We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hermanus Dorpshuys

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hermanus Dorpshuys
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

353 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 261: English reviews
Start your review of Hermanus Dorpshuys
 Click to rate
Somerset West, South Africa
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A charming, beautiful guesthouse in a great location for strolling into town and exploring local area. Our room was well appointed with comfortable bed and large bathroom. A lovely garden to relax in. Our hosts were attentive, amusing, thoughtful, informative and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Thank you Koos and Cecelia!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen R
Dorpshuys, Owner at Hermanus Dorpshuys, responded to this review

We really appreciate such a wonderful review as a team and thank you for your time and effort to reviewed your stay with us and in Hermanus. We are glad that you had an excellent experience and have enjoyed it.

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Top quality guest house with very comfortable rooms, excellent breakfast (wide choice, well cooked and nicely presented) and wonderful hosts who couldn't do enough for you. Good location in a smart residential area just a short walk from Hermanus centre - shops and restaurants. Would stay again and thoroughly recommend.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank PeteandHazel
Dorpshuys, Owner at Hermanus Dorpshuys, responded to this review

Thank you for your high rating of your experience during your stay at Hermanus Dorpshuys. Thank you also for your time and effort to reviewed your experience and to share it. Thank you also for your recommendation and we look forward to your next visit.

Havant
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We have just enjoyed 4 days at Hermanus Dorpshuys in our opinion one of the finest places we have ever stayed. Thank you Cecilia for sharing your beautiful home and the amazing attention to every little detail of our stay, a truly wonderful experience!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
Dorpshuys, Owner at Hermanus Dorpshuys, responded to this review

We wish to thank you for your wonderful review and for the time and effort to reviewed your stay with us. We are glad that you had a wonderful stay and have enjoyed it. Thank you also for your rating of your stay. We really do appreciate it.

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Beautiful guest house, stylishly furnished throughout. Cecilia, the owner was a wonderful host, offering assistance and advice throughout our stay, and especially when my wife was ill on the last morning of our stay. Would thoroughly recommend to anyone considering a stay in Hermanus. Look no further than Hermanus Dorphuys.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ght1948
Dorpshuys, Owner at Hermanus Dorpshuys, responded to this review

Thank you for your valued and informative review. Thank you for the time and effort to reviewed your stay with us and to credit Cecilia for walking the extra mile. We are glad that you had an excellent stay and thank you for your recommendation.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent room, great bed, bedding, fixtures & fittings. The bathroom is lovely with everything of the highest quality, towels changed daily. The breakfast is yo die for. Fresh fruit salad fresh juice, a full cooked breakfast of large proportions, lovely bread with home made butter & marmalade. The cutlery, crockery, &stable linen are of the highest quality. The staff are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tonyb47
Dorpshuys, Owner at Hermanus Dorpshuys, responded to this review

Thank you for such a wonderful review. We, as a team are proud to be associated with such a review. Thank you for your time and effort to reviewed your stay with us and to share your experience. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay in an excellent manner and expressing your valuation of the quality of your...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

The only bad point is they have no smoking corner. Why they don`t install a smoking point behind the house with a small table and a chair and a little bit protected from rain. Breakfast is fine as well the place of the guest house.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 560manfredr
Dorpshuys, Owner at Hermanus Dorpshuys, responded to this review

Unfortunately by law, no smoking under a roof around the guesthouse is allowed. As you will find in a previous review, that we was penalised for allowed smoking in the back garden. We must abide by the law, or can lose our consent from the municipality to run the guesthouse. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay other wise....

Råå
Reviewed 1 week ago

This B&B is a lovely place with excellent service from the couple that runs the place. Nice big and extreme clean rooms, ours hade two showers! Breakfast was small but nice and fantastic service. Walking distance to central Hermanus.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 861hansl
Dorpshuys, Owner at Hermanus Dorpshuys, responded to this review

We wish to thank you for your time and effort to reviewed your stay with us. Breakfast small? Then you ordered small and did not requested anything else. Cecilia always ask if our guests would like anything more as ordered. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay.

Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were made very welcome by Cecilia who gave us loads of tips about Hermanus.Our room was spacious and spotless.breakfast was very good, fresh and with a wide choice. Outside the small pool gave us a chance to cool down. Owing to electricity supply constraints they have no air con but the provided fan was sufficient. A scenic and safe...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jamie c
Dorpshuys, Owner at Hermanus Dorpshuys, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your time and effort to reviewed your stay with us. We are glad that you had an excellent experience and have enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad that you could've enjoyed the tranquillity of our area.

Bridport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed in many guest houses in South Africa and all have been very good but the Hermanus Dorpshuys is right among the top few in terms of the wonderful owners and quality of the rooms, position in the town and service. We were warmly greeted by Cecelia and shown to ur beautiful large room (we were given number...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William S
Dorpshuys, Owner at Hermanus Dorpshuys, responded to this review

Thank you for an absolute wonderful review. Thank you also for your high rating of your experience whilst staying at Hermanus Dorpshuys. We really appreciate sharing your experience. We are glad that you had an enjoyable time. Thank you for reviewing your stay and for the recommendation.

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is one of the nicest guest houses that we have stayed in. Beautifully furnished and very welcoming owners. We arrived late on a rainy Friday night, tired and hungry. Cecelia provided the very needed care and attention and even shared her pizza with us.The guest house is very well run and the owners professional and helpful. Breakfast was beautifully...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AilsaLe
Dorpshuys, Owner at Hermanus Dorpshuys, responded to this review

Reviews like your's make our day. Thank you for sharing your experience that the extra mile was walked with you by Cecilia. We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay. Thank you for your time and effort to reviewed your stay. We look forward to your next visit.

94 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (63)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.9 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
2.0 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
391 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
0.6 mi away
Bamboo Guest House
Bamboo Guest House
#6 of 88 in Hermanus
338 reviews
1.2 mi away
Auberge Provence
Auberge Provence
#4 of 88 in Hermanus
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Purpose built guest house, elegantly furnished with a mix of antique and modern. Full English breakfast included in dining room or on veranda overlooking the Klein river Mountain. Four double suites and one twin (can be converted to double). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hermanus Dorpshuys

Address: 20 Hill Street | Eastcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Price Range: £55 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hermanus Dorpshuys 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hermanus Dorpshuys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hermanus Dorpshuys staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hermanus Dorpshuys staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room was room 2, but I can imagine that they are all of equal quality.”
 of 5 bubbles tonyb47, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Central location, minutes from Village core and outdoor market”
 of 5 bubbles jamesj392, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms looked great”
 of 5 bubbles zeppelin00, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All are good”
 of 5 bubbles indian-travellor, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the end room which has extra windows”
 of 5 bubbles Michael-Se, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5