We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveller (204)
Room & Suite (221)
Dining (31)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Art Hotel is a boutique hotel, located in a historic French-style building in Recoleta, at a few blocks from the legendary cemetery. Its ground floor contains an ..art gallery and its rooms, although not big, are very cozy, decorated with a combination of modern and antique.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Minibar
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
Contact
Calle Gral Miguel de Azcuenaga 1268 La Recoleta, Buenos Aires C1115AAJ Argentina
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Jorge Newbery Airport3 mi
Ministro Pistarini Airport17 mi
Facultad de Medicina9 min
Agüero9 min
Neighbourhood
Recoleta
Characterised by the French-style mansions which are the legacy of its aristocratic past, Recoleta is the true “Paris of the South.” Walking around this neighbourhood is an experience like no other in Buenos Aires: its streets are lined with elegant apartment buildings, exclusive boutiques, and former mansions turned into high-end hotels and embassies, which exude an alluring air of sophistication and class. You'll also find a rich cultural scene centred on the National Museum of Fine Arts, the National Library, and the Recoleta Cultural Center; as well as some great shopping spots, like the Buenos Aires Design Mall with an artists' fair set up in Plaza Francia every weekend.
Read more
See all nearby hotels
631Reviews
453Photos
16Q+A
37Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 211
  • 248
  • 112
  • 39
  • 21
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Our travel agent booked us into this hotel after we told her we preferred boutique hotels. Unfortunately, this was hardly the experience we hoped for. The rooms are run down with cracks in the sinks, in the ceilings, and dirty walls. The desk staff were non-helpful and at
Read more
Response from Manager A, Gerente at A Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thanks for your review. The building has 100 years, we are starting an important remodelation, we know that some rooms have details, but on the other hand, we offer one of the bests deals in the neighbourhood (Recoleta). We are afraid, you had a really high expectation of Buenos Aires, and you got dessapointed (due to this comment "it is surrounded by many ugly modern buildings (although to be fair, this is the case in much of Buenos Aires"). We are used to get reviews about the Front Desk, we would like to know why you think that sometimes they were rude to you. Regards,
Read more
We were put here by a Tour Operator. On arrival the front door was locked, once we had found our way to our allocated room, inspected it, and discovered it was in poor repair, chipped and cracked sink, peeling paint and wallpaper, mold, broken telephone, filthy curtains, lack
Read more
Response from Manager A, Gerente at A Hotel
Responded 30 Jan 2019
Thanks for your review. January, it was a busy a month for us, it is a small hotel, we work with many travel agencies, and with GDS systems, if you were here just for a really short period of time, it is possible that you had not seen another guests. You had the chance to upgrade your booking, to a King room (with more lights, to the street, with chairs and with more space in the room) even thoug, you decided to change to another hotel, we respected that. We know, that we have details to solve, but we offer one the best deals in this area, you had another more expensive (way more expensive) options nearby. The breakfast area, has led lighting, it is not dark, it is not necessary to have lights like a stadium, we always liked to certain cosy atmosphere. We have been working with many tour operators since 2004, and it is not normal, to receive so despective complains. We think, you had really high expectations, for a small budget hotel (we offer rates from USD 50 per night), and that is why, you were so uncomfortable. Regards,
Read more
Also most of the rooms are internal - so no windows or daylight. Everything is old and damaged. Mould in the bathrooms. Cheap bedding/towels, damaged furniture - TVs that were impossible to use - A/C unreliable and very small gloomy (again no windows) breakfast room with very
Read more
Response from Manager A, Gerente at A Hotel
Responded 19 Jan 2019
Thanks for your review. First of all, it is a flat with 100 years, I think you are quiet confused, we have replaced all the towels two months ago with one of the best companies in town. We know that have some things to reform, with just in some rooms (that could not be solved in high season). On the other hand, we remind that you have paid a really low rate, we still offer a good rate (you can ready other comments) for the area we are. On the other hand, we have only 8 (eight) internal rooms with small windows, if it was a problem for you, why did you ask to move to other one? The TV is possible to use, it was a shame you did not ask at the front desk, the same with the air conditioning, the Front Desk is to solve problems, if you do not ask, we can´t know if something is wrong. We are reforming some rooms, but for finantial reasons, we can close two months to do everything faster. According to the breakfast, we desagree, A Hotel offers a good breakfast, we serve coffee, different types of tea, different types of bread, croissants, cheese cream, sweet jam, “dulce de leche”, honey, different types of fruits, cereal, yogurt, jam and cheese, and orange juice. For a hotel that offers non refundable rates from USD 55 + TAX, what did you expect? It is a shame you did not give us the chance to make your stay more comfortable. Regards,
Read more
+4
DO NOT STAY HERE. (Now called 'A Hotel', they were previously called Art Hotel and judging from the rest of the place, I'd guess the 'rt' fell off one day a decade ago and they never bothered to replace it). With so many great hotel and AirBnB options available in BA, many for a
Read more
Response from Manager A, Gerente at A Hotel
Responded 28 Dec 2018
Thanks for your review. We have photographs of ALL OUR rooms, in our website, and in all Reservation Systems. The problem, is that you have seen the images of the "King" rooms, and you have reserved a "Queen" with a non refundable rate. After staying in the room, you wanted a refund for the whole amount of the stay (three nights). Having "standard rates", why did you reserve the cheapest non refundable rate available? We inform you, that is not possible to find a 4 stars hotel (like you expected) for a rate of USD 66.33 per night with breakfast included (we dare to find a hotel at Cristmas Eve in Buenos Aires for that money). We know that some rooms, have old courtains and some painting details, but nothing serious. We do maintenance regularly and some details, could not be solved at high season. We quote your comment "I'll admit that the combination of disappointment, frustration, and shock at the treatment, combined with the melancholy of a Christmas Day away from family, made me want to cry." , WE ASKE YOU, is it our fault that you have decided to travel at this time of the year? Fortunatelly, most of our clients apreciate our hotel, and post good reviers. It is a shame you did not accept a room change, if you felt so unconfortable. Regards,
Read more
A Hotel is a charming boutique hotel in the heart of Recoleta, an upscale neighborhood in Buenos Aires. We were warmly greeted after a very long travel day by a charming desk clerk who helped up with our (ton of) luggage and checked us in quickly and efficiently. There is a
Read more
Response from Manager A, Gerente at A Hotel
Responded 22 Nov 2018
Thanks for staying with us. Hope to see you again some other time. Regards,
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Family and Play AreasBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorA Hotel
The Small & Cozy Twin Room at the A Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorA Hotel
The Queen Room at the A Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorA Hotel
The King Room at the A Hotel
Photo provided by managementA Hotel
King Room
Photo provided by managementA Hotel
Queen Room
PreviousNext
12345645
Hi there do they offer airport transport
Att We do offer transportation service, it has extra cost. Regards,
1 vote
Show all answers
Att Actualmente el costo de búsqueda, es de $ 300 . Por el tema de horarios, no hay problema, contamos con un servicio que trabaja las 24 horas. Saludos,
0 votes
Att Actualmente el costo de búsqueda, es de $ 300 . Por el tema de horarios, no hay problema, contamos con un servicio que trabaja las 24 horas. Saludos,
0 votes
Hola! Si, contamos con servicio de pick up, el cual tiene un costo extra. Pueden comunicarse vía e - mail con el hotel para pasar la información e informarles los costos. Saludos,
0 votes
PreviousNext
1234
"The inner rooms have poor natural lighting and the exterior rooms are subject to street noise. Ask for a room at the back of the hotel."
"Go Elsewhere"
"Dont take internal rooms"
"Choose a different hotel, or an AirBnB"
"Corner rooms are quieter"
PreviousNext
1234568
PRICE RANGE
US$54 - US$69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
art hotel buenos airesart buenos aires
LOCATION
ArgentinaCapital Federal DistrictBuenos AiresRecoleta
NUMBER OF ROOMS
35
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing