We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Lanzerac Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

529 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 450: English reviews
United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed for 2 nights in early January. The rooms were probably the finest i have stayed in anywhere. Huge in size, beautifully furnished and spotless. As soon as you travel up the tree lined drive to the pristine white hotel building you know that you are somewhere very special. The food was excellent and service good and friendly. Not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peter s
Stellenbosch
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Beautiful hotel and setting. Very good service and good food. I stayed in and old room which needs to be renovated. Bed was old and too soft for my liking. I have stayed in the renovated rooms and they are fantastic !

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank johankarelg
Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great conference rooms, Super Restaurant & the Spa facility is proper luxury. Historic venue which is honestly unrivalled if you want to breakaway. Service at Lanzerac is World-Class and definitely will frequent soon.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eddie485
LanzManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Lanzerac Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your world class rating!

Johannesburg
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

From the moment we drove in, we were met by and treated to impeccable service by the staff at Lanzerac. The hotel Boasts beautiful designed and spacious rooms, in a stunning setting. The SPA is just as good. The food and wine were simply delicious. We checked in late and restaurant graciously agreed to wait for us, in order to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pheello N
LanzManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Lanzerac Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review of all aspects that comprise our Estate.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at the Lanzerac Hotel using it as a base for exploring the region. Our only regret it was too shorter visit. In addition the staff could not have been more helpful when a wedding ring was accidentally left behind! Arranging an onward secure courier to our next destination. Thank you Elsa.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Skippej
LanzManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Lanzerac Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and 5 out of 5 rating!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A very beautiful, ancient estate with top service and extensive grounds. Very spacious rooms with all mod cons. Only constructive comment: the style of the rooms and the common areas is a bit dated, so the place would be mostly recommended for people who like colonial grandeur over modern elegant simplicity.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank A M
LanzManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Lanzerac Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your personalized views.

Stellenbosch
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were informed that the new spa and pool would be open in January 2017. However, it was still under renovation and the temporary spa was "fully booked" for our stay. There were large unsightly water marks in the carpets in the very spacious room. Unacceptable for a 5 star establishment like the Lanzerac

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank rajenp2017
LanzManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Lanzerac Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and despite your spa disappointment, your 5 star rating of your general experience. The Lanzerac Spa grandly opened its doors in early January and is quite spectacular, so we are very sorry to hear that you missed this. Hoping we can welcome you back into the future to experience the changing-face of the Estate.

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were here for Honeymoon and got to stay in the Pool Suit which was a very special experience. Room was huge and came with our own swimming pool. The service was amazing and even when we were so full and tired from dinner, they still brought our desert to our room. Incredible farm to walk around, picnic and make...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris N
LanzManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Lanzerac Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Congratulations on your recent marriage and we are so happy that Lanzerac contributed to a memorable honeymoon!

Great Missenden, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From driving through the gates of the Lanzerac to leaving we had a fantastic experience - the level of service and comfort was exceptional. The Reception team who welcomed us were highly engaged and helpful - the room 113 whilst not as yet to be refurbished was very comfortable but can see that it is beginning to look a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abigail S
LanzManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Lanzerac Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

We sincerely appreciate your recommendation of our property. Thank you too for highlighting the service you received during your stay.

Stellenbosch
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful hotel, lovely surroundings, peaceful & elegant. The only problem was there were building works being carried out & was woken at 7:15 the first morning!! Following a complaint it didn't happen thankfully the following day.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank R7770NSelizabethh
LanzManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Lanzerac Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are happy to hear that any issues you had on your first day were rectified for the remainder of your stay.

297 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (280)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (53)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Other (157)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
6.8 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,540 reviews
1.8 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
315 reviews
1.8 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#6 of 16 in Stellenbosch
798 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
662 reviews
5.2 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#9 of 16 in Stellenbosch
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in the heart of a 155ha working wine estate, on the outskirts of picturesque Stellenbosch, the historic 300-year-old Lanzerac Hotel & Spa is the perfect base from which to explore SA’s most famous winelands. With just 48 luxurious bedrooms, this 180-year-old Manor House exudes an air of intimacy and provides the ultimate in personalized service.The hotel’s fine-dining restaurant with several different dining areas offers guests a wide choice of culinary styles. Guests end their evenings over coffees, liqueurs, cognacs and cigars enjoyed either in the trendy Esquire Whiskey & Cigar Bar or in the elegant Craven Lounge with its genuine antiques and authentic Cape Dutch architecture. Whilst the historic Manor House provides an ideal venue for private in-or-outdoor conferences and functions, the picturesque setting of the Manor Lawns offers the perfect opportunity for exclusive outdoor events and lavish weddings. Leisure activities include swimming in one of the hotel’s 3 outdoor pools, golfing, hiking and mountain biking, wine tasting and cellar tours. Treatments at the world-class Lanzerac Spa & Wellness Center take place against a stunning backdrop of mountains and vineyards, ensuring you leave feeling relaxed and rejuvenated. The spa has recently added the revolutionary “Dr.Fish” Therapy to its repertoire, where tiny fish are utilized to exfoliate the skin and give it a micro-massage. Come and experience true South African heritage, first-class service and luxury, superior pampering and wellness! We’ve been preparing for your arrival for over 300 years! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lanzerac Hotel & Spa

Address: No. 1 Lanzerac Street | PO Box 4, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Price Range: £140 - £302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lanzerac Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Lanzerac Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanzerac Manor And Winery Hotel Stellenbosch
Lanzerac Manor And Winery Stellenbosch
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#2 Spa Hotel in Stellenbosch
#4 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#7 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lanzerac Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Lanzerac Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Courtyard block or one of the lodges with private pool.”
 of 5 bubbles 676russelld, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The newly decorated rooms are lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles Hooggenoeg, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“our room was close to the central building which may be helpful”
 of 5 bubbles kauaijim5, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The courtyard rooms overlooking are beautifully furnished and so quaint.”
 of 5 bubbles 661JanetG, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for one of the renovated pool coutryard rooms.”
  • Entrance to Room10
 of 5 bubbles , 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay