We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Carton House Hotel & Golf Club

2,729 reviews
Save
Traveller (477)
Room & Suite (145)
Dining (23)
Overview
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good23%
  • Average13%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“old house”(209 reviews)
“coach house”(68 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
4.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (2,729)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
2,670 results
Traveller rating
1,425
635
368
159
83
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
1,425
635
368
159
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslinden tree restaurantold housecoach housegolf clubbeautiful hotelkitchen barbeautiful groundsthe main houserelaxing breakspa treatmentstop classleisure centremain restaurantspecial occasionone night stayafternoon teaenjoyable stay
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
811 - 815 of 2,670 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2016

This hotel is every bit as beautiful as it is in the photos. Old world meets modern elegance. Comfort is fantastic inside but staff and food can be very hit and miss. My thoughts on dinner are mixed. Good food, slightly limited menu and prices...More

2  Thank jan00l
Response from Christina S, Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf ClubResponded 12 May 2016

Dear jan00l, Thank you for your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your experience in the Carton Spa. I appreciate your kind comments in relation to the atmosphere and history of Carton House and the estate. However, I do regret that you did not find...More

Reviewed 4 May 2016

We booked a family package - 2nights B&B&1 dinner for 2 adults & 2 kids age 7 and 2. The hotel itself is lovely but is not geared properly to families that have kids of that age - but would be good for those whose...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mimirl
Response from Christina S, Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf ClubResponded 6 May 2016

Dear Mimirl, Thank you for taking the time to review your time at Carton House. I am disappointed to read that we did not meet your expectations and that you were not happy with certain issues, for this we would like to offer our sincere...More

Reviewed 4 May 2016

Overall experience was super, lovely staff, stunning hotel, delicious food. A bit disappointed that we couldnt move our dinner reservation earlier (despite trying for a few weeks) and i twice asked for them to ring me if anything became available before 9.30. Didnt get a...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MartinaSMoran
Response from Christina S, Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf ClubResponded 6 May 2016

Dear MartinaSMoran, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Carton House. It gives me great pleasure to know that despite your disappointment with regards to the time of your dinner reservation; you enjoyed your visit. We hope to have the...More

Reviewed 3 May 2016

nice hotel but staff not friendly at all breakfast all self service no bowls for cerals all used up def not 4star as advertised wont be staying there again overcharged for three nights scandolous they even charged me extra for camp bed for child and...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
7  Thank IrishMick3
Response from Christina S, Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf ClubResponded 12 May 2016

Dear IrishMick3, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your time at Carton House. I am disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations and that you were not happy with certain issues, for this I would like to...More

Reviewed 3 May 2016

Friendly, welcoming staff. Compliments to Karl at reception. I made my booking on booking.com but the hotel did not recieve it. Karl was very helpful and accommodating and did not make us worry. Throughly enjoyed our stay and will hopefully return to see more of...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank G8973LMjoanneb
Response from Christina S, Manager at Carton House Hotel & Golf ClubResponded 6 May 2016

Dear G8973LMjoanneb, Thank you for sharing your feedback on your most recent stay at Carton House. I am delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay with us and you enjoyed every aspect of your visit. Thank you for your kind comments about Karl...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
1161162163164165534
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room Service
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Hotel Amenities
Business Centre with Internet Access
Room Service
Free Parking
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Concierge
Banquet Room
Conference Facilities
Babysitting
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Hot Tub
Golf course
Tennis Court
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Details
Price range
US$171 - US$291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$171 - US$291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (477)
Room & Suite (145)
Dining (23)
Pool & Beach (4)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (7)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
pebbles82500
4 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Siobhan C | Reviewed this property |
Yes they offer however you need to ask for the bathrobe and slippers from the front desk.
0
Votes
Jubileekeepsakes
25 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Shane E | Reviewed this property |
The restaurant menus was very limited,I would be very surprised if they had a gluten free menu.
1
Vote
Smithwicks78
29 March 2017|
Answer
Response from Bernard M | Reviewed this property |
As far as I'm aware / recollect there is no children's playground on site at Carton. The nearest town is Maynooth, @ 6 mins drive by car. There is an extensive playground for younger children adjacent to the train station... More
1
Vote
PreviousNext
123
Room Tips
"Ask for a room in the newer part of the building, the rooms are warmer."
Read review
"Look for a room in the new wing as it is close to the Spa."
Read review
"Take the old section if you wish have something really special"
Read review
"We had a nice view from our room in the old house... can't say what the views are like in the modern part..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing