We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
08/10/2017 09/10/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Abalone Guest Lodge

    306 Main Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    08/10/2017 09/10/2017
    Savings alert: 40% below average rate

    The price you found is 40% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$336/night.

    We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

    US$216
    US$202
    SAVE US$14
    US$209
    US$203
    Traveller (108)
    Room & Suite (49)
    Dining (11)
    Overview
    • Excellent73%
    • Very good22%
    • Average3%
    • Poor1%
    • Terrible1%
    Travellers talk about
    “abalone” (103 reviews)
    “the cliff” (60 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Beachfront
    Pool
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Family Rooms
    Bar/Lounge
    Fitness centre
    Spa
    Dry Cleaning
    4.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Deals
    8 Oct9 Oct
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • Check booking site for details
      US$202
      View Deal
    • Check booking site for details
      US$209
      View Deal
    • View details
      US$203
      View Deal
    View all 13 deals
    Write a Review
    Reviews (427)
    There are newer reviews for Abalone Guest Lodge
    See the most recent reviews
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    11 - 15 of 313 reviews

    Reviewed 24 July 2017

    Everything was excellent. The quality of the television as well as the limited number of available channels were disappointing. The service of all the staff was very good. We will definitely come again.More

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank Martin B
    Response from HippoTraveller_11, Manager at Abalone Guest LodgeResponded 4 August 2017

    Dear MartinB Thank you for your review on our TripAdvisor page. We are delighted to hear you had an excellent stay with us. We do have a selection of 10 channels plus we added 3 extra for our international guests to enjoy and to make...More

    Reviewed 13 July 2017

    We stayed here for 2 nights as our last stop on our 3 week SA tour. We loved the open spaces and fireplace in the common area. The rooms have heated floors and lovely furnishings. The king bed was super comfy and welcoming. The bathroom,...More

    1  Thank claude c
    Response from HippoTraveller_11, Manager at Abalone Guest LodgeResponded 4 August 2017

    Dear ClaudeC Thank you for your review on our Tripdvisor page. We use Africology Amenities in our rooms, they are made of 100% natural oils and are 100% biodegradable. You can also order them online. Abalone is situated midway between town centre and Grotto beach...More

    Reviewed 6 July 2017

    We were very disappointed to be allocated a room with no view at all... Just the top of the stairs in the courtyard, not even the garden. Given there were so few visitors staying on the night we did, it was a real shame not...More

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank sj1809
    Response from HippoTraveller_11, Manager at Abalone Guest LodgeResponded 12 July 2017

    Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to hear you had a comfortable stay despite the room allocation. We do allow room upgrades on the day of arrival. If this was mentioned to us we would have gladly assist you with an...More

    Reviewed 18 May 2017

    The location of the lodge is perfect, close to the ocean. We had a great view of the ocean from our room's balcony. The rooms are lovely, simple but well-decorated, and well-equipped with a kettle, coffee-maker, etc. The staff was excellent, with prompt and efficient...More

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank Rukmini D
    Response from HippoTraveller_11, Manager at Abalone Guest LodgeResponded 4 August 2017

    Dear RukminiD Thank you so much for your wonderful review on our TripAdvisor page! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back at Abalone Lodgoe or one of our Shell Lodges properties in the not too...More

    Reviewed 10 May 2017

    Only stayed for two night but thoroughly enjoyed the hospitality and the accommodation was first class. Every aspect of our stay was cared for and the staff were very helpful. Breakfast was excellent. Would highly recommend.More

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank Angela L
    Response from HippoTraveller_11, Manager at Abalone Guest LodgeResponded 4 August 2017

    Dear AngelaL Thank you so much for your wonderful review on our TripAdvisor page! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back at Abalone Lodge or one of our Shell Lodges properties in the not too...More

    The Marine Hermanus
    693 reviews
    #4 of 11 hotels in Hermanus
     
    Harbour House Hotel
    933 reviews
    #8 of 11 hotels in Hermanus
     
    The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
    659 reviews
    #3 of 11 hotels in Hermanus
     
    Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
    734 reviews
    #5 of 11 hotels in Hermanus
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Pool
    • Free Parking
    • Beachfront
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Breakfast included
    • Spa
    • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    • Laundry Service
    • Dry Cleaning
    • Room amenities
    • Minibar
    • Things to do
    • Pool
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Outdoor pool
    • Spa
    • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$206 - US$455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Family Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 12
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Abalone Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • South Africa >
    • Western Cape >
    • Overberg District >
    • Hermanus
    • Also Known As
    • Abalone Guest Hotel Hermanus
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (108)
    Room & Suite (49)
    Dining (11)
    Pool & Beach (10)
    Hotel & Grounds (125)
    Bathroom (7)
    Family and Play Areas (2)
    Nearby
    The Marine Hermanus
    693 reviews
    1.22 miles away
     
    Harbour House Hotel
    933 reviews
    1.41 miles away
     
    The Whale Coast All Suite Hotel
    659 reviews
    1.28 miles away
     
    Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
    734 reviews
    1.74 miles away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Betty Blue Bistro
    343 reviews
    1.30 miles away
    Pear Tree
    875 reviews
    1.32 miles away
    Fusion Restaurant
    722 reviews
    1.34 miles away
    La Pentola
    1,027 reviews
    1.30 miles away
    Nearby Attractions
    Voelklip Beach
    184 reviews
    .99 miles away
    Benguela Cove Lagoon Wine Estate
    74 reviews
    .37 miles away
    Hermanus Golf Club
    97 reviews
    .53 miles away
    Thoza Tours
    17 reviews
    .84 miles away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    PAUL M
    8 February 2016|
    Answer
    Response from Kathryn G | Reviewed this property |
    14:00h
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "Sea view. Not garden view."
    Read review
    "Rooms 1-6 have best views"
    Read review
    "Some rooms face the sea"
    Read review
    "Deluxe rooms with a balcony have a great view"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing