We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

445 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 373: English reviews
Start your review of Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
 Click to rate
Banbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 2 weeks last year and returned again for a short stay in February. We had a few issues on our first visit and the staff couldn't have been more concerned and helpful. On our return we were greeted warmly by many members of staff. The rooms are spacious, clean and attractive, the food is good especially...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vjoynes
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is a golf resort with great views of the Indian Ocean and in a good location for exploring the coast on the Garden Route. Room was large and well equipped and offered a view across the golf course to the sea. Rooms are set out in blocks on 3 floors and there are no lifts, the resort is slightly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David N
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The views were stunning from some of the golf holes. The course was in excellent condition and we would not hesitate to play here again, very glad we had the opportunity to play here on our trip. The staff were all very helpful and informative.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yvette K
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were staying at the Oubaai Hotel Jan 2017. The resort must have been wonderful, few jears ago. Nearly everything urgently needs complete renovation, including management. After 3 days we needed to change room because of..... I actually still don't know why. They have put us into a room which was absolutely awful, moistures, smelling like moldy, window behind a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alfred S
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent 4 nights here last week on a golf inclusive package. Not off to a good start as they failed to collect us from the airport which had bee pre paid in advance. We had to jump a taxi. Our golf was pre paid and despite handing in the vouchers daily the golf was charged again to our account. Very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judy C
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel was very fantastic and nice place to stay on it. And the SPA was great as well. we enjoyed on our staying here and loved this place. we will come soon 😍 Staff: friendly Kitchen: nice and good, we don't like the out side restaurant Rooms: was big and confiertabl

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SULIMAN A
OubaaiHotel, Director of Sales at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback, we appreciate your comments and will make sure to share your feedback with our team. We are however disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy our restaurant. Thanks again and we hope to see you back again soon.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I were in South Africa to spend Christmas with our family, something we only get to do about once in ten years. We wanted to enjoy a relaxed Christmas lunch and chose the Oubaai Hotel for this special occasion. The lunch was booked and paid for months in advance. The day before Christmas we phoned to confirm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Madeline G
OubaaiHotel, Director of Sales at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review

We are extremely disappointed to hear about your unacceptable experience and would like to assure you that this is definitely not the level of service we strive to achieve. We will make sure to look into all the matters you have raised. Sincerest apologies for all the inconvenience caused and we hope to see you back again ...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Super close to the George airport and on the cliffs overlooking the Indian Ocean, this is a lovely resort albeit within a gated residential community. The hotel is set back from the ocean overlook; clearly had an excellent interior designer, but lacks the practical touch of a great architect. Places aren't connected the right way, traffic flow is odd, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelandLearn_11
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is in a bad condition. The facade is broken and it rains inside the rooms. We used to stay there 3 nights on our way to port Elisabeth. After 2 nights we broke up and leave. And we were not the only ones as we realized. The pool is small and the sunbeds were all broken and torn.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon G
OubaaiHotel, Director of Sales at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to send us feedback about your experience whilst staying with us, we will definitely look into all the matters you have raised and will be sure to rectify them.

Swartruggens, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a bottle of wine with a nice unique kind of pizza (smoked salmon with pickled ginger and cream cheese) on the clubhouse terrace ....enjoying a stunning view of the 9th hole and the sea .....also springbuck roaming freely around the clubhouse

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank deanmarkalb2
OubaaiHotel, Director of Sales at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your valued feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

207 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (193)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (82)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George
6.6 mi away
Fancourt
Fancourt
#1 of 9 in George
442 reviews
6.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
6.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Manor House at Fancourt
10.3 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
591 reviews
6.9 mi away
Town Lodge George
Town Lodge George
#6 of 9 in George
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa is set in the picturesque hamlet of Herolds Bay, within 15 minutes from George Airport, Western Cape, South Africa. This 316-acre upscale Residential & Golf Development set apart in our specatacular Garden Route stretches out along the Western Cape from Mossel Bay to Port Elizabeth. Home to our Signature Ernie Els Golf Course as well as the Freesia Spa. The Oubaai Hotel has 100 Luxury Guest Rooms showcased alongside some of the most spectacular Herolds Bay Heritage Real Estate. This includes 322 upmarket Oubaai Residential Properties and 128 Oubaai Village Apartments. Golf Membership is optional. The Golf Club comprises of our 18 Hole Championship Ernie Else Signature Golf Course, the Golf Academy, a Driving Range plus 1 Chipping and 2 Putting Greens. Added Value includes Daily Breakfast in our Main Restaurant " Cucina," plus FREE Wifi access and FREE Parking. On our Property you can enjoy our Swimming Pool, Tennis Court, Squash Court and fully equipped Gym. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa

Address: 406 Herolds Bay Road | Herolds Bay, George 6528, South Africa (Formerly Hyatt Regency Oubaai Golf Resort & Spa)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Price Range: £81 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Oubaai Golf Hotel George
Hyatt Regency Oubaai Golf Resort And Spa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Cape Town, South Africa

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Junior suites are very nice”
 of 5 bubbles vjoynes, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you don't like stairs ask for a ground floor room.”
 of 5 bubbles DavidN724, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“238 and 239 are separate but next to each other, and not on a corridor so work very well as children / parents combination”
 of 5 bubbles PaddyM75, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“club rooms outstanding”
 of 5 bubbles Michael665, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had to walk up 3 flights of stairs which was not a problem but if you have a mobility problem, I would ask the hotel what rooms are best.”
 of 5 bubbles lnd_beale, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5