Bird In Hand
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Bird In Hand

Bath Road, Knowl Hill, Maidenhead RG10 9UP England
Traveller (105)
Panorama of the Luxury Room at The Bird In Hand Country Inn
360
Panoramas (9)
The inner garden
Room & Suite (145)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 1 B&B in Knowl Hill
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Bird In Hand is a traditional pub, restaurant and hotel, located in Knowl Hill, between Reading and Maidenhead, and dating back to the 14th-century. A former hunting lodge of King George III, inside you’ll find gorgeous interiors and rustic pub charm, complete with original oak beams, wood panelling, and a large, crackling open fire. Whether you’re travelling for business or visiting nearby attractions such as Legoland, Windsor Castle or the Royal Windsor Racecourse, we’re the ideal place to stay, with 21 comfortable and stylish ensuite rooms, with dog-friendly and family-friendly rooms available. We offer delicious seasonal menus, including our famous 28-day dry-aged steaks cooked in the Josper charcoal oven, which you can enjoy in our cosy restaurant space or large courtyard beer garden in the warmer months. Behind the bar, you’ll find an extensive range of real ale, craft beer, lager and cider from our award-winning Butcombe brewery, and a cocktail menu featuring all the classics. If you’re planning an event, our beautiful private hire space is available for weddings, parties, meetings and other private functions for up to 100 guests.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Board games / puzzles
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Outdoor furniture
Room features
Air conditioning
Bottled water
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TheAA: The Automobile Association.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Languages Spoken
English, German, Portuguese
651Reviews2Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 353
  • 195
  • 58
  • 31
  • 14
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
barnzey901 wrote a review Feb 2020
Egham, United Kingdom162 contributions88 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here with my wedding party the night before I got married in Henley.
The staff here are lovely and incredibly friendly.
The room was very clean and cosy - not massive but I didn’t need anything bigger. Nice bathroom as well.
Only downside was I couldn’t get the heating to work so was rather cold over night.
The breakfast which is included was lovely and portion sizes are very generous! We waited about an hour from being seated to the point we received our breakfast so I would say allow some extra time in the morning.
The location has good connections to local towns so nice and central to many places.
Any problems were sorted promptly by staff when it come to issues checking in and out - the toll system wanted to charge me for all 3 rooms on our booking so paying separately was a bit difficult.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bridget D wrote a review Jul 2021
Somerset, United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here with a group of friends for a quick 'get away'. The staff were very welcoming and could not do enough for us. There is an outside area which was great for early evening drinks. We also ate there and had delicious food (plenty of dietary options on the menu) both in the evening and at breakfast. The menu was fantastic, so much better than a usual pub meal. The rooms were very clean, spacious and airy and our room had a bathroom set up for anyone needing extra mobility aids too if needed. The rooms were well equipped including a small fridge (so fresh milk), robes, ironing board and wonderful bathroom products.
I would fully recommend The BIrd in Hand for both business and leisure stays. The staff work really hard to make all the special touches for a really enjoyable stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Bird In Hand
Responded 28 Jul 2021
Hi Bridget, thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the in room touches, the clean bedroom and our food offer. We hope to see you again soon! Many thanks, Team Bird in Hand.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TravellerTH wrote a review Feb 2020
Harpenden, United Kingdom141 contributions184 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I stayed for one night last week and overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Bird in Hand. The pub itself is fantastic, an old building which has been sympathetically restored, keeping the original features. The open fire and wooden beams make it a really pleasant place to be. It remains light and airy and has been really well furnished. The toilets were clean, the staff friendly and the bar well stocked (so all the main bases covered). In terms of food, the menu was impressive but the food slightly disappointed on this occasion. That said, we think they had just moved over to a new IT system and a new menu so it might have been teething problems. From my perspective, if I spend over £24 on a steak, I want it with chunky chips and if I order it rare, I don’t expect it to come-well done (as it did). The bedroom room was functional and clean, en-suite and with tea and coffee facilities, though my pet-hate of UHT milk. Not sure why they’d provide filter coffee but not fresh milk. It had everything we needed and we slept well. The breakfast made up for the evening meal, exactly how a full English should come and made from quality ingredients. The service was great and we left happy so all in all pretty good.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
distantecho wrote a review Jun 2022
Indianapolis, Indiana88 contributions49 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Bird In Hand for 3 nights in June as part of a two week visit to the UK involving three hotels.

We had booked and confirmed our room some three months in advance as it was essential that we had a ground floor room with walk in shower as my wife has mobility issues.

Upon arrival (just after the 3pm check in time) we were told that the total cost of our stay would be charged to our card at check in. A little unusual in my experience but not an issue. Having charged my card the lady advised me that our room was on the first floor. I explained that we had booked a ground floor room and it was confirmed by a manager and I showed her the email confirmation. She said she despite that she had no ground floor rooms available.

After a little too and fro she eventually went away and called the manager and a member of staff was removed from a ground floor room and it was cleaned for us.

This was not a good start and was extremely disappointing.

The room was clean but very small. The bed was advertised as “king sized” but was not king sized, at least not by the American definition. The bathroom was very small.

We did not dine in the hotel but had breakfast each morning and that was very good. The manager and most staff members were friendly and courteous.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Bird In Hand
Responded 7 Jul 2022
Thank you for your review. Again we do apologize for the mix up with the bedroom allocation on arrival, this was resolved as you mention and a ground floor room with walk in bathroom facilities quickly organised. As we are a 14th century building bedrooms are slightly different shapes and sizes so some bathrooms maybe smaller than others, unfortunately there is little we can do about this. On all booking confirmations, corresponding email updates and also on the hotel terms and conditions it states very clearly we charge upon check in via your preferred payment card. We are pleased you found the manager and members of the team friendly and hope to see you another time.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gail O wrote a review May 2021
Yateley, United Kingdom4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Couldn’t wait to get out and eat in a restaurant and for my grandsons 3rd birthday we chose the Bird In Hand at Twyford. We were made so welcome and with a 20 month old, 8 year old and the birthday boy 3 years we were shown to a good size table with high chairs. The restaurant was very clean and staff attentive. The adult and children’s menu was very comprehensive and something for all tastes. Children’s meals were quickly bought out, followed by the adults meals. We had a great early evening treat and would definitely go back there and recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Bird In Hand
Responded 28 Jul 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave such kind words for your 5* review! Myself and the team are thrilled to see you had such a pleasurable evening with us and enjoyed your meals and the customer service you received. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again. Graham Deputy Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
angusmack66 wrote a review Aug 2022
Seamill, United Kingdom85 contributions79 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for 2 nights over the weekend and had a great stay. Room was absolutely fine with large fan provided to cool the room due to hot spell of weather. Breakfast had a good choice and we had one evening meal and quality of food was very good. Standard of service was also good with staff professional, helpful and pleasant. Would recommend for a short stay. Only issue we had (not the fault of the hotel but for awareness) was that they kindly booked us a taxi and the driver ripped us off charging £18 for a short trip into Twyford justifying this by saying he had to come from Maidenhead.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Bird In Hand
Responded 13 Sept 2022
Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. And hope to welcome you again soon. Team Bird in Hand
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Heathster1988 wrote a review Nov 2021
Norwich, United Kingdom37 contributions14 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We were a group of 15 staying overnight for a family party nearby, most of us turned up at the same time but the staff at the hotel were unflustered and ready to help - showed us all to our lovely, cosy, stylish rooms.
A Roberts radio playing softly as we arrived in the room 🥰

We had a table for all of us for breakfast and everything was prompt and delicious.
Would definitely stay again .
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Bird In Hand
Responded 18 Nov 2021
Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate the feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our newly refurbished rooms comfortable and welcoming. It is great to know that you found our team to be helpful and that you thoroughly enjoyed your breakfast too! All the best, Graham Valentine - Deputy Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LandC15 wrote a review Aug 2021
London, United Kingdom50 contributions20 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed in a newly refurbished room, very comfortable and the little extras like the prosecco and ale were very much appreciated. The only negative is the soap and conditioner are secured to the wall high up near the shower therefore if you have a bath you would need to stand up to reach them. This can be easily recified by having another set secured lower to the bath.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Bird In Hand
Responded 2 Sept 2021
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you again soon. All the best, Graham Deputy Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AgedMan wrote a review Feb 2023
United Kingdom562 contributions256 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked this reservation in anticipation of meeting an old friend who lived nearby rather than spending silly money to stay in London overnight. Really nice bar area/lounge as you enter and the Dining Area looked nice and well set out too. You can dine in the lounge area if you wish. The bedroom was comfortable, well furnished and more than adequate. I particularly liked the ground coffee and the Cafetiere to make a decent coffee rather than the instant stuff you get in every other place. We ate dinner here and a little pricey but the quality of the food was good I have to say. Breakfast was included also which is unusual nowadays and a welcome change. All the staff were courteous and welcoming. That's the positives, now the negatives. Check in was complicated. I had booked via Booking.com but when we arrived, it took two people to sort things out. I had already Checked In online as offered so why was it not a simple as handing me a room key on arrival ? The door handle to the room entry door was loose. The shower tiles (wall and floor) could have done with a good squirt of Cillit Bang Black Mould Remover. There was some minor paint touch up required to the room. I do not know what it was but it sounded as if a pump was running all night with the noise coming from the ceiling void. A repetitive noise which as I say, sounded like a pump whose bearings had given up.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Bird In Hand
Responded 2 Mar 2023
We are pleased to hear you had a good stay with us. Thank you for the feedback and we shall certainly pass the feedback on to the relevant parties.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CradsonHols wrote a review Aug 2021
Reading61 contributions18 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Short as I can be and to the point: Evening meal with friends.
1. On arrival, ordered Bacardi & Coke served Bacardi & Pepsi Maxx (without being advised that's what we were getting). On returning drink told by snr member of staff no regular coke/Pepsi sold, decision by head office not to stock apparently?
2. Lovely attentive young waitress takes order for food advising us that quite a few items on the menu were unavailable/sold out, so ordered with that in mind, to then be told by another staff member only 2 of 4 starters available. This is 6.30pm
3. Main course arrives, roast chicken for 2 of us, no gravy just a very acidic dressing on plate, request gravy, told no by the snr member of staff, none of our dishes on the menu have gravy so we don't have it but you can have more of that (Acidic) sauce???.. politely ask if she could possibly check with Chef first, made to feel like we were asking for the world! Came back with a 2" gravy pot two thirds full (for two people) stating your in luck chef has a private function on next door so you can have some...... Seriously?
3. There were three tables in the whole restaurant being used out of approx 10 and 2 further customers were seated at the table 2' from us, I have to ask why when we are supposed to be giving each other space in this ongoing pandemic!!!!
4. The toilets: bowls/cubicles were in a filthy (is the best way to describe them) state the wash basins were fine but I don't have to sit on them!
5. £160 bill with a service charge of almost £16 (which we could of had removed but the young ones work for a pittance already) for a pretty lousey meal (and 6 drinks) has left all 4 of us on the not returning register!!

Butcombe Brewery you need to pull your socks up quickly, there are so many other establishments we can choose but sadly yours won't be one of them.

Snr member of staff (you know who you are) your customer service is diabolical you need re-training before you train the young ones and be more positive than negative with your customers, if it's too much trouble you need to get out of the job!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Keep driving....
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Bird In Hand
Responded 13 Aug 2021
Hello, thank you for your review. We apologised for the Pepsi mix up and the drink was removed from the bill entirely and resolved at the time. Regarding the chicken dish, this is one of our best selling dishes and the "acidic sauce" you describe is the green peppercorn sauce that accompanies the dish and is clearly stated as such on our menu. There are no mains on our current menu that are served with gravy so the team member was correct in stating this, at time of ordering this would be something we can add if you had requested this. Note that this is not a roast chicken and gravy dish and is not described as such on the menu in any way at all. We do get busy and as we are currently running the same menu for lunch and dinner there have been occasions where we are running low on certain items for the dinner service, which I do apologise for and you should have been informed of when seated. Regarding cleanliness, the washrooms are checked every 2-3 hours and cleaned twice a day so very surprised to read your comments on this. Similarly we pride ourselves on our hospitable and friendly team so saddened to read your feedback regarding customer service, it is also a shame you won't be returning and hope you will give us another chance in future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Knowl Hill area.
PRICE RANGE
£87 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the bird in hand country hotel reading, reading country inn
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandBerkshireWindsor and MaidenheadMaidenheadKnowl Hill
NUMBER OF ROOMS
21
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BIRD IN HAND - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Bird In Hand
Which popular attractions are close to Bird In Hand?
Nearby attractions include BCA Zoo (2.2 miles), Feathers and Fur Falconry Centre (1.0 miles), and Escape3600 ltd (4.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Bird In Hand?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Bird In Hand?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Bird In Hand?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bird In Hand?
Conveniently located restaurants include Palmieri's, Storia Maidenhead, and Shellfish Cow Restaurant.
Is Bird In Hand located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the centre of Knowl Hill.
Does Bird In Hand offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Bird In Hand?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Bird In Hand?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Lillibrooke Manor & Barns (3.5 miles), Statue in Memory of Charles Frohman (5.0 miles), and Marlow War Memorial (4.9 miles).
Is Bird In Hand accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
RestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire