We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Design Suites Bariloche

Avenida Exequiel Bustillo 2500, San Carlos de Bariloche R8402AAX Argentina
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (1652)
360
Panoramas (8)
Room & Suite (680)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#29 of 150 hotels in San Carlos de Bariloche
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The sky fades in to the lake, an extention of the natural beauty. Textures extracted from the earth, wood, stone anf leather. A warm space that insatifies the senses, awakining the instict that join us with nature.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Skiing
Banquet room
Spa
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Full body massage
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Park View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Portuguese
1734Reviews56Q+A71Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 797
  • 595
  • 186
  • 80
  • 76
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
HGBParis wrote a review Jan 2024
Paris, France289 contributions280 helpful votes
One of the worst hotels I've ever stayed in; and for the last 50 years, I've spent 1/3 of each year in hotels, be it business or pleasure. On the positive side I can only say it is nicely located, close to the lake and the staff, if young and quite inexperienced, is nice. We started in a standard room which was horrible: tiny balcony with no view whatsover, full of paint stains all over the place, moisture in the bathroom, cheap looking and old furniture etc. So we changed to a junior suite. At least there was some view but not only did everything also look very oldish (yes the hotel is called Design Suites, but in the style of the 70s with no upkeep...) but for the first time in my life I saw this suite was "provided" with: - no aircon (it was in the 30s during our stay - no tissues - no face towel - no shaving mirror - a boiler but no coffee bags (and only 2 tea bags!!) - only 2 electric plugs with international adaptors - 2 armchairs with a torn plastic cover - curtains not closing properly - if 2 robes were provided, both were child size and we were 2 adults - toilet flush not working properly Public area in the building we were staying were filthy: look at the pictures I took from the lift to the room! And to put a very sour cherry on the cake, at breakfast which was included in our tariff, we were charged for boiled eggs and expressos!!! We've stayed in close to 10 hotels in Argentine and this is truly a first time. I truly wonder if the general manager of this place is located 10000 miles away.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid this place.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Design Suites Bariloche, Director General at Design Suites Bariloche
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear guest, We thank you for choosing us for your stay and for giving us your opinion. We are very sorry that you were not satisfied with our service and that you had any inconvenience during your visit. We apologize for the inconvenience caused and hope you will give us another opportunity to demonstrate our quality and commitment. We assure you that we continually work to improve our standards and meet the needs of our guests. Best regards, Design Suites Bariloche
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
EddieOnTour wrote a review Nov 2023
Waterford, Ireland463 contributions266 helpful votes
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Staff were excellent  Rooms had an amazing view with a hot tub/jacuzzi in each room by the window overlooking the view of the mountains/lake. Bed was very comfortable. Internet could be a little slow at times. Food was excellent, breakfast was very good. A very relaxing stay with rooms with a view to die for. We had rooms in the 3rd block the higher up you go the better the view. 05 rooms have a jacuzzi in the bay window of the room overlooking the lake. Would most certainly come back.   .
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Get a room as high as possible in the block, 3rd block was very good 05 rooms have the jacuzzi in...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Design Suites Bariloche, Director General at Design Suites Bariloche
Responded 27 Nov 2023
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your kind comments! At Design Suites we work very hard to achieve excellence, hence all suggestions help us to improve our aim. We look forward to welcoming you among our guests in the near future. Sincerly yours, Design Suites Bariloche
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Annie wrote a review Mar 2023
London, United Kingdom6 contributions
The positives: All the staff were lovely The view from breakfast is breathtaking The negatives: The hotel was very dated and needs redecorating. Our bathroom had a lot of black mould. The room walls are very thin, you can hear everything from your neighbours (throughout the night) - bring ear plugs. The breakfast was very average, but it was made better by the view from breakfast. Overall, this was sadly not a 4 * hotel experience and it wasn’t the relaxing experience we were hoping for.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Design Suites Bariloche, Director General at Design Suites Bariloche
Responded 26 Jun 2023
Dear guest, We're sorry we didn't meet your expectations. I appreciate your feedback and I hope you can find a better hotel next time. Best regards, Design Suites Bariloche
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jill S wrote a review Mar 2023
Washington DC, District of Columbia23 contributions25 helpful votes
Pros: Great location, walkable to town Solid breakfast with friendly staff (reservations at set times required) Powerful and enjoyable shower Cons: The windows and walls might as well be made of paper. We could hear our neighbors conversations, zipping of bags, everything from within the building and the dogs barking outside continuously at 5 am. The noise factor should be considered by anyone visiting. If you are a light sleeper, this is not the place for you. Also, struggled to get taxis at the location. The task seemed to baffle the front desk when we asked for help on more than one occasion and led to cabs appearing, leaving and long wait times. So plan ahead if attempting this.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Avoid if noise sensitive
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Victoria R wrote a review Jan 2022
San Isidro, Argentina9 contributions4 helpful votes
We came here for the third time (once on winter for skiing and twice in the summer). The staff is very friendly, especially Agustina the manager, and Ricardo, one of the waiters. Internet is much better now than when we came before.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: I recommend not to choose a room on the ground floor. Standard rooms are very good and have a...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Design Suites Bariloche, Director General at Design Suites Bariloche
Responded 18 Jan 2022
Dear Guest; Thank you very much for taking the time to share your perspective about your stay at Design Suites. It was a pleasure to serve you and it is most rewarding to learn you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards, Design Suites Bariloche
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lynn M wrote a review Apr 2020
Houston, Texas2534 contributions302 helpful votes
+1
We had an excellent night in this hotel. Our room was lovely, beautiful design and decorations. We spent the evening in our hot tub jacuzzi in our room. One of the best we have ever been in. So relaxing we did not want to get out! The room had a nice , comfortable big bed, a good desk area, nice storage and a very nice shower. Like so may other hotels, the glass wall is not long enough, so water spatters onto the floor. (Don’t the manufacturers test their products?) The huge dining room offered a buffet breakfast of eggs, hams, breads, fruits, juices, cereals and the like. The watermelon was delicious! My husband ordered a cappuccino which came out in a tall glass and the coffee was layered (beautiful) with a nitro beer effect. (He had to pay for the coffee, which was not included in the breakfast, which was an inconvenience. Lucky we had cash.) Very eclectic decor like chairs hanging on the walls. The view of the mountains and water from the dining room were spectacular. My only other ding of the restaurant was that the restaurant staff were not very hospitable for this level of a hotel dining room. I always had to get out of their way when going back to the buffet. (When I was in the industry we allowed guests to pass first. What happened to service-oriented staff? Other than refilling the buffet, none were walking around checking on the guests, but instead congregating behind the bar area, as you can see from my photo.)
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Design Suites Bariloche, Director General at Design Suites Bariloche
Responded 25 Apr 2020
Dear Guest; Thank you very much for taking the time to share your perspective about your stay at Design Suites. Kind regards, Design Suites Bariloche
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
LizDeee wrote a review Mar 2020
Moonachie, New Jersey77 contributions56 helpful votes
My review should be 4.5 stars. The good - amazing view of the lake from the hotel restaurant, beautiful hotel design, and super helpful, super friendly staff. At least a few speak very good English and those that don't seem to understand enough. I felt very welcome and relaxed here. I had a nice view of trees from my room through a floor to ceiling corner window which made me feel in nature although we were not (really) in the middle of nowhere. The not so good - the beautiful wood floors and furnishings are probably what caused footsteps and voices to be heard very prominently. But, with earplugs I didn't notice while sleeping. There is wood around the sink instead of tile which made me feel the need to wipe up the splashes from the sink. The windows had no screens, but maybe this is common in this area. I'm not sure if the thermostat was working, and I stayed on two unusually hot days. There is a steep hill to climb to get from the lobby to the rooms, but a van is available to take guests up the hill. However, you have to get up the first hill from the street to the lobby on your own if you're walking (as far as I know). I enjoy uphill exercise though 😊 But, it may be too much for others especially if it ever gets that unusually hot again in the area. The walk to town center is about 30 minutes on a mostly unpaved walking area beside a very busy street. I don't know if I would stay here again, but I did enjoy my stay very much.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Design Suites Bariloche, Director General at Design Suites Bariloche
Responded 12 Apr 2020
Dear Guest; Thank you very much for taking the time to share your perspective about your stay at Design Suites. It was a pleasure to serve you and it is most rewarding to learn you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards, Design Suites Bariloche
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
chris_fss wrote a review Feb 2020
Bahia Blanca, Argentina186 contributions74 helpful votes
This is our 4th and last year staying at this hotel. Instead of getting better each year the service gets worse. The week before we were due to arrive a pending charged was lodged against my card. It took Mercedes Anania 4 days to get this charge reversed! When we arrived we were checked in by Barbara and she was unbelievable. She was curt, did not acknowledge that we were return clients, everything was conducted in a very offhand manner, why would you want to stay here again? The majority of the staff are very friendly and professional but as the old saying goes “One bad apple spoils the barrel.” The hotel is starting to look some what run down. The internet speed was very slow. We have already chosen our new hotel for next year.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from DesignSuitesBRC, Gerente at Design Suites Bariloche
Responded 11 Feb 2020
Dear guest, We deeply regret reading your lines. We work every day to make unforgettable stays for our guests and we are sorry we did not succeed. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to reverse this situation and receive them next year. It will be a pleasure for us. Regards, Design Suites Bariloche
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Christine S wrote a review Jan 2020
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom99 contributions74 helpful votes
On arrival at Design Suites we were told that we had alovely room and they weren't kidding. The hotel is in five buildings each one higher up the hillside and we were in Building 4 on the second floor. We walked in and the view blew us away. We had a picture window and a balcony overlooking Lake Nahuel Huapi and the surrounding snow capped mountains. We even had a jacuzzi bath in the window as there was no way we could be overlooked. It was one of the nicest and most comfortable rooms we have ever stayed in. There was a steep walk to the main building and back again but there was a minibus provided if you neede it. The restaurant had a very good dinner menu and the food was delicious but quite expensive. The breakfasts were good too. We had a bus tour into the mountains and stopped at a view point which was astounding. We have seen many mountain views but nothing as awe inspiring as this. We would recommend anyone who loves mountains to visit Bariloche and stay at Design Suites.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Choose a room in one of the upper buildings
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from DesignSuitesBRC, Gerente at Design Suites Bariloche
Responded 13 Jan 2020
Dear Guest; Thank you very much for taking the time to share your perspective about your stay at Design Suites. It was a pleasure to serve you and it is most rewarding to learn you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards, Design Suites Bariloche
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
neverstoptraveling01 wrote a review Jan 2020
Baltimore, Maryland114 contributions81 helpful votes
A nice, relaxing place to stay, but I'd probably choose elsewhere if I were to return to Bariloche. From the dining room to the pool and some rooms, this hotel has great views of the lake and mountains. We enjoyed just sitting in the dining room are relaxing in the pool. The hotel is located outside of town making for a quiet place to sleep. The walk is about 20 minutes and pretty easy on a nice day. Thankfully we had sunny days, but I couldn't imagine doing the walk in the cold or rain. The rooms are clean, spacious, and comfortable with a great jetted tub to relax in after a long day. At first the staff were friendly and accommodating bringing our luggage to our room and having us all checked in from our tour, but it pretty much ended there. We received a ticket for complimentary welcome drinks in the bar between 3pm-7pm. Unfortunately, we arrived after 7pm, so couldn't use them on day 1 then on day 2, we tried to use them at 6pm when we returned from our tour, but they said the bar was closed due to preparing for Christmas dinner. In addition, we ordered a cheese pizza for room service, but they brought a mushroom and olive pizza which I'm allergic. They brought a new pizza, but still charged us for both.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the San Carlos de Bariloche area.
PRICE RANGE
£106 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
design suites bariloche hotel san carlos de bariloche, design hotel bariloche
LOCATION
ArgentinaPatagoniaProvince of Rio NegroSan Carlos de Bariloche
NUMBER OF ROOMS
78
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DESIGN SUITES BARILOCHE - Updated 2024 (San Carlos de Bariloche, Argentina)

Frequently Asked Questions about Design Suites Bariloche
Which popular attractions are close to Design Suites Bariloche?
Nearby attractions include Escape Room Bariloche (1.5 miles), Lago Nahuel Huapi (1.6 miles), and Lago Steffen (3.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Design Suites Bariloche?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at Design Suites Bariloche?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Design Suites Bariloche?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Design Suites Bariloche?
Conveniently located restaurants include mexicano cafe, Nené Bar Y Club Social, and L'Italiano Trattoria - Calle España.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Design Suites Bariloche?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Design Suites Bariloche?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Design Suites Bariloche?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Portuguese.
Does Design Suites Bariloche have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.