We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Overview
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Non-Smoking Hotel
Family Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Accessible rooms
Free Parking
Breakfast included
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Reviews (351)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveller rating
190
54
16
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
190
54
16
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shared bathroom common areas stayed here for nights meet other travellers horse riding double bed location is great wine tour hammocks loa tours argentina dorm wineries
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 266 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2018 via mobile

Lots of positives but lots of negatives too. Pros - nice interior, loads of room to relax, nice vibe, rooms and beds are nice, nice showers, good location, very clean, good knowledge of mendoza and things to do and a decent price. Cons - WiFi...More

Date of stay: April 2018
Thank 692danielc692
Response from Astor_Elder, Owner at Hostel LaoResponded 24 April 2018

Hi. We put plenty of effort in! Perhaps it would be hard for you to appreciate in a few hours. I could dismiss your complaints one by one, for example no toilet role, yes we put fresh in every day and leave extra roles on...More

Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

Okay this hostal is above average in many ways. They use pesticide in regular basis, so you will rarely see bugs/roaches. I liked the pictures of Riviera and Gogh in my room. They will give you a nice map of town. One staff here is...More

Date of stay: March 2018
Thank Simon_Jaeho
Response from Astor_Elder, Owner at Hostel LaoResponded 2 April 2018

Hi. Thanks for repeating the review you posted on HostelWorld, again, with some new complaints. Yes, in England, where I am from, where English is coincidentally from, we call the floor above the ground floor the 1st floor. Your room and bathroom were impecable. I...More

Reviewed 11 February 2018

We had a very bad experience here! We got the superior double bed with private balcony. The room was really disgusting! It smelt very much and everywhere was mold. You can see that nothing was cleaned and a lot of things were broken, like the...More

Date of stay: January 2018
1  Thank Sophie G
Response from Astor_Elder, Owner at Hostel LaoResponded 2 April 2018

Hey. As we explained at the time. We are very sorry a freak storm caused a small amount of water to leak into your room. Until this happened we had actually had great feedback from you about your room and the hostel. If your room...More

Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

This hostel is an amazing place to meet other travellers. They organise very affordable and delicious barbecues (not every night though) which is a good accosion to meet other guests. They also help you out booking wine tours, sunset horseriding, etc. We ended up in...More

Date of stay: January 2018
Thank Lijnos
Response from Astor_Elder, Owner at Hostel LaoResponded 2 April 2018

Thanks for the feedback. It was great to meet you.

Reviewed 9 December 2017 via mobile

Hostel loa is one of the most relaxing hostels around with hammocks, big comfy coaches and just a great chilled vibe. It's also only a 5 minute walk from the bus terminal. The only reasoning for rating this a four is because of the staff...More

Date of stay: December 2017
Thank Matthew B
View more reviews
About
Description
Hostel Lao is like a good friend's house where you can relax and meet people. Owned and run in a different style by English-Argentine travelers. For 5 years we have been welcoming travelers to stay with us, enjoy More our home and see a more Mendozan side to the city. With just 24 beds to keep things friendly, chilled and clean; Lao is a traveler's oasis in the middle of a great city. A social, lively home, NOT a party hostel! Less
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pool
Beachfront
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Number of rooms
9
Price range
US$13 - US$32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Number of rooms
9
Price range
US$13 - US$32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Mendoza
Photos
Traveller (80)
Room & Suite (12)
Dining (1)
Pool & Beach (1)
Family and Play Areas (3)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 86 nearby hotels
Hotel Milena
43 reviews
.06 miles away
Sheraton Mendoza Hotel
1,545 reviews
.19 miles away
Estancia Chateau D'ancon
8 reviews
.21 miles away
Modigliani Art & Design Suites Mendoza
345 reviews
.21 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 737 nearby restaurants
Club Social Cantina de Pizzas
16 reviews
.24 miles away
Chimpay Bistro
143 reviews
.21 miles away
Mirador Lounge Restaurant
119 reviews
.18 miles away
La Veneciana
49 reviews
.25 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 419 nearby attractions
Terraza Jardin Mirador
305 reviews
.42 miles away
Plaza Italia
457 reviews
.28 miles away
Regency Casino Mendoza
39 reviews
.36 miles away
Plaza Pellegrini
27 reviews
.18 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Hostel Lao staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Go for the slightly more expensive dorm beds, they have the lockers."
B5482THemilyc
8 Apr 2017
Read review
"we stayed in garden room with ensuite. Very comfortable."
964arlenea
29 Feb 2016
Read review
"Some private rooms have in-room shower/bathroom, some do not"
nathans344
24 Nov 2015
Read review
"the ensuite rooms were great"
Paul-HenryHobson
16 Nov 2015
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing