We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Weltevreden Estate

Hotels.comUS$80*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Weltevreden Estate
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

79 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 75: English reviews
Start your review of Weltevreden Estate
 Click to rate
Reviewed today NEW

Weltevreden is a lovely estate close to Stellenbosch (just a few mins by car/taxi) and perfect as a base to explore the surrounding area from. The rooms are great value for money (we were a small group and booked both normal twin/double rooms and the suite). Note that the bathroom in the double room is pretty much part of the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank anonymousC5892LA
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The estate itself and its grounds are very well preserved. It is within a reasonable driving distance to some very good wineries and the main Stellenbosch streets. High points: The room had everything we needed and the staff were lovely. Breakfast was above average though not the beautiful spread other photos seem to suggest. Points of concern: Getting to the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 477yairs
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

We only visited the restaurant not the hotel. We hadn't booked but, although the restaurant was fully booked, the very friendly staff set up an extra table under a tree for us. We had a lovely tea - beautiful croissants, chocolate brownies and best of all the melkkos. Per chance I met the owner who was also extremely friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cathykukard
Edgemead, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The in-house dinner was a bit of a disappointment - my husband's rib-eye steak was tough and the pie i had was too big and the fritters was too dry. The breakfasts and lunches were EXCELLENT. Staff was very friendly.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank cheesefestival
Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I loved the property, views, food, staff and room! Recommend to couples. Super close to Stellenbosch town and plenty of wine farms on the doorstep so you can explore. Staff was super friendly, rooms clean and the food was delicious.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank m e
WeltevredenEstate12, Manager at Weltevreden Estate, responded to this review

Dear m e, Thank you for your amazing review of Weltevreden Estate after your recent stay. We are so happy that you chose to stay with us, over all the other options Stellenbosch has to offer. Moreover it is great to read that you were satisfied with our service and facilities. We will share your kind words with the rest...

Pretoria
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Venue tucked away off the beaten track. Lovely atmosphere and interesting decor but bath/shower combo did not work well and I would have preferred a room with a view! Delicious breakfasts and supportive staff.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank GautengVisitor
WeltevredenEstate12, Manager at Weltevreden Estate, responded to this review

Dear GautengVisitor, Thank you for reaching out and writing your review about your recent stay at Weltevreden Estate. We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the unique decor and atmosphere. As Weltevreden Estate has been honoured with the status of a heritage site, we are unable to make any structural changes to the...

Umhlanga, South Africa
Reviewed 30 March 2017

Thanks for the excellent service and such divine, friendly staff. The breakfasts and meals at the resturant were delicious. As a Formula one fan, loved the decor in the pub. Will definitely reccommend to friends and family and be back next time we're in Stellenbosch.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank debbiefY3490VN
WeltevredenEstate12, Manager at Weltevreden Estate, responded to this review

Dear Debbie, Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to write this review. Your comments will definitely be shared with the rest of the team who I am sure will appreciate the compliments. We look forward to host you and your family on your next visit to our Estate. Hope you have a wonderful day! With Kind...

Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 24 March 2017

We had a wonderful stay in Weltevreden enjoying the very comfortable and beautifully refurbished rooms although a little noisy during the night. The staff is very nice and helpful.Very well situated for a visit to the wine region.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 824katjas
WeltevredenEstate12, Manager at Weltevreden Estate, responded to this review

Dear Katja, Thank you for your wonderful review. Your kind words are truly appreciated. We will definitely pass your comments along to the rest of the team who I am sure will be thrilled to hear of your experience. Should you ever find yourself in Stellenbosch again, please do keep us in mind. We look forward to your next visit....

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

Nicely nested near stellenbosch this estate offers a few rooms which are cosy and very romantic (except the toilet in the room which they will change) the beds are comfortable the breakfast idyllic in the garden and the staff ultra relax and friendly. To be visited without hesitation

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fgoblet
WeltevredenEstate12, Manager at Weltevreden Estate, responded to this review

Dear fgoblet, Thank you for reaching out and writing your review about your recent stay at Weltevreden Estate. We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and received great service from the team. We will share your review with them. As Weltevreden Estate has been honoured with the status of a heritage site, we are unable...

Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Comming off the main road, I found the signage VERY confusing unable to see the difference between the entrance to the new housing estate and Weltevreden. Once in, again so signage directing us to Reception and or the B&B houses. We were greeted by a confused fellow trying to direct traffic for a function, but with a clipboard listing new...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Noel D
WeltevredenEstate12, Manager at Weltevreden Estate, responded to this review

Dear Noel D, Many thanks for taking the time to review Weltevreden Estate following your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as breakfast and service received from our staff. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our grounds as well. We have taken note of your comments...

68 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (60)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
1.9 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
573 reviews
4.5 mi away
Lovane Boutique Wine Estate and Guest House
1.4 mi away
Sugarbird Manor
Sugarbird Manor
#20 of 112 in Stellenbosch
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Rozendal Guest Farm
Rozendal Guest Farm
#17 of 112 in Stellenbosch
227 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hawksmoor House at Matjieskuil Farm
5.1 mi away
The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel
The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel
#5 of 112 in Stellenbosch
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This magnificent property is personified by the picturesque setting that only Stellenbosch can bestow. Exquisitely refurbished manor house incorporates 5 gorgeous rooms. Main suite permits the use of a beautiful yellow wood kitchen, dining area and formal lounge. 4 elevated bedchambers prides original Cape Dutch architecture with a cosy, thatched-roof finish. Operated on a bed-and-breakfast basis. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Weltevreden Estate

Address: Welgevonden Road | Cloetesville, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Price Range: £50 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Weltevreden Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Weltevreden Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Weltevreden Estate staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
2 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Weltevreden Estate staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you have difficulty climbing stairs, do stay in a room on the ground floor (i.e. an 'Executive Apartment').”
274marnil, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose the ground floor room if narrow stair case is not for you”
madm286, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“There are 4 rooms and they are all well equipped with aircon and free standing bath tub”
Napanangka, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go in a group because all rooms use the same living room under the roof”
Philip3012, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The downstairs bedroom has a large wooden four post bed, lovely old bookshelves and a grand spacious bathroom.”
Emielke, 4 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$80* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$80
Orbitz.comUS$80
Booking.comUS$81
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates