We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Anchor's Rest

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Anchor\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

68 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 47: English reviews
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Anchor's rest worked very well for us. We were a group of 4, with one couple and two singles. The couple stayed in the one bed cottage and one of the singles in the standard double room. Megan and Hilary were able to open an interconnecting door, which meant privacy with communication was possible between the two suites. I was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John G
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

On arrival we were made very welcome by Megan who showed us our room (Pebbles)....very comfortable double room with well equipped kitchenette and excellent bathroom. Private sitting out area with BBQ. The garden and swimming pool were lovely and it was a very quiet neighbourhood. The centre of Hermanus is a very short drive away with easy parking. Lots of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Poppyslane
Hilary C, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review - we are so pleased that you enjoyed yourselves and were obviously comfortable , even though you were in our smallest room! Glad you enjoyed the cliff paths - they are rather special. We really appreciate your taking the time to comment on your stay and we hope the rest of your...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2016

Although it was a good ten to fifteen minute drive from the centre of Hermanus, it was perfect for the whale watching tours as it is only a couple of minutes from the New Harbour. We stayed in the family room which had a kitchen area (very well equipped) and a separate room for the children. Very nicely decorated and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fishfamily2014
Hilary C, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review

Dear Family Fish It was an absolute pleasure having you to stay at our little guesthouse and we are so pleased that you enjoyed yourselves. Glad that you appreciated your breakfast in a basket! Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review -it is so appreciated! Hope to see you again someday! Regards Hilary

Skellefteå, Västerbottens Län, Sweden
Reviewed 25 April 2016

A nice play to stay for a week or two. Maybe because the golf course in Hermanus is excellent??? We got a room, not too big, no AC, small kitchenett,. There were not many TV channels to choose from but a good wifi. Well situated if you want t.a walkt to the city along the ocean; and many good restaurants....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Owe L
Reviewed 21 March 2016 via mobile

Lovely little guesthouse, we stayed for 2 nights in starfish which was lovely and comfortable. It was clean and handy for exploring Hermanus. Would stay again great place. Friendly and helpful staff, safe property with gates and private parking The bbq and outside area was perfect for sitting out in the evening

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison G
Hilary C, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review

Dear Alison Thank you for your positive review. So pleased you found the accommodation to your liking. Feedback is always welcome and we appreciate you taking the time to write.

Cornwall
Reviewed 14 March 2016

We stayed at Anchor's Rest for three nights in 'Starfish' at the end of January. This is the family unit which has a queen size bed in the studio along with a sofa, coffee table and small kitchenette, dinning table and chairs. In addition there is a small twin bedroom and a full size bathroom. The bed was extremely comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CyrilCat
Hilary C, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your generous review. It is really appreciated and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I will pass on your compliments to our staff - it is always beneficial to us ( and hence our guests) to get feed back - thank you.

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 February 2016

Our third visit here and just as food as ever - our previous reviews stand! Stayed with another couple and had Pebbles and Starfish rooms, both of which we've stayed in previously, and they're perfect. We were sad to hear on arrival that Guy had passed away since our last visit but Hilary has maintained the same standards and we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve1205
Hilary C, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review - I am so please to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Daughter Meghan has been a great help and so we will continue to provide a happy break for our guests. Thank you again for taking the trouble to write .

Hermanus, South Africa
Reviewed 18 December 2015

Spent two nights in a double self catering cottage. Lovey and quite, owner and daughter went out of their way to ensure that our stay was memorable. Will definitely use them again on future trips to SA

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alexF9277JW
Hilary C, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward yo seeing you again if you return.

Up North
Reviewed 13 November 2015

Arrived for 2 night stay. Greeted by Cindy and showed to our loft apartment, Seagull. Unfortunately the weather wasn't too grand during our visit, so the whole place didn't look as bright as it had on the website photos! I'm sure the pool is also lovely in the sun, but it really didn't look appealing in the blustery wind and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BahHumbug123
Hilary C, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry I could not see you into your room personally due to circumstances beyond our control. Unfortunately the weather does sometimes get blustery and miserable in November sometimes and also affects the WiFi. I am glad you were comfortable in your room though.

Reviewed 26 October 2015 via mobile

We stayed at Anchor's rest for two nights. It's a quiet little B&B, that served us well. Hillary was very helpful when she heard we had come specifically to watch whales and hadn't booked upon arrival. After all the hotels and breakfast-included-places it was nice to have our own kitchenette and be able to have a chill-out Sunday morning. A...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eric v
Hilary C, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review

A rather delayed thank you for your kind review and we are so pleased you ejoyed yourselves and I am glad you got to see the whales! I am glad you enjoyed our little breakfast nook wher yo can do your own thing - we even have guests taking it easy and enjoying breakfast in the garden (when it's warmer!)

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
2.2 mi away
Bamboo Guest House
Bamboo Guest House
#4 of 86 in Hermanus
312 reviews
0.0 mi away
House on Westcliff
House on Westcliff
#25 of 86 in Hermanus
173 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hermanus Dorpshuys
Hermanus Dorpshuys
#1 of 86 in Hermanus
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hornbill House Self Catering Accommodation
0.8 mi away
Hermanus Guesthouse
Hermanus Guesthouse
#10 of 86 in Hermanus
561 reviews
0.0 mi away
Braeview Guest House
Braeview Guest House
#77 of 86 in Hermanus
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Anchor’s Rest, 150m from cliff paths and whales in season. Harbour and restaurants 10 minutes walk. 4 garden suites have own entrance, patio and barbecue. Under counter fridge, tea and coffee facilities, overhead fans, microwave, hotplates, wall heaters, hairdryers, TV, DSTV Premium and DVD machine in each unit. Pool and garden area are available for guests. Optional substantial Continental Breakfast, served on your patio or in your suite. Safe off street parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Anchor's Rest

Address: 90 Westcliff Road | Westcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Price Range: £32 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchor's Rest 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Anchor's Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Anchor's Rest staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All 3 rooms we had were great!”
 of 5 bubbles A7171HAjohng, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“'Seagull' loft apartment may be unsuitable for those with mobility problems - stair only access, with narrow stairwell down to kitchenette.”
 of 5 bubbles BahHumbug123, 13 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Don't expect a sea view, otherwise ask for any room. And each unit has a BBQ and small garden area to use. My husband would love this! In summer, the pool should also be rather nice to use.”
 of 5 bubbles 2travelislife2me, 21 Jun 2014 | Read review
“Any, they are all beautiful”
 of 5 bubbles Paul0419, 17 Jun 2014 | Read review
“Choose the honeymoon loft - worth it!!”
 of 5 bubbles WillD679, 23 Mar 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay