_Travel
MJWhitehead, Owner at Mountain Manor Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to make a good review - it is much appreciated. We hope to see you again soon.

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 4 May 2016

I received a very friendly welcome and was shown to my very comfortable room. I just loved the beautiful yellowood and oak furniture. I felt like I was taken back in time to the early days of the Cape Colony. Off street parking was a great asset. The bathroom was huge and had all the necesary goodies. The cozy lounge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 829PaulC
MJWhitehead, Owner at Mountain Manor Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to make a positive review - it is much appreciated. We hope to have the privilege to host you again soon

Bodo, Norway
Reviewed 10 April 2016

We had decided to stay in Cape Town for a good week, and we found Mountain Manor. It couldn’t have been better. This was really “home away from home”. Very nice and friendly hosts, with many good advices about what to do during our stay in Cape Town. We’re so impressed over how we were welcomed and taken care of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jormathisen
MJWhitehead, Owner at Mountain Manor Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to make a positive review - we look forward to hosting you and your family on your next visit to Cape Town.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 March 2016

I spent one night and left I agree that the Guesthouse is past it's prime and perhaps in need of a face-lift. The staff do not engage and management become rather defensive when you complain about something. Room 4 should be avoided at all cost. The 1990 TV is now finally broken! Yay .... perhaps it will be replaced with...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank lovemountains2016
MJWhitehead, Owner at Mountain Manor Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Belinda Thanks for all your comments - they have been noted and most have been actioned on

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Wish U Were Here
#68 of 162 in Cape Town Central
101 reviews
City Bowl
Kloof Nek Suites
Kloof Nek Suites
#135 of 162 in Cape Town Central
24 reviews
City Bowl
Atforest Guest House
Atforest Guest House
#132 of 162 in Cape Town Central
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mountain Manor Oak Lodge Residen...
#91 of 129 in Cape Town Central
45 reviews
Casa Elena Cape Town
#122 of 162 in Cape Town Central
121 reviews
City Bowl
Rosedene Guest House
Rosedene Guest House
#26 of 162 in Cape Town Central
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
On the lower slopes of Table Mountain, above the hustle and bustle of the city - you will find these three restored Cape Colonial Mansions oozing Colonial charm and warmth. Walking distance into the City and many restaurants, Mountain Manor is extremely well situated. Mountain Manor offers a 12 bed roomed Guest House / 5 self-catering suites called Harrow House / as well as an upmarket Back Packers Lodge - catering for everyone's needs. We pride ourselves in our personal service and attention to detail and go out of our way to try to satisfy our many, varied Guests, ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mountain Manor Guesthouse

Address: 17 Breda Street | Gardens/Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Oranjezicht
Price Range: £58 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Manor Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Mountain Manor Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Manor Guesthouse Cape Town, South Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mountain Manor Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in an executive room and it was very comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles Silliusmillius53, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Central location”
 of 5 bubbles fynbosguestfarm1, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a mountain View”
 of 5 bubbles 829PaulC, 4 May 2016 | Read review
“no lift, but wery good rooms also on ground floor”
  • a big room on two levels - very nice!
 of 5 bubbles jormathisen, 10 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Avoid if you can but go for the self catering ones of not!”
 of 5 bubbles Studd2710, 9 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5