We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Fosshotel Nupar is at highway 1 about 25 km east of Kirkjubaejarklaustur. The surroundings is known for its spectacular views. The hotel offers friendly, good service and a still atmosphere in a beautiful surroundings of Vatnajökull National Park. All of our rooms have private facilities and a beautiful view. Fosshotel Nupar is open all year.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Wheelchair access
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Breakfast Available
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Accessible rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Mid-range
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
Getting there
Akureyri Airport120 mi
See all nearby hotels
Nearby restaurants
See all nearby restaurants
Nearby attractions
See all nearby attractions
Reviews (851)
Filter reviews
514 results
Traveller rating
121
205
128
44
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
121
205
128
44
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews northern lights shipping containers room facing glacier view room glacier lagoon waffle maker lava fields ring road remote location large windows buffet style arctic char ice cave tour lamb beds were very comfortable bread skaftafell national park
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 514 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago

Before we left for Iceland November 20, 2018 we checked up on Foss Hotel, Nupar. Frankly we felt concerned after reading several online reviews. We checked in on Nov 25th and were pleasantly surprised. Never mind it is in the 'middle of nowhere', the accommodation...More

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank mlchew5354
Response from hannahelgudottir, Front Office Manager at Fosshotel NuparResponded 4 days ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again. Kindest regards, Hanna

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here on our honeymoon around Iceland. Having stayed at the Fosshotel in Myvatn earlier in our holiday we were expecting a similar standard. Unfortunately we were a little disappointed. The hotel was nice enough and staff were in the main friendly & helpful....More

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank walo50
Response from hannahelgudottir, Front Office Manager at Fosshotel NuparResponded 6 days ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you had an overall pleasant stay with us. Thank you for your kind words in regards to our staff, is is something that we work hard on. We hope to welcome you...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for a single night while passing through the area. This hotel seemed to be somewhat new and our room was great with a wonderful view of the lava fields and surrounding mountain/glacial scenery. The rooms were very clean and well-kept, the Wifi...More

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank dr_j_now
Response from hannahelgudottir, Front Office Manager at Fosshotel NuparResponded 6 days ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review. I am so happy to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed the hotel and its surroundings. We hope to welcome you back again. Kindest regards, Hanna

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is not very special or well equipped but if you like hot showers, you’ll know why it gets a 4 star rating. You can also sign up and if there are Aurora sightings, the staff will knock on your door to alert you....More

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank Love2Travel66
Response from hannahelgudottir, Front Office Manager at Fosshotel NuparResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel accommodating for your holiday in Iceland. We hope to welcome you back again. Kindest regards, Hanna

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Pros: good base location to explore the South East island (from Vik to Diamond Beach), excellent breakfast, tasty evening meal at an ok price (for Iceland), comfortable beds, happy hour was reasonable. That’s about it... Cons: the whole grounds and our bathroom smelt of sewage,...More

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank Bethany T
Response from hannahelgudottir, Front Office Manager at Fosshotel NuparResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Bethany, Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you had an overall pleasant stay with us. Please accept my apologies regarding any disappointments regarding the breakfast, we do have certain rules regarding taking food form the breakfast buffet but understand...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
worldtravelers08
1 November 2018|
AnswerShow all 12 answers
Response from hannahelgudottir | Property representative |
Good afternoon, Thank you for your question. If you have booked a superior room it does have a new bathroom. All our superior rooms are new, modern and updated. We look forward to seeing you soon. Kindest regards... More
0
Votes
MichaelD2206
29 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from NANCYD090212 | Reviewed this property |
I don't remember exact time sorry! but I recalled breakfast room opened early. I think if you have to leave early you can arrange with them.They are very nice and accomdationg
0
Votes
TAT613
3 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from 847jessea | Reviewed this property |
I remember it ended at 10am. But we weren't rushed to leave, which was nice.
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Ask for a "non" parking lot view room."
27dianr
10 Nov 2018
Read review
"They are likely all the same -- but I'd asked for quiet, and thus was at the furthest point from..."
Reefwatcher
20 Oct 2018
Read review
"Try and get a room that isn't at the far end of either accomodation wing"
Q2549ASpaulr
17 Oct 2018
Read review
"Rooms at the back face the mountains. The front faces the parking lot."
Hollaleigh
21 Sep 2018
Read review
Show More 
PRICE RANGE
US$117 - US$265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Islandia Hotel Nupar
LOCATION
IcelandSouth RegionKirkjubaejarklaustur
NUMBER OF ROOMS
60
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing