We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveller (80)
Room & Suite (12)
Dining (1)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Hostel Lao is like a good friend's house where you can relax and meet people. Owned and run in a different style by English-Argentine travelers. For 5 years we have been welcoming travelers to stay with us, enjoy our home and see a more Mendozan side to the city. With just 24 beds to keep things friendly, chilled and clean; Lao is a traveler's oasis in the middle of a great city. A social, lively home, NOT a party hostel!
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Room features
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Charming
352Reviews
80Photos
2Q+A
42Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 246
  • 75
  • 21
  • 6
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Very good value for money in a sociable and friendly hostel. Let’s be clear, for the money you pay it is harsh to expect hotel-rate service per some of the complaints. But it is clean, has a kitchen you can get by on and a lovely garden area for chilling. Owner/staff are very
Read more
Lots of positives but lots of negatives too. Pros - nice interior, loads of room to relax, nice vibe, rooms and beds are nice, nice showers, good location, very clean, good knowledge of mendoza and things to do and a decent price. Cons - WiFi is poor- slow in common areas and
Read more
Response from Astor_Elder, Owner at Hostel Lao
Responded 24 Apr 2018
Hi. We put plenty of effort in! Perhaps it would be hard for you to appreciate in a few hours. I could dismiss your complaints one by one, for example no toilet role, yes we put fresh in every day and leave extra roles on reception. Lazy member of staff? No, just an owner who answered your claims about being in the wrong room, wasn't the case, wanting a special breakfast just because, sorry but not how a hostel works! Or even that we are actually charging less now than we were last year? Even with 20/30% inflation. or that the kitchen runs on mains gas, you just needed to open the big brass key by the stove marked OPEN! The only thing I would really like to say is that this is a hostel, a reasonably priced one, that does the best it can to make guests happy. We are never going to be able to do this if people are unrealistic about what 4 euros buys in Argentina. And it's even harder when people are looking for he pea under the mattress!
Read more
Okay this hostal is above average in many ways. They use pesticide in regular basis, so you will rarely see bugs/roaches. I liked the pictures of Riviera and Gogh in my room. They will give you a nice map of town. One staff here is very kind and helpful. There are two other
Read more
Response from Astor_Elder, Owner at Hostel Lao
Responded 2 Apr 2018
Hi. Thanks for repeating the review you posted on HostelWorld, again, with some new complaints. Yes, in England, where I am from, where English is coincidentally from, we call the floor above the ground floor the 1st floor. Your room and bathroom were impecable. I inspected them myself before you entered. I really am surprised by this complaint. But then you must be sensitive to many things lots of people just don't notice. For example a first fooor room that's about fifteen meters from the ground floor social area and the occupant not being able to sleep for cigarette smoke suggests to me a great sensitivity. The hostel is a social place but noise levels are minimal, a few cigarettes normal, and windows that can be closed to shut out noise, and smoke, are present in all rooms. We are not overly sadden by your not planning to return to our establishment. All the best.
Read more
We had a very bad experience here! We got the superior double bed with private balcony. The room was really disgusting! It smelt very much and everywhere was mold. You can see that nothing was cleaned and a lot of things were broken, like the ventilator. The breakfast is really
Read more
Response from Astor_Elder, Owner at Hostel Lao
Responded 2 Apr 2018
Hey. As we explained at the time. We are very sorry a freak storm caused a small amount of water to leak into your room. Until this happened we had actually had great feedback from you about your room and the hostel. If your room was really disgusting and full of mould I can not imagine you would stay? It's understandable that having your room flooded can cause a bad feeling. Unfortunately we can not control the weather. We didn't charge you and apologised. As the worlds weather changes we are having to deal with storms that bring a years rainfall in an hour. We have added a new drain and resalead the doors and so far it's working. I really don't think your review is fair or balanced or actually honest. But I can understand that getting material possessions wet can be very traumatic. Perhaps the information that his storm killed one person and two temporary settlements were completely flooded, soaking people, who have little to begin with, valuable possessions, will put things into perspective. Safe travels.
Read more
This hostel is an amazing place to meet other travellers. They organise very affordable and delicious barbecues (not every night though) which is a good accosion to meet other guests. They also help you out booking wine tours, sunset horseriding, etc. We ended up in Mendoza
Read more
Response from Astor_Elder, Owner at Hostel Lao
Responded 2 Apr 2018
Thanks for the feedback. It was great to meet you.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachFamily and Play AreasBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Quarto duplo com banheiro privativo
Quarto duplo com banheiro privativo
Bathroom
Habitación sin ruido
PreviousNext
123
"Go for the slightly more expensive dorm beds, they have the lockers."
"we stayed in garden room with ensuite. Very comfortable."
"Some private rooms have in-room shower/bathroom, some do not"
"the ensuite rooms were great"
"They have more luxury rooms in the main house. If you are staying a while an upgrade may be best."
PreviousNext
1234569
PRICE RANGE
US$12 - US$34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ArgentinaCuyoProvince of MendozaMendoza
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing