We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Windsor Hotel & Apartments

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Windsor Hotel & Apartments
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

499 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 389: English reviews
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Hotel is in the best locaution possilbe. Right on the ocean and you wake to hear the waves crashing the rocks. Truely spectaular. Hotel seems to feed of this as it is extremely outdated. Doors on rooms are horrific. Rooms are massive, Please modernize! The common area with the big fireplace is brilliant

Helpful?
Thank Relayponey
Umhlanga
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

After reading some not-so-great reviews we were concerned about our planned stay. But we thoroughly enjoyed our four day visit, and would like to come again. We stayed in a sea-view room and had an almost perfect sea-view. It would have been perfect had the windows been cleaned. We had a TV but no DSTV reception; in other words no... More 

Helpful?
Thank SvB-CvB
Windsor H, Sales & Marketing at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Good Day SvB-CvB, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Windsor Hotel & Self Catering Apartments during your visit to Hermanus. We are so very pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us and we value the wonderful feedback you have given the Hotel. Looking forward to welcome you back very soon. Kind Regards, Johanri Meyer Marketing Windsor Hotel More 

Warwickshire
Level Contributor
96 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel has a fabulous location in Hermanus. If you get one of the rooms at the front like I did then you will enjoy stunning views. Unfortunately the hotel is more than a little tired, it seems to be stuck in a 60's timewarp and I expected Basil Fawlty to appear at any moment! Rooms are of varying layouts... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jellifer
Windsor H, Sales & Marketing at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Good Day Jellifer, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Windsor Hotel & Self Catering Apartments during your visit to Hermanus. We thank you for the feedback you have given us regarding your stay. The Windsor Hotel strives to give our guest the most memorable and comfortable stay. The valuable feedback you have given us regarding the breakfast will... More 

Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great location and fabulous views. The hotel itself is tired and shabby. Some of the staff were abrupt and uninterested. Unfortunately we had rooms on the ground floor at the back with cars and motorbikes parked right up against the window, not good when said bike left early. The rooms were clean. The breakfast was excellent.

Helpful?
Thank Bornagainteenager
Windsor H, Sales & Marketing at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Good Day Bornagainteenager, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Windsor Hotel & Self Catering Apartments during your visit to Hermanus. We also thank you for the valuable feedback you have given us regarding your stay, we will continue to work harder to make the guest feel more at home with us. The Hotel will be undergoing upgrades and... More 

Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went to the Windsor Hotel on recommendation from locals. I have a few things to share. 1) When arriving at check in. We had to wait for 10min before they could open the gates. 2) The shower were so disgusting. See pics attached. The shower curtain must be burnt and never ever be used. 3) When sending them a email... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ian K
Windsor H, Sales & Marketing at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Ian K Thank you for your review of our lovely hotel and your insights into making the stay for future guests more pleasant. We would love the opportunity to host you again in future as we strive to excel. Kind Regards, Windsor Hotel More 

Travellers are raving about these Hermanus hotels

Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
319 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have stayed at these apartments before they belonged to the Windsor hotel, last time being 5 years ago. Sadly they have not been refreshed at all and are looking a little tired. However they suit our needs , and as requested we had a two bedroom and a three bedroom apartment next to each other. They are also serviced... More 

Helpful?
Thank MrMrsW50
Windsor H, Sales & Marketing at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Good Day MrMrsW50, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Windsor Hotel & Self Catering Apartments during your visit to Hermanus. We are so pleased to learn you have enjoyed your stay in the Apartments. They are a bit dated, but we are in the process of doing soft upgrades and refurbishments to make the guest experience more enjoyable.... More 

Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We spent 2 nights in a sea facing ground floor room at the Windsor Hotel in Hermanus as a celebration of Alison's birthday - hoping to see whales in the bay. Unfortunately the whales were late in arriving this year and we only saw signs of them way out in the sea. But a very comfortable hotel with a fantastic... More 

Helpful?
Thank clivealisonk
Windsor H, Sales & Marketing at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Good Day Clivealisonk, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Windsor Hotel & Self Catering Apartments during your visit to Hermanus. We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the wonderful feedback. Where The Windsor Hotel lacks in modern features we make up for it in warm welcoming hospitality. We strive... More 

København
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed at the Windsor for 3 nights in the middle of October, and I must say that the place in it self does not have much going for it. It is bland, the service is ok, the breakfast is ok, the rooms are a bit worn but ok - but the view from the rooms facing the sea are... More 

Helpful?
Thank PapsiFresh
Windsor H, Sales & Marketing at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Good Day PapsiFresh, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Windsor Hotel & Self Catering Apartments during your visit to Hermanus. We appreciate the feedback you have given us regarding your stay with us and here at The Windsor Hotel we strive to give our guests the most enjoyable experience. We will continue to build on making your stay... More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
153 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2016

The location is hard to beat. On the seaside and if you have a seasideroom, views are great - and if you're Lucky (we were not) you could see the whales swimming. The inside is a bit outdated and can look upon that from two angles. One: it needs an update. Two: it is as is and this the character... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robbert L
Windsor H, Sales & Marketing at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Good Day Robbert L, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Windsor Hotel & Self Catering Apartments during you visit to Hermanus. We value the feedback you have given us regarding your stay with us. The Hotel will be undergoing upgrades and renovations in 2017 to make the quest experience more enjoyable. The bathrooms are on the top of... More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Great improvement over previous stay Rooms basic but comfortable lack air con but for a night it's okay Views well as the saying goes location location location Amazing Breakfast Standard fare for most Hotels but served with a smile Staff friendly and helpful keep it up guys and girls I Will be back

Helpful?
Thank David A
Windsor H, Sales & Marketing at Windsor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Good Day David A, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Windsor Hotel & Self Catering Apartments during our visit to Hermanus. Thank you for the wonderful feedback you have given us regarding your stay with us. It gives us joy to know our guests have had such a great experience at The Windsor Hotel and we are looking... More 

274 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (211)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (55)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (83)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.2 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.2 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#5 of 12 in Hermanus
794 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
2.4 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
369 reviews
3.3 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 12 in Hermanus
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Windsor Hotel and Self-Catering Apartments, a 120km drive from Cape Town, is renowned for its unparalleled vantage point to view the whales which breed and feed in Walker Bay (July - November) Independently owned, Hermanus's oldest hotel has been modernised while retaining the charm and hospitality so cherished by our guests, who return time and again for their homely seaside holiday experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel & Apartments

Address: 49 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Price Range: £46 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Windsor Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Hermanus
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Windsor Hotel & Apartments staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Windsor Hotel & Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sea views are best”
  • Sea view from our room
 of 5 bubbles SvB-CvB, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Any sea facing upper floor rooms”
 of 5 bubbles clivealisonk, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If possible: with seaside views.”
 of 5 bubbles robbertl124, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get a Seaview room to enjoy the simply magnificent view.”
  • The View from the Front Door
 of 5 bubbles Kwan_Nyom, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Sea facing views have the most fantastic view of the sea, but are a bit noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles JeniWallace, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay