We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Cliff House Hotel

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cliff House Hotel
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,522 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,484: English reviews
Start your review of Cliff House Hotel
 Click to rate
Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Just back from a 2 night stay at the beautiful Cliff House Hotel. We were lucky enough to have a deluxe room with THE view. Rooms are beautiful & spacious with lovely little touches incl lavender on the pillow. Bathrooms are a real treat too & very clean. The staff were all very friendly and accommodating, no request was too...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ciarajfitzgerald
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ciarajfitzgerald Thank you so much for your lovely review. We hope you can make it back in the summer time when the weather is better and the village is buzzing! It's a totally different experience. Look forward to seeing you then, Kind regards Adriaan Bartels General Manager

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I love the location of the Cliff House Hotel. Reception staff were very friendly. Stopped off here for dinner on a tour of west Waterford. Did the cliff walk first which was muddy and wet in spots after rain so the Hunter wellies were a good choice. Then headed in to the bar for dinner. Starter was disappointing - monkfish...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Patricia O
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Patricia O Thank you for your comments and we appreciate the feedback. Glad to hear that you will be back and hopefully you will enjoy an improvement then, if not please let us know at the time. Many thanks, Kindest regards Adriaan Bartels General Manager

Dublin
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Spent a lovely evening here. Had the bar food. The food was super. The menu is limited and is €45 for three courses. The staff were very welcoming and the atmosphere was perfect. It is fine dining in a relaxed atmosphere. Went to the spa on the Saturday and it was 3 hours of heaven. Lovely lunch after. Overall a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandrashoes
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sandrashoes Thank you so much for visiting and for your kind review. Glad you were well looked after and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time, Kindest regards Adriaan Bartels General Manager

Ratoath, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

A must for your wish list. Room to die for and a balcony to really let you enjoy the magnificent sea views. Bathrooms out of this world. Safe for valuables and fridge for bubbles. What more do you need. Dinner was excellent. We chose to have the wine tasting menu to accompany the food and this was a very god...

Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux
 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulandcarmel2017
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear paulandcarmel2017 Thank you so much for your really kind words. The team will be delighted to read them. We look forward to repeating the exercise on your next visit. Kindest regards Adriaan Bartels General Manager

Dalkey Dublin Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

This second visit to Cliff House was excellent. Breakfast was so relaxing and the food so deliciously tasty. The staff were outstanding. The food,both in the bar and the restaurant was wonderful A visit to Cliff House will not disappoint .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OGRADY22
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear OGRADY22 That's so nice to hear and thank you! We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime, Kindest regards Adriaan Bartels General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago

Second time. Pool was closed the last time so good to experience that. Lovely staff and very relaxing hotel. Ate in the restaurant this time which is very Michelin starry. Shame you can't have the tasting menu by yourself - my husband would have preferred a la carte. Super champagne.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ECFH
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ECFH Thanks for visiting us again and glad that you enjoyed this visit - next time you will have to try the a la carte! Kind regards Adriaan Bartels General Manager

Kilkenny, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent place to stay and relax. We stayed in a standard room with a sea view on two occassions and the room and views were super. The Cliff walk is very good, even in weather. We ate in the Bar the 1st time and the restaurant the 2nd time. We preferred the Bar for the atmosphere and the food was...

Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux
 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulhQ853XS
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear paulhQ853XS Thank you so much for staying with us and for your kind review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you when the weather improves the next time, Kind regards Adriaan Bartels General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived quite early around 1.40pm so we were told by the porter that he’d come find us (check in starts at 3pm) we went to the bar and enjoyed the amazing views, then had a look at the pool and after some time we went back to the bar. 3pm came still no sign of him, 5 minutes later...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aaron F
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Aaron F Thank you for staying with us and for reviewing us. I very much appreciate your comments. It is a pity that you did not make them known to us at the time of your stay as we would have loved to chat to you about them. We will address the issues that you raised as they are...

Dublin
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have stayed here a couple of times before and our opinion is still the same. Always made welcome by the well trained staff throughout the hotel from parking to room cleaning and bar and waiting staff. Comfy bed good shower nice views what else would I need. The food is also of a high standard and dinner in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 500SL
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 500SL That's so nice to hear - thank you for such a great review. Consistency is one of our main goals and we are glad that we achieve it in your case. Look forward to welcoming you back again, Kindest regards Adriaan Bartels General Manager

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went for lunch at the end of September last year. We had a very enjoyable time. Everything about the lunch was fabulous with the most amazing view. I enquired about staying sometime this year and the girl on reception immediately took me to show me one of the bedrooms which was gorgeous. She also told us to go down...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Murphy33
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Murphy33 Thanks for visiting and come and stay for longer soon! Kind regards Adriaan Bartels General Manager

938 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (621)
Viewed
View from Room (67)
Viewed
Room/Suite (96)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (94)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Dining (68)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
1:39
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (244)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (312)
Viewed
Amenities (35)
Viewed
Balcony Suite (51)
Viewed
Deluxe Seaview Room (44)
Viewed
Deluxe Terrace Room (45)
Viewed
Pool (15)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Terrace Suite (50)
Viewed
The Hotel (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardmore
15.1 mi away
Castlemartyr Resort
Castlemartyr Resort
#1 of 2 in Castlemartyr
1,532 reviews
10.8 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
0.6 mi away
Round Tower Hotel
Round Tower Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ardmore
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dunmore House Hotel
Dunmore House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Clonakilty
364 reviews
24.8 mi away
Fota Island Resort
Fota Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fota Island
1,947 reviews
5.5 mi away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#2 of 8 in Youghal
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Cliff House Hotel.A Hotel For Seaside Luxury Regarded as one of the finest small luxury five-star hotels in Ireland, The Cliff House Hotel is a 39-room Irish seaside boutique hotel in the traditional fishing village of Ardmore. Our privately owned hotel also features an intimate Irish destination spa as well as the only Michelin-starred restaurant in Ireland outside Dublin. The building seems to defy gravity, clinging to a cliff on the south side of Ardmore Bay where there has long been a fishing village. From sun-drenched terraces and private balconies it is possible to see Ardmore’s golden sands, lobster pots and dolphins that play out on the water. All our luxury rooms and suites are sea facing while many are interconnected to provide family-friendly configurations. Our intimate destination spa, The Well, is a key attraction. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cliff House Hotel

Address: Middle Road | Ardmore Bay, Ardmore, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Ardmore
Price Range: £172 - £360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cliff House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cliff House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Hotel Ardmore
Cliff House Hotel Ardmore, County Waterford, Ireland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cliff House Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Cliff House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

““No Shops Nearby” “Car Park at the end of the road””
  • View from Veranda Suite
 of 5 bubbles 327aaronf, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Pick the best room you can afford - it's worth it for the extra space”
 of 5 bubbles clontarf, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Request view of Ardmore Bay”
 of 5 bubbles diveshark1, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Worth spending the bit extra for a room with a balcony”
 of 5 bubbles D4456EWemmad, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Book dinner early. The restaurant is always busy”
 of 5 bubbles MartinH325, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5