We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel

Show Prices
#11 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,024 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 975: English reviews
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 31 March 2016

My daughter, sister, mom and I stayed here for 4 nights. While I enjoyed our time at Amara, I think 2 nights would have been plenty. My mom, sister and I hadn't been to Sedona in 17 years, and we were all a little overwhelmed at how busy and touristy it has become. Amara provided a nice escape from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MNHayseed
Devin M, General Manager at Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review

MNHayseed- Thank you for taking the time to share some feedback about your stay with us. Our spa and restaurant are amazing... I am so glad you were able to enjoy them both! Spring break certainly drives more visitors to our area this time of year. Don't fret - Sedona is still just as laid back and relaxed for most...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 31 March 2016 via mobile

We spent 4 nights at Amara. Overall, we liked it. Staff is particularly friendly/helpful. Saltrock restaurant is good option for meals, and bartenders know what they are doing. Nice pool hot tub area. Location is great right in town, and on river that you can swim in. Only issue is rooms were loud. We could hear every step taken in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HClowd
Devin M, General Manager at Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review

No steam, no bueno! I sincerely apologize for the maintenance issue that we experienced in the steam rooms. While the issue has been resolved, I am sorry that the were unavailable during your stay. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and for the tip-of-the-cap to our bar team. We will make sure they feel the love! We hope...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 30 March 2016

Pros: - enjoyed the yoga classes - nice creek right next to property - good service, shuttle service is convenient - internet was fast and easy Cons: - spa steam room was broken for both days we were there. Also, steam leaked out at some point causing the firm alarm to ring and everyone had to evacuate the spa. Not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kbun
Devin M, General Manager at Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review

kbun- Thank you for sharing some feedback from your recent visit. I apologize for the maintenance issues you experienced with the spa and door locks . Functionality is always super important to us, but unfortunately, sometimes the unexpected happens! We will continue to work had on preventing these thing before they happen. Thank you again.

West Chester, Ohio
Reviewed 30 March 2016

We had never stayed in Sedona, and I wanted a quite place to just enjoy the scenery. This hotel is down a steep hill from the main shops and we had a room next to the creek (room 124-see photos). The room was certainly an upgrade, and as a Kimpton Karma member you get some perks (sign up ahead of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jbug1959
Devin M, General Manager at Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review

jbug1959- Thank you for highlighting our amazing location and Kimpton Karma perks! We hope to be able to welcome you back again very soon.

Reviewed 30 March 2016 via mobile

Just one look at the architecture reminds one of an old Holiday Inn ... the rooms are tiny, and its generic bones are barely concealed by gray paint and trendy framed art. I love a great Kimpton property as much as (or more than) the next guy...but things here seemed a bit bleak...not just with the look of the place,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Brent & E
Devin M, General Manager at Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review

Brent & E- While the look and feel of a property can be a matter of opinion, getting quality service never is. If we aren't making you feel like the center of our attention, then we aren't doing something right. I apologize if you caught us off our game... We will share this with our team and focus on getting...

Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

The wife and I took a day trip from Florence, AZ up to Sedona on our Harley. Ride was excellent, booked the Amara on-line after reading many reviews. The location is awesome as we could walk to everything. Rooms are small, need a bit of TLC, could have been cleaner. I would expect more for $450!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JanitorCBS
Devin M, General Manager at Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review

JanitorCBS- Thank you for choosing Amara as a stop on your hog! We do our best to keep our pricing competitive amongst similar hotel in the area throughout the year. Please check back with us before your next ride.

Detroit, Michigan
Reviewed 28 March 2016

Paid $500 per night for a first floor room (103) on the main floor. This room is so incredibly loud in the morning we were awakened at 6:15 by somebody moving something like a dumpster or container outside and then people walking in the hallway were making noise. Honestly, the people were whispering, but the door is so thin that...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lindz3
Devin M, General Manager at Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review

Lindz3- Thank you taking the time to provide us with some feedback from your recent say. Obviously this is not the sentiment that we want our guests to have after departing from our hotel. Our goal is to provide the best experience and service possible. I sincerely apologize that you did not feel this at all points during your visit....

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 25 March 2016 via mobile

We have visited the Sedona area a few times and have stayed at many of the highly rated properties in the area. The Amara came recommended by a couple travel industry friends so we decided to check it out. The property is smaller than some of the other we'll known names and sits directly side-by-side with L'Auberge (they used to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tomas M
Devin M, General Manager at Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review, Thomas! I am happy to hear that you took your friends up on their recommendation of our property! There are so many different places to stay in Sedona, but Amara is truly unique for many of the reasons you have listed here. Our valet/bell team certainly does rock... they seem to steal the show...

Reviewed 25 March 2016

This place was great, the rooms were spacious, the restaurant was good. They had nightly happy hours with wine tasting which my girlfriend loved. The infinity pool with the red rocks in the background was so beautiful and the spa had me feeling so relaxed. Highly recommend this place, the staff could not have been more helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
Devin M, General Manager at Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you, Kevin! I am so happy that you and your girlfriend were able to relax and enjoy our property. Thank you for the recommendation!

New York City, New York
Reviewed 23 March 2016 via mobile

I just finished my stay at Amara- it was wonderful! The first thing that stands out is the service- every single person was kind, helpful, and energetic. The valet guys are great- super quick and efficient. As part of the resort fee (which I've read some people complain about in other reviews), you get free valet service as well as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ams1160763
Devin M, General Manager at Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you, ams1160763. We will definitely pass the kind words on to our team... they will be so happy to hear it! I really appreciate the feedback from your visit and we will see you again soon!

605 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (414)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (116)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (150)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (143)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite with Balcony Overlooking Creek (63)
Viewed
Pool (2)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
The Hotel (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The AAA Four-Diamond Amara Resort Hotel & Spa is a modern sanctuary that offers the best of all worlds. Ideally located in the Uptown area of America's most neautiful place, Sedona, Arizona. Welcome to the Amara Resort and Spa. We invite you to sit back, relax and enjoy the many recent enhancements to our property. All guest rooms include luxurious bed linens, robes, in room safes and refrigerators, in addition to a balcony offering spectacular views of the Sedona red rocks or our gardens. Enjoy in room dining or the sounds of live music at Hundred Rox, our indoor/outdoor three meal a day restaurant. Treat yourself to a massage or hot stone treatment at The Spa or sit by our infinity pool and soak in the spirit of Sedona and the Amara Resort and Spa. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 100 Amara Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336-5174
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Price Range: £226 - £469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amara Hotel, Restaurant And Spa
Amara Hotel, Restaurant Hotel Sedona
Amara Resort Sedona
Amara Hotel Sedona
Amara Sedona
Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel Sedona, Arizona
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sedona
#4 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#7 Family Hotel in Sedona
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#12 Business Hotel in Sedona
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel staff and other travellers.
33 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (33)

Questions? Get answers from Amara Resort & Spa, a Kimpton Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms near the pool and garden are great.”
880Ceri, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I had 206 which faced the courtyard & had amazing view. Also had a great view of Snoopy Rock.”
L7831PGelizabeths, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Book early if you are going in spring - and ask about the views available.”
Loued007, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“As I previously stated, I would not want a first floor room that faces the side of the hotel.”
MommaSuz, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose a courtyard room to get great views of the red rocks.”
marccK6536HV, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5