We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Expert photos
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,648 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,463: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Travelling on business for extended periods takes it toll, however, Southern Sun Waterfront went over and beyond to make my stay pleasant and painless. I received a plate of exquisite nougat in my room on arrival with a personalised welcome card. Furthermore, the dining-in experience was efficient and a special mention must be made of the friendliness of the staff,... More 

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank 365Wena
Harare
1 review
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Neat rooms and efficient service in the hotel. Breakfast was great and the staff were very friendly from the front office through to room service and from the laundry department. The standards of the hotel seem to have improved from the last time that i was there which is commendable.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank nigelc734
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Really enjoyed staying here on a trip with my family. There was beautiful weather, and it was easy to walk to all the main attractions from the hotel. Cape Town, really feels like a resort town, no matter where you stay. Especially going down to the waterfront and seeing all the shops and bars and restaurants. Everyone was really accommodating,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lindsay W
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Super hotel and very helpful staff . We stayed 3 days the location was great close to all amenities hotel provided a concessionary bus to take you to the V and A Waterfront where all sorts of activities go on shopping malls, tours, museums,boat trips, Breakfast at the hotel was very good buffet style but plenty of it. Staff serving... More 

Helpful?
Thank joyceannf
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear joyceannf, Thank you for your kind comments following your recent stay with us We pride ourselves in having the best team , so we were really pleased that you were happy with all of our services and standards Warm regards JEFF ROSENBERG GENERAL MANAGER More 

Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Ensure that Southern Sun Waterfront CT is your next destination on your bucket list! Book now and be enjoy the love, warmth and hospitality of all the hotel staff from the front door to the gate keeper when driving out!

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank nogolidefeziwen
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear nogolidefeziwen, Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us We are really pleased that you enjoyed our services and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to a Cape Town Warm regards JEFF ROSENBERG GENERAL MANAGER More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a nice hotel with decent ammenities. Our room was large and beds were comfortable. The main reception area is very attreactive and I loved the flowers on display in the lobby. Overall we were very comfortable. The only disappointment was the location. The name suggests that this is on the water front however we really needed to get... More 

Helpful?
Thank CatherineHeatley
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear CatherineHeatley, Thank you for your feedback Although you would have preferred to have been right on the Waterfront, we are really pleased that you enjoyed our facilities - and that you enjoyed your overall stay with us Warm regards JEFF ROSENBERG GENERAL MANAGER More 

Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Generally not bad. Wi-Fi was great. Breakfast was fair, hotel staff were great. Could improve the menu selection at the bar during Lunch. I had chicken thighs, could finish - bland. I just ate because I was hungry and added lots of Tabasco. Great location, near to Waterfront, not walking distance though. Near great pubs in Loop & long streets... More 

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank George K
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear George K, Thank you for your feedback Please accept our apologies for the fact that you did not enjoy the chicken in our bar lounge. We will check out the issues and adjust accordingly - However, we are pleased none the less that you had a great stay Warm regards JEFF ROSENBERG GEENRAL MANAGER More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

I had a lovely experience at this hotel. Room was clean (spotless really), best shower I have ever seen in a hotel in terms of water pressure. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Gym is on the small side, but I didn't have issues using the machines I wanted. Breakfast was good, and selection was extensive. Honestly couldn't ask for more....... More 

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank chibber_09
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear chibber_09, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such positive feedback following your recent stay with us It is amazing just how popular the welcome station with a drink - jelly beans and gummy bears etc has become. In fact we tried to change the sweets some years ago and we had a huge outcry and... More 

Alberta
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We spent three nights here, check in was done quickly, the room was nice and clean. We only ate breakfast but we each had an enjoyable meals, the staff was always coming around making sure we had everything we needed. We were lucky enough to have a room higher up so had a view of table mountain which was lovely.... More 

Helpful?
Thank pgpg5860
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear pgpg5860, Thank you for your feedback We are really pleased that you would stay with us again when next you are in Cape Town - and that you enjoyed all our facilities and staff Warm regards JEFF ROSENBERG GENERAL MANAGER More 

Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a wonderful stay and the service was excellent. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room met my expectations. Breakfast was good. Wi-Fi great. my stay was very comfortable and wonderful. Had a nice room with a view.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank mjogeehome
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review

Dear mjogeehome, Thank you for your generous feedback We are really pleased that you enjoyed our services and found the hotel to provide value for money Warm regards JEFF ROSENBERG GENERAL MANAGER More 

491 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (236)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (101)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (239)
Viewed
Amenities (23)
Viewed
Executive Room (35)
Viewed
Pool (10)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (32)
Viewed
Standard Two Double Room (32)
Viewed
Suite (43)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#30 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,418 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Cape Town
The Westin Cape Town
#25 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,991 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#28 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Southern Sun Cape Sun
Southern Sun Cape Sun
#35 of 106 in Cape Town Central
723 reviews
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#29 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,536 reviews
0.7 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Wonderful sunsets over the Atlantic Ocean assist in making the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town a preferred business and holiday destination. A mere 15 minutes' drive from Cape Town International Airport, a 5 minute walk from the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CTICC) and within walking distance to the V&A Waterfront, this hotel is superbly located to offer every guest easy access to the sights and sounds of Cape Town. Breathtaking views of Table Mountain can be enjoyed from rooms that offer all the quality and comfort you would expect from a full service hotel. Offering guests a fitness centre, a pool and convenient meeting rooms and a business centre, the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town caters for all possible business or leisure traveller needs.Modern, chic and spaciously comfortable, these Waterfront hotel rooms offer guests a rejuvenating, fully serviced escape from the bustling energy of Cape Town. The decor is tasteful and classy with an edge. Amenities cater for all possible requirements and include 24 hour in room dining and a host of channels available on satellite. Business travellers can make use of the in room wireless internet access and the workstation with work lamp. Smoking and wheelchair accessible rooms are available on request.Unique cuisine and relaxed dining are just two of the many aspects that make this a simply superb dining experience to all restaurant guests. The Yizani Restaurant is inspired by everything local and isauthentically South African. Yizani translates as "Come in...Welcome" in Xhosa, and is perfectly appropriate in that this restaurant offers a world-class welcome that sets the scene for the experience to follow. Our Pool Bar offers daily cocktail happy hours - 2 for 1 specials from 17:00 to 19:00. Our Pool Bar is associated with official Brandy Urban Cocktail Route. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town

Address: 1 Lower Buitengracht Street | Private Bag X3, Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Price Range: £127 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 537
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Southern Sun Waterfront
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town South Africa
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms are a nice size.”
 of 5 bubbles lindsayw747, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The internet put me off, I'm not sure any TripAdvisor users would find this friendly”
 of 5 bubbles findshirley, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try and get a room with views of Waterfont”
 of 5 bubbles alastrequestgrimbo, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The 7th floor is a smoking floor so if you don't like the smell of tobacco smoke avoid the 8th floor as the smell reaches that floor”
 of 5 bubbles richarda17, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Helpful staff , free shuttle bus to waterfront area, spacious hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Janek741, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay