We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Howard Johnson Phoenix North

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Phoenix North
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

343 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 340: English reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2016

Horrible digusting filty place, pool is empty property has what appears to be prostitutes roaming around the parking lot with men coming and going, the desk clerk demanded a cash deposit even though I had booked online with a credit card, even though I left that digusting place they charged my card, I have filed a complaint with the Arizona...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nancy F
Dipesh P, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Phoenix North, responded to this review

Thank you for reporting this incident you had in the hotel. We are already making reports about this so the management will be informed by this news. We are very sorry about your disappointment but rest assured, your concerns will be highly appreciated to better our services to our dear customers. We hope you can consider us again after the...

Reviewed 7 May 2016

when I checked out they refused to give me my deposit because I said my room was trashed I hope there's a place I could put the video Let me see pictures of my room I don't know where it's at the staff is horrible checking is horrible Wi-Fi is horrible and the swimming pool is not working it's completely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank randy b
Dipesh P, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Phoenix North, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience, and I am very sorry for the inconveniences that you encountered during your stay. We are now informing the management about the problem for the convenience of our customers. We thank you for sharing your concerns to us so we can continue improving our facilities for our dear customers. We hope to see you...

West Kelowna, Canada
Reviewed 13 April 2016

Extremely low budget although we paid $142.58 US ($194.20 Cdn) for one night for two people with a king bed. The bed was lumpy and the sheets were cheap and "pilly". The carpet was old, ripped and dirty. The bathroom was tiny and old. The room was supposed to be a no smoking room, but it smelled smokey. The front...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank galane2016
Dipesh P, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Phoenix North, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience, and I apologize if you did not feel that our housekeeping met your own standards of cleanliness, though our own standards are very high and include checking up to ensure that rooms are as clean as can be. We want you to experience the best value for your money, to feel comfortable, and to...

Naples, Florida
Reviewed 7 April 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
Dipesh P, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Phoenix North, responded to this review

Eloy, Arizona
Reviewed 30 March 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank H834JAtinas
Dipesh P, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Phoenix North, responded to this review

Stoney Creek
Reviewed 28 March 2016

This location is new to the Howard Johnson's name - used to be a Super 8. It is tired. Pool was closed and no sign of any work being done. Balcony access so no smoking rooms are often smoky with people using the balcony as a smoking area and the window air conditioning pulls the smoke into your room! Towel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LES_13_13
Dipesh P, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Phoenix North, responded to this review

I am so sorry that you smelled smoke in your room and I want to assure you that we do our best to ensure that smokers do not smoke in our non-smoking rooms; and when a situation like this occurs, we address it immediately, thoroughly cleaning and disinfecting to restore the clean smell of our accommodations. Your observations are well...

Greenport, New York
Reviewed 27 March 2016

check your bill for unclear $3.00 internet city tax if you book on line..will call main office on this one

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnanddreena
Dipesh P, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Phoenix North, responded to this review

I apologize that you are not made aware of the additional charge on your stay. I will discuss this concern to the management so they can assist with this thoroughly. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the...

Marana, Arizona
Reviewed 23 March 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 555511marie
Dipesh P, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Phoenix North, responded to this review

Puyallup, United States
Reviewed 23 March 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
Dipesh P, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Phoenix North, responded to this review

Kingman
Reviewed 23 March 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Duane N
Dipesh P, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Phoenix North, responded to this review

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Deer Valley
Fairfield Inn & Suites Phoenix North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North Mountain
Quality Inn Phoenix North I-17
Deer Valley
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Deer Valley
North Mountain
Comfort Suites Phoenix North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Low-rise Motel with adobe-brick exterior located in north Phoenix at Bell Road & I-17. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Phoenix North

Address: 17211 N Black Canyon Hwy, Phoenix, AZ 85023-2249 (Formerly Super 8 Phoenix)
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Deer Valley
Price Range: £36 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Phoenix North 2*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Howard Johnson Phoenix North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Bell Hotel Phoenix
Best Western Phoenix
Phoenix Best Western
Howard Johnson Phoenix North Arizona
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Howard Johnson Phoenix North staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Phoenix North staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles 567triciav, 14 Mar 2016 | Read review
“save your money and to go a better hotel. these rooms are not pretty”
 of 5 bubbles 554kaceyr, 7 Mar 2016 | Read review
“closer to the lobby”
 of 5 bubbles zaiao, 4 Mar 2016 | Read review
“all rooms in the back are quiet and the second floor”
 of 5 bubbles rayd779, 22 Jan 2016 | Read review
“what pool? it was drained and had holes in it looked like it hasn't been used for decades.”
 of 5 bubbles alexcW6534JP, 15 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay